Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2005 12-Year rum

Foursquare 2005 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.5/10
59 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
7
15
21
13

Rate Foursquare 2005 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

59 Foursquare 2005 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 49 ratings

Foursquare 2005 is a solid rum, which goes without saying. However, it’s plain. Not bad, but it lack identifying characteristics except for oak.

Strong nose, sharply oaky on the palate and a long burn in the finish. Unremarkable to me in the company of it’s kin, but head and shoulders above many syrupy offerings from other brands.

This is an excellent entry for a whiskey drinker as it will surely tick all their boxes with the bonus of the sweet molasses finish.

Hard to find these days but still available if you look.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Most see 2005 > 2004 but not me. They're pretty close but I'd give the 2004 the nod. The 2005 is still better than most rums on the market.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Botella Standard de Foursquare, para tales rones uno desearía una botella mas exclusiva. Lindo color del ron.
En nariz la madera se hace presente, algo de especias, vainilla, coco, piña y claro, etanol.
En boca exactamente lo mismo...increiblemente suave para tal volumen alcohólico. Me gusta mucho aunque su hermano mayor del 2004 es mas rico.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Russ from United States with 98 ratings

This 2005 is very similar to the 2004 that was also aged in bourbon casks and the nose is almost impossible to tell apart since I still have a bottle of the 2004 in my collection. The first sip is a doozy because of being 59% ABV but after the initial shock you are left with a very complex rum with hints of dried fruit and vanilla coming through with the oak but the natural sweetness balances everything out. I think this rum benefits for giving it a few minutes to breathe in the glass if you're not too anxious to sip it. Another solid rum from Foursquare!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumba from United States with 11 ratings

Cask strength rum with peppery oak notes. Dry finish. A strong sipper at 60% abv.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rhombic from Spain with 13 ratings

By now, one must know that Foursquare never disappoints. Still, one can only be enamoured by the beautiful flavour profiles in rums such as the 2005. The sixth one in the Exceptional Cask Selection series, the 2005 is surely imposing at 59%.
It pours a dark golden colour with many thin and long legs, showing its low viscosity (no sugar or glycerol adulterants) and cask strength. Nosing the rum gives the first clear background notes that remain a constant throughout: oak, vanilla and butter biscuits. These show more complexity with the addition of a bit of mineral water - raisins, prunes and cinnamon seem to evolve from the vanilla/biscuit notes. Eventually some pleasant grassy aldehydic notes are also noticeable.
Tasting it at cask strength is not harsh at all. Woody, biscuity flavours with only a slight burn, evolving in mouth. I do find it (even!) more enjoyable with the addition of some mineral water, where the raisins and dried fruits come back into the flavour profile, with some hazelnuts and now almost imperceptible alcoholic notes. This medium-bodied rum has a very long and pleasant finish, in the same line, and the retrohale was sweeter (sugarcane, darker honeys).
At 60€ I can only feel fortunate to have found this rum. Worth every penny. The concept behind the rum is executed to perfection. As usual with Richard Seale, it's furthermore comforting to know that it has no additives, no added sugar, just real rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 91 ratings

...to me the 2004 is a bit better yet the aroma explosion is quite the same and still very tasty.

The nose is a bit alcoholic, but does not reject the craving.

I like the complexity behind those sugarfree rums from the Foursquare Destillery

Solid 9.0

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

I have to disagree and agree with joola69...indeed this rum is a bit whisky like. So whiskylovers wil love it. Nose is great woody. Taste lasts for ages and is a bit dry (Also because of cask strenght). I rate this rum quite high but think it deserves it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

This is my second experience with Foursquare and the first was near perfect with the Zinfandel Cask being one of the best rums I've ever had.
Fresh from the bottle it's very warm on the nose but after sitting for only 5 minutes or so it mellows and soft oak, vanilla and spicy hints start to sneak out.
My first tastes are neat in a snifter. A perception of light sweetness upfront. Warming alcohol and drying oak followed by wisps of vanilla, toffee and is that citrus? or dried fruit? I don't get the chocolate that some seem to sense. It's warm but not too hot and it's smooth for 59%. This tastes like rum. It's oaky character may seem bourbon-like but I think the oak confuses some as most bourbon is very oaky. The molasses hints are down in there.
Added a single ice cube to a full jigger and after a minute or two it really smooths out. Vanilla and orange start to peep out and molasses sweetness shows up upfront. Still drying oak and very smooth long finish. I think the ice and dilution simplifies the complexity of the rum but it does make it a bit smoother to those put off by the high proof.
This is an amazing rum! Probably not a favorite of those who like sweet but they should give it a fair try. It's amazing! As with my rating of the Zinfandel Cask I hesitate to give anything a 10 but this is just about as good as it gets!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 57 ratings

A great tropical oak bomb with notes of chocolate, raisins, dried fruit, caramel, tropical fruits like pineapples, mangoes, papayas, and a nice creaminess.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ambros from Netherlands with 20 ratings

A very good rum... will definately get this one again. High alchohol content but you don't notice it as much. Just add a bit of ice. Lot of flavour in this one and every sip you discover something new. Highly recommended