Posting your rating...
Jamaica Cove Black Pineapple rum

Jamaica Cove Black Pineapple

United Kingdom | Flavored

6.8/10 (8 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
1
1

Rate Jamaica Cove Black Pineapple

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


8 Jamaica Cove Black Pineapple ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 59 ratings

Not a smooth rum. You can taste the pineapple well enough. Not as smooth as Plantation Pineapple. But as it's in a lower price range, it can be forgiven. Alright sipper.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 426 ratings

This has been released this year as a notion to plantation stiggins rum , this however is extremely sweet . I would be very interested in a hydrometer test on it .

It's lovely to drink on the rocks , delicate on the palette at first then bam the sweetened pineapple sugar hits you .. if you drink this on before you try plantation then bang it tastes nice but taste it side by side with plantation it feels fake ..

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Frazwardo from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Sweet and nice with coke or over ice. Nice change from a standard rum

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Love it, up there with Plantation pineapple for me, if you like fruity rum i would recommend this for sure!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rhombic from Spain with 13 ratings

I mistook this in the distance for a sipping rum. Pours golden with a massively pineapple-y aroma. Immediately shows that it's a flavoured rum, sweet and intened for mixing to give a cocktail that tropical vibe. But yes, I guess that when a spirit becomes a mixing liqueur it is equivalent to having a highly alcoholic syrup. I had to mix it as it was not drinkable neat (fair enough), but -and beyond the point I prefer my rum neat- even then it was not that amazing beyond giving the drink a very fruity flavour.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Wasn't expecting much from a pineapple rum but there was a suprising lack of sweetness that actually made this seem more like rum than a liqueur. Still not a true rum but a decent shot.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

To be fair, this is about £7 or £8 a bottle cheaper than Plantation Pineapple Stiggins, which is a more complex, more refined and more subtle rum. I guess that's a combination of the rum base and the process by which the pineapple is added. You get the feeling here that the pineapple is allowed to infuse for longer or that more is added to the mix. The pineapple taste is certainly more to the fore, wheareas in the Stiggins it is in the background. We get to what I'd describe as a semi-pineapple chunks taste here - I mean the sweets not the tinned fruit. But only semi - it is not too sweet. I enjoyed this and I think it would make a good mixer and a really good party drink. I think guests would enjoy it, too - perhaps more than the Stiggins, which has a more powerful rum kick. I'm glad I've got a bottle, but I think I'll drink the Stiggins more over the years.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Tried this sweet pineapple rum at Cardiff Rum Festival liked it so much I purchased a bottle straight away and at £22 it was a steal!

I've had pineapple rum before namely Plantation pineapple and the two expression are just so different the Plantation expression uses pineapple bark and doesn't achieve the sweet flavour produced by Jamaica Cove.

It is a blend of pot and column still rums blended with pineapple. It's very sweet with strong pineapple flavour and a touch of oak all at 40% abv