Posting your rating...
Rum Company of Fiji Ratu 8-Year rum

Rum Company of Fiji Ratu 8-Year

Fiji | Aged

4.9/10 (20 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
2
2
5
4
1

Rate Rum Company of Fiji Ratu 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


20 Rum Company of Fiji Ratu 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

Now, I will try to be as levelheaded as possible about this one, but it will be hard, because this was horrible. I love a Bounty now and then, but a rum that tastes like a liquid Bounty gets a hard pass from me.

Nose: Coconut, chocolate and simple syrup
Taste: Coconut, chocolate, simple syrup, coconut, coconut and sugar
Overall: This is just to sweet. After a sip or two I passed it on to my girlfriend (major sugar junkie), and she was almost unable to finish it, which to me is a indicator of a rum, that have lost it ways and have become more of a syrup, than a liqueur.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 359 ratings

Karamellfarbenes Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase extrem süss nach Kokos, Karamell, Schokolade, Orangen- und Zitronen Schalen. Dahinter kann man noch wage den ursprünglichen Rum erkennen mit Frucht und Holz Düften.
Im Gaumen süss wie Sirup, Kokos, Karamell, Schokolade.... Bounty ! (yes, Rasmus) Aber auch rote Beeren, Zitrusfrüchte, Honig, geschmorte Bananen...….
Im Abgang lang und klebrig süss, Schokolade, Kokos und Karamell klingen lange nach.
Ein sehr süsser Liqueur (Zuckerbombe) der durchaus Spass macht. Als Dessert oder zum Nichtstun, für Liqueur- und Süssrum Liebhaber.

Caramel-coloured mahogany in the glass.
In the nose extremely sweet to coconut, caramel, chocolate, orange and lemon peel. Behind it you can still see the original rum with fruit and wood scents.
In the palate sweet like syrup, coconut, caramel, chocolate.... Bounty ! (yes, Rasmus) But also red berries, citrus fruits, honey, braised bananas.....
In the finish long and sticky sweet, chocolate, coconut and caramel linger for a long time.
A very sweet liqueur (sugar bomb) that is a lot of fun. As dessert or for doing nothing, for liqueur- and sweetrum lovers.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

It can perfume whole room and give it a chocolate smell, however taste is horrendous. It is just oversweetened water but the background taste still gives me shakes when drinking it.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

A Fijian rum that when it got to 8 years old the maker's decided to turn it into a liqueur ??? what the hell for ?? The 5yr old was perfectly acceptable so you would think an 8yr old version would be even tastier..
Obviously not ! The rum has had ingredients added to make it taste like dark chocolate , coffee , coconut and orange zest. It's very sweet but would make a nice after dinner treat , im guessing would be nice over ice cream. Only 35% but still has a bit of a kick..
Made from sugar cane and harvested on Fiji , filtered through coconut shell charcoal then aged in charred oak barrels for 8 years before being adulterated !! Again , why ?

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by lemifr from Canada with 1 rating

De couleur ambré, ce rum aux arômes de chocolat, vanille épicés et surtout orange.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Zane from Norway with 49 ratings

Extremely sweet and caramely. Like honey and caramel, maybe a bit of orange peel there too. And add some vanilla and chocolate. 24 rums collection with S.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 56 ratings

Kraftig duft sprittet smage. Middelmådig rum der ikke gøre meget væsen af sig.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Steve from Australia with 1 rating

Is it really a rum? Offered great aroma but very little else other than intense sweetness. Knocked first one back but suffered thru the second.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Stormbringer from Australia with 2 ratings

This is a nice rum over ice, which is how I drink it. I like most of the Fijian rums and this one too; but it is very sweet and just at the end of the taste palette there a funny chemically taste. As another reviewer says why add flavouring to an 8 year old rum. At $67 AUD its not cheap either. I am unsure whether I will buy this again, its a case of I like it; but then I don't?

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 118 ratings

Yes buy this, tastey. You can really taste the vanilla and flavours of this buy buy buy

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed some Ratu 8y Rum while vacationing in Melbourne. Rather nice bottle and label design. Mahogany color. Coconut and chocolate to the nose and palate. Mild burn at the end being so sweet. Hard to mix this one up and too sweet to be neat sipped.