Posting your rating...
Rum Company of Fiji Ratu 8-Year rum

Rate Rum Company of Fiji Ratu 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


20 Rum Company of Fiji Ratu 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Karamellfarbenes Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase extrem süss nach Kokos, Karamell, Schokolade, Orangen- und Zitronen Schalen. Dahinter kann man noch wage den ursprünglichen Rum erkennen mit Frucht und Holz Düften.
Im Gaumen süss wie Sirup, Kokos, Karamell, Schokolade.... Bounty ! (yes, Rasmus) Aber auch rote Beeren, Zitrusfrüchte, Honig, geschmorte Bananen...….
Im Abgang lang und klebrig süss, Schokolade, Kokos und Karamell klingen lange nach.
Ein sehr süsser Liqueur (Zuckerbombe) der durchaus Spass macht. Als Dessert oder zum Nichtstun, für Liqueur- und Süssrum Liebhaber.

Caramel-coloured mahogany in the glass.
In the nose extremely sweet to coconut, caramel, chocolate, orange and lemon peel. Behind it you can still see the original rum with fruit and wood scents.
In the palate sweet like syrup, coconut, caramel, chocolate.... Bounty ! (yes, Rasmus) But also red berries, citrus fruits, honey, braised bananas.....
In the finish long and sticky sweet, chocolate, coconut and caramel linger for a long time.
A very sweet liqueur (sugar bomb) that is a lot of fun. As dessert or for doing nothing, for liqueur- and sweetrum lovers.

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

It can perfume whole room and give it a chocolate smell, however taste is horrendous. It is just oversweetened water but the background taste still gives me shakes when drinking it.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

A Fijian rum that when it got to 8 years old the maker's decided to turn it into a liqueur ??? what the hell for ?? The 5yr old was perfectly acceptable so you would think an 8yr old version would be even tastier..
Obviously not ! The rum has had ingredients added to make it taste like dark chocolate , coffee , coconut and orange zest. It's very sweet but would make a nice after dinner treat , im guessing would be nice over ice cream. Only 35% but still has a bit of a kick..
Made from sugar cane and harvested on Fiji , filtered through coconut shell charcoal then aged in charred oak barrels for 8 years before being adulterated !! Again , why ?

Posted 3 months ago by lemifr from Canada with 1 rating

De couleur ambré, ce rum aux arômes de chocolat, vanille épicés et surtout orange.

Posted 5 months ago by Zane from Norway with 47 ratings

Extremely sweet and caramely. Like honey and caramel, maybe a bit of orange peel there too. And add some vanilla and chocolate. 24 rums collection with S.

Posted 5 months ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 56 ratings

Kraftig duft sprittet smage. Middelmådig rum der ikke gøre meget væsen af sig.

Posted 9 months ago by Steve from Australia with 1 rating

Is it really a rum? Offered great aroma but very little else other than intense sweetness. Knocked first one back but suffered thru the second.

Posted 9 months ago by Stormbringer from Australia with 2 ratings

This is a nice rum over ice, which is how I drink it. I like most of the Fijian rums and this one too; but it is very sweet and just at the end of the taste palette there a funny chemically taste. As another reviewer says why add flavouring to an 8 year old rum. At $67 AUD its not cheap either. I am unsure whether I will buy this again, its a case of I like it; but then I don't?

Posted 11 months ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

Yes buy this, tastey. You can really taste the vanilla and flavours of this buy buy buy

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed some Ratu 8y Rum while vacationing in Melbourne. Rather nice bottle and label design. Mahogany color. Coconut and chocolate to the nose and palate. Mild burn at the end being so sweet. Hard to mix this one up and too sweet to be neat sipped.

Posted about 1 year ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

In the aroma very strong coconut accent. Maybe is possible to smell sugar. The rum is very liqueur, very sweet. The taste very reminds me one the type of sweet - rum ball (coconut, chocolate, cocoa and rum).

Posted about 1 year ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Like others have said, it is a sweeter rum more like a syrupy liquor. Has the taste of coffee within, like Kahlua, possibly some chocolates notes as well. Not bad neat, but may be good with some mixers as well. It’s easy to drink.

Posted over 1 year ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

This is an incredibly sweet rum liqueur almost Kahlua.
The rum equivalent of a desert wine perhaps.
Not at all harsh, pleasant to sip on ice but has an incredibly overwhelming vanilla and coffee note.
I couldn't imagine drinking more than one or two and even then after a meal.

Its not awful, but it's hard to consider it a rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Now, I will try to be as levelheaded as possible about this one, but it will be hard, because this was horrible. I love a Bounty now and then, but a rum that tastes like a liquid Bounty gets a hard pass from me.

Nose: Coconut, chocolate and simple syrup
Taste: Coconut, chocolate, simple syrup, coconut, coconut and sugar
Overall: This is just to sweet. After a sip or two I passed it on to my girlfriend (major sugar junkie), and she was almost unable to finish it, which to me is a indicator of a rum, that have lost it ways and have become more of a syrup, than a liqueur.

Posted over 1 year ago by bigfatwallet from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Got this in a rum advent calendar and whilst most of them smelt and tasted very similar this was a pleasant change.

Really sweet coconut and chocolate taste/smelling liquer. At 35% vol this could get messy as it's too easy to drink.

Posted over 1 year ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

Very nice liqueur style of rum. If you are looking for a soft, vanilla, cocoa rum, it is a good choice.

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Rom likör från Fiji i 12 luckan. Doftar sött, kokos kola. Otroligt söt smak, skvallrar om otroligt mycket socker, nej denna vaskas.

Posted over 1 year ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Selvom den er med i romkalenderen, så er der ikke meget rom over den. Bliver også lanceret som likør. Kokos i duft med et hint af abrikos. Et strej af chokolade til at starte med og derefter meget smag af appelsin og kokos. Minder om orangechokoladestænger. Meget meget sød, og man har sukkerbelægninger overalt. (12. December 2018)

Posted over 1 year ago by Krobbe13 from Sweden with 87 ratings

Kokos och choklad. Söt och fyllig smak, lite som en pralin.

Posted over 1 year ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Vune neni uplne spatna - kokos, mandle. Rum je ale nesnesitelne sladkej - krmeni pro vcely. To je vse co se da rict o chuti.