Posting your rating...
Malecon 2003 Rare Proof 13-Year rum

Malecon 2003 Rare Proof 13-Year

Panama | Aged

8.1/10
10 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
4

Rate Malecon 2003 Rare Proof 13-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

10 Malecon 2003 Rare Proof 13-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small f94167204d84d557ee11bb52a65ed613

Posted 6 days ago by Vestty from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

Best rum from Panama I've tasted. Love the high proof, gives it nice full flavor and a kick. Also a longer aftertaste. Tastes very fruity and the nose is particularly pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

Strong and smoth - real nice - not complicated but tasty

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

This is AWESOME. Great strong rum but so flavorful and smooth. Take notice all. This is what an overproof should be. Incredible how balanced this is. Great notes of chocolate and citrus. Not overpowered by the strength. All in concert. Beautiful. Finish is short but superb. Great neat or on ice. Really outstanding from an outstanding distillery. Try this!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Martin Eldonson from Sweden with 19 ratings

Luktar ljuvligt fat, jästa äpplen och frukt i smakar med besked honung arrak, trä och romrussin som presenteras med en käftsmäll

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 11 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 216 ratings

It’s the last in the “Rare Proof” series first batch for me to taste.
In nose it’s quite powerful with hints of fruit.
On the palate it’s fruity and orange is clearly recognizable. There is of course also some sweetness which is balanced with the quite high abv of 50,5%.
The final is quite long and I think I can recognize apricot.
As a summary I don’t think it reaches the same level as the 18yo and the 20yo, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad at all. Instead I think it’s another great one from Malecon.
Pictures: My opened bottle & My Malecon Rare Proof display.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Theruminspector from Sweden with 1 rating

Drinkers can expect notes of dark chocolate, toasted coconut, treacle tart, vanilla, tropical fruits, nutmeg, a little leather, dark oak, toasted nuts, mixed spice and banana bread.

The rum is bottled at a cask strength of 50.5% ABV, ensuring full intensity and thick mouthfeel.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Laufke from Sweden with 6 ratings

Strong and colourful with a lot of taste - my kind of Rum!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

I am not sure qhat to make of this one. The atart is a little on the hot side, which it shouldnt be at 100 proof. No burn, but definitely starts off with a head of steam.

Others have mentioned cocoa, i,can see that. Unsweetened that rolls into a nutmeg and cinnamon flavor with a heavy tobbaco finish.

Not an every day pour, but the uniqueness of the profile makea it very interesting,and non typical in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Cocao in your mouth. The 50 % alcohol is perfect in this rum. Just enough sweetness. Liked it alot!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

High proof (50,5% vol), supposedly additive free rum at a very reasonoble price. The nose is teaming with spicy leather, cocoa powder, oak and perhaps a small dose of varnish, plums and cherries as well. On the palate I pick up a slightly surprising sweetness, akin to what you might get from a matured port wine, reminding me of ripe red fruits. The is followed by rounded leather, tobacco and cocoa, fading into a tingling aftertaste of oak, black pepper and nutmeg. The alcohol is well integrated.
I’m slightly suspious towards the sweetness. If no sugar has been added, the maturation might have taken place in “wet” barrels, perhaps previously containing port wine. Under any circumstance, not a bad glass and a good place to start if you feel like trying on higher proof sipping rum.