Posting your rating...
Old Sam Rhum Demerara rum

Old Sam Rhum Demerara

Guyana | Aged

7.3/10 (19 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
4
4
4

Rate Old Sam Rhum Demerara

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


19 Old Sam Rhum Demerara ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by runforrum from Canada with 6 ratings

First sip was not too bad but seemed to get worse with more tasting. Harsh and acidic....and not hidden by mixing with coke. Cant figure why this rum rates an overall 8. Think i will have to try again when i am in a different mood.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Rich Carmel and coffee, toffee tones, it reminded me of a candy your grandparents kept in an metal tin.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rummythegilly from Canada with 5 ratings

A great holiday drink. Frothy when mixed with cola. Strong Molasses. Good burning finish

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Seb from Canada with 38 ratings

Just found it in local liquor store (BC) and love it especially considering the price - $25, and the fact that Eldorado 12 price jumped to $38,
I guess it's not as "refined", though. While most reviews say it's better mixed and/or with ice -I enjoy drinking it neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Richard from Canada with 9 ratings

The best Demerara I've found but sadly not available where I live (Saskatchewan). Any time I travel Young's Old Sam comes back with me. The only Demerara the local government liquor stores stock is Lemon Hart so that's my substitute and the occssional Caribbean.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Loud from Canada with 17 ratings

The label and twist cap make this look ghetto. I was so surprised to taste something this nice.

This is a really sweet rum. It’s like drinking boozy molasses- which sounds delicious to me.

It’s really more like a 7, but I’m giving it a +1 bump for a great price. Here in BC it is about as cheap as they come, but it’s better than many of the more expensive rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Sampled Old Sam Demerara Rhum which I enjoyed in spite of being sweet and so young. Not really a sipping rhum but nevertheless better than many other young rums I have had.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

A good moderate price demerara with a fiery burn afterwards! Nothing complex here, but a deep syrupy molasses flavor! Worth drinking but easy to get sick of quickly. good for making things like rum balls, or cheating on a dark & stormy!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 49 ratings

Deep molasses/caramel, oak! bitter on the finish.

A bit hot and certainly one-dimentional but quite pleasant and fills a niche in cocktails very well.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 59 ratings

Quite nice, a shade below el dorado 12 but far up from the lemon hart 1804!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Dhshc from Denmark with 1 rating

I don't know what the others are saying this is great stuff.