Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Ambar 12 rum

Ron Zacapa Ambar 12

Guatemala | Aged

6.3/10 (26 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
8
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Ambar 12

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Ron Zacapa Ambar 12 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by kudzey from Poland with 7 ratings

Surprisingly light colour, indeed like an amber. Fresh, delicate and pleasant aroma with almost no alcohol feeling. Wooden and dry taste, nicely balanced with dry aftertaste. This one constitutes a benchmark for what a basic rum should be like. It is, however, quite flat and does not offer any extraordinary experience. Defenetely, the taste is too dilluted and watery, it could be richer. I usually drink this one after tasting a new rum for a comparison.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Purchased at a Duty Free shop. I didn't know Zacapa even made this version. Purchased 1 ltr for 33 EU. Is lighter in coplor than the other Zacapas. Slightly stronger aroma. Sligfhtly lioghter on the tongue, and slight burn on finish. Nice, but I probably would not repurchase.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

Unfortunately for this rum, I had the El Dorado 15-yr before having this one. In mouth you can taste the alcohol and the after burn is tough (maybe mixed with something will taste great). In nose the alcohol stood out too. It is a very different rum compared to the other Zacapa rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by cK from Canada with 63 ratings

Found this as a new offering at SFO Duty Free. Versatile - can be used as a top notch mixer or a low-end sipper with more burn than the Zacapa 23. Similar to El Dorado 12 that way. Will have to do the Pepsi Challenge between the two someday...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 40 ratings

So yeah basically zacapa 23 taste with a younger rum burn, dry finish, and a touch of white wine finish (think santa teresa or appleton 12 regarding burn). I only drink rum neat, so I’m sure it would be great for drink mixers, but I personally like the burn rum gives so it merits a high 7 rounded up because there are no half points

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Last drink for tonight while chilling out in Zihuatanejo was a Ron Zacapa Ambar 12y Solera. Pretty nice bottle and label design. Golden color. Surpringly dry rum for a Zacapa. Usually they are laced with added sugar. Its like a mellow dry whiskylike rum. I just wish this would be a proper 12y old rum, and not the Solera method, then it could be so much better.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Michael from United States with 12 ratings

Ron Zacapa Ámbar 12 yr Sistema Solera.

Saw this one hiding in mexico and had to take it home with me.

Quick review:

Light amber almost buttery color.
On the nose- dried fruit, banana and citrus.
First sip- smooth, little to no burn to speak of. The taste is very similar to the nose with the addition of a faint whiskey and wine flavor. The finish is a bit dry with not much kick on the back end and finally oak on the exhale. Solid sipper but I think this would be excellent with a cocktail.
If you find a bottle I recommend giving it a go! You won't be upset!

Na zdrowie! 🥃😁✌

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Surge from Colombia with 18 ratings

It’s perfect for cocktails, and even though not a bad rum at all, I would not recommend it for straight or on the rocks drinking. Zacapa has better bottles for that purpose :)

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Chavelo from Greece with 23 ratings

Not sure why they did this lower quality-priced version. Did not like the juice at all

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

I was expecting more for the price, I was mislead into thinking this one was better than others and it wasn’t. Sorry, not rated as high as others.