Posting your rating...
Porteno 15-Year rum

Porteno 15-Year

Colombia | Aged

5.6/10
9 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
1
1

Rate Porteno 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Porteno 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Dcorn1973 from United States with 8 ratings

I've had a few rums but never really did a taste test or tried various imports. So I'm new to all this. This is my first review. By first smell I get the sweet hint of rum, then the smell of alcohol. When I took a sip I get the same hint of sweet with the straight harsh burn and flavor of alcohol. Maybe once I try it a few more times it will get better but at first taste I think it's a good rum to mix not sip

Small 20201218 210910

Posted at The L Garage over 1 year ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 61 ratings

I was looking for something new to try and saw the series of Porteño Solera rums from Columbia. The price point was good for a 15 year so I bought a bottle.
First nose, it smells much younger than 15 years. A Solera rum doesn't always come across as old, so no strikes there. It's a clean golden color, coats the glass well, with slow thin legs. After sitting a minute or two, the aroma softens. It does not smell sweet.
On the tongue... Soft. Then a little harsh. Sightly spicy, alcohol bite. Tastes of an unsweetened, unflavored (unaltered) rum, which is pleasant. But it also tastes like it was aged in new (previously unused) barrels, it's missing something. I don't have the taste buds to name the flavors. It's not overly complex, taste does not jump out. It's a subtle, soft, slightly biting rum. Pleasant to drink. But tastes more like an 8 year rum than a 15, it's just missing the complexity and expressiveness of an older rum. (Man that sounds pretentious! Lol)
I'm not sure if I love it. I don't dislike it, and I'm pouring another glass as soon as this one is done. I need to get a bottle of the 8 and 21 to compare.

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by Jay from United States with 3 ratings

Not a bad bargain brand for what it costs it has bang for the buck. Not my first choice but it works

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by QueenVictoria from United States with 1 rating

I am quite the novice to evaluating rum: however, I absolutely LOVE RUM! I am positive as I sip different brands I will continue to improve my descriptions.
For this one in particular, I like that I can discern the barrel flavor. When I drink rum, I am not necessarily looking for a sweet taste I want to taste rum. I enjoy a little bite or burn. I will definitely continue to add to my diet coke and get better with my reviews.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Alphamale76 from United States with 14 ratings

I actually really liked this rum, especially since the price was very reasonable. The aroma isn’t great but after an initial harsh taste becomes quite smooth. I will buy this again. Actually quite excellent. Upgraded from an 8 to a 9.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by pawallen from Canada with 9 ratings

One of the worst rums I own, when you drink it straight it’s all burn, it does not taste like a rum

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

I was excited to try this 15 year sole rate. I was expected a much smoother rum but I still enjoyed it. After the first taste you can never go back for another first impression. It interested me enough to try and find the 21 year bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Tried Porteno 15y Solera rum from Colombia since its a new addition to the ABC Liquor selection. At $33 a bottle, it is suspiciously cheap for a 15y Solera rum. Jack Daniels aging has impacted the nose and palate test to be nothing but wood. Some burn at the end being such a dry rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

More than a month ago, I found their 8 Year Solera aged rum and bought it. Today, I found the 8, 15, and 21 year solera aged rums all for sale. Thinking about the overwhelming aroma of Jack Daniels on the 8 year, I was reluctant to buy any. The 21 year was really dark and priced at around $40. Since this 15 year was only $3 more than the 8 year, I gave it a try and bought it. I emphasize Solera Aging, which all bottles specifically state.

Amazingly, there is no aroma of Jack Daniels on this 15 year solera. It is dry and naturally sweet with no added sugar. It is smooth and crisp with no bitterness or burn. The oak flavor from the barrels is kept to a minimum. At only $33 per bottle and now being relatively easy to find, this may wind up being a rum that I could grow to love even more. Fans of rums by R.L. Seale owe it to themselves to give this one a try. Heck, the 21 year solera is also affordable, so go for it.