Posting your rating...
Old Port Deluxe Matured rum

Rate Old Port Deluxe Matured

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 Old Port Deluxe Matured ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Has some pleasant sweetness to go along with some oakiness to reduce the sweetness so it isn't over the top. Baking spices and vanilla are also evident to give this a nice flavor. I have only sipped this rum neat and enjoyed it a lot. Kind of similar to Old Monk XXX.
UNFORTUNATELY, THIS RUM IS NOT EASY TO FIND.

4889e8d235de614abac629e5c707e0e7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

Vanilla touches and smooth after taste makes for an enjoyable sipper and could hold other surprises once I get to know it better.

419ded9e067c99a12168995f74625c7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

Nice, dark amber colour in the glass.

The flavours seem to explode in your mouth and then settle to the back of your mouth.

There is a good lingering aftertaste, however the initial alcohol burn is a bit more than what I prefer.

Mixing with Coke or putting into Hot Chocolate creates a really flavorful, enjoyable drink

97a7947741bd0c4f262d7488da804c43.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

Strong butterscotch notes on the nose. Unusually dry on the tongue and a bit flat

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Tried the Old Port Matured East Indian Rum and initial impressions looked good. Nice looking bottle, fancy little story on the label, dark alluring color, and a very pleasant smell to the nose. Then it's downhill from here. The rum has a damp cellar taste and a rather offputting afterburn plus a strong alcohol kick at the end. So much lost potential with this particular rum.

8db18178b8bb20c5df5fb867c53b882b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Birk S. from Norway with 1 rating

A very enjoyable rum, the Old Port Deluxe Matured is dark, sweet and very atmospheric. It has a lot of character, although I understand some of the below sentiments that the taste can be somewhat artificial in taste, but I think that's mostly due to the lack of proper spark in it. It's a very good sipper, but I would not recommend this to the experienced tongue. I do however love it, I would always have one ready for consumption!

Using coke should be avoided, I find it to make the drink too bland and really steals away the distinct character that this rum has.

B5ec4bf177ec2c3a52766c21c100d47e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Doug witty from Canada with 3 ratings

This rum has a distinct vanilla taste and is very smooth. It think it is a very undervalued rum and should be in everyone's cabinet.

092aa3dae75e2be86c568a826bd446ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kyle Harmeling from United States with 14 ratings

I find myself Liking this one more than I should. its a decent sipper. nose is sweet oak and almost cherry red wine like. tast upfront on the tounge is a little thin but sweet with a peppery cinnamon after a bit. going down it explodes with spice and oak flavore that actualy makes this one worth sipping

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

A little harsh, yet thin? Artificial taste and smell too. An interesting failure. I'm glad I tried it, but I can't imaging purchasing it again.

sugar-0

736590314cfb41ca7ad84b543834a1a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Drinkable with coke, but thats about it.
There are better mixers out there.
Tried one sip neat before I added the coke, but its too harsh for that.
Update: Not taken in to account in my score, but extremely poor screwcap on this bottle.