Posting your rating...

9.0/10 (57 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
11
16
25

Rate Diplomatico 2004

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


57 Diplomatico 2004 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 212 ratings

It's a very well balanced rum, a better Botucal Reserva Exclusiva. Less sweet than RE.
I appreciate the 43%. The profile is still a Diplomatico. I like especially the ripe bananas with caramel, that's the character of Diplomatico for me.
Of course it's very pricy and thats why I would still go for Diplomatico RE.

Smell: caramel, vanilla, some banana, raisins and dried fruit, oak (very balanced)
Taste: caramel, burned sugar, dried fruits, ripe banana, raisins, wood
Finish: spice, not harsh, not too sweet, raisins

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruits: 3.5/5
Mildness: 4/5
Value (89€): 3/5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stuartt Corder from Chile with 6 ratings

Lightly sweet and fairly heavy bodied. Complex on the wood and dark chocolate. I get this for 55000 pesos locally in Chile (80 bucks or so US, not that I could get it in the USA). Amazing and spectacular for the price. I’ve been through three bottles. Considering buying a few upfront because they may run out eventually....

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

It is strong, has heavy body and cognac like taste. Nice sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 67 ratings

Diese Jahrgangsabfüllung toppt alle Diplomaticos einschliesslich des Ambassadors.Der Preis von 80-90 Euro in D für diesen komplexen geschmacklich wunderschönen Rum in einem hochwertigen Glas Decanter mit schöner Umverpackung ist gerdezu geschenkz verglichen mit anderen Herstellern
Der Rum spielt in der Süssrumliga nach meinem Empfinden ganz oben bei Centenario 30 oder Zacapa white und black Label mit.Absolut wunderschöne Aromen,langer Abgang und eine dezente optimale Süsse

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by CYA from Dominican Republic with 1 rating

Excellent in every way, aroma, taste finish. Great pairing for a Cigar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 322 ratings

In direct comparison with Ambassador, you can really feel the difference. Single Vintage 2004 has his own "character" - darker with wood tones, while Ambassador is more balanced "blend" :-) I just hope, I will have chance to direct compare with 2002 (or even with 2001).

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

I have a hard time comparing the Single Vintage 2002 with the new 2004, but perhaps the new one is slightly better, but they are both amazing rums.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 195 ratings

Wow, I’m blown away. Never been a big Diplomatico fan but this is truly an excellent rum. Smooth dark slightly sweet, and wow the lingering flavors really last in a good way. Look forward to trying other single vintages.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by RumyIsland from France with 1 rating

Great Rum, bringing more complexity than the classic Diplomatico. Also you don’t have this mixed feeling when you taste it whereas you’re wondering if it rhum or caramel liquor. Too much alcohol presence while tasting it.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Dries from Belgium with 18 ratings

This rum is top class. Such an excellent combination of aroma and taste, well balanced.
It was just under €100 for me, but it is so worth it! Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 39 ratings

Habe jetzt erst 3 Gläschen aus meiner Flasche getrunken, daher werde Ich später noch einmal mehr schreiben.

Sehr komplexer Rum, der sich entwickelt je länger er im Glas bleibt. Am Anfang noch sehr holzig und in sich geschlossen. Je länger man durchs Glas ist, desto mehr öffnet sich der Rum. Am Ende angenehm süß und fruchtig. Jedoch weiterhin mit einer klaren Holznote im Abgang. Das Sherryfass macht sich also voll bemerkbar.