Posting your rating...
Diplomatico 2004 rum

Rate Diplomatico 2004

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Diplomatico 2004 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Stuartt Corder from Chile with 5 ratings

Lightly sweet and fairly heavy bodied. Complex on the wood and dark chocolate. I get this for 55000 pesos locally in Chile (80 bucks or so US, not that I could get it in the USA). Amazing and spectacular for the price. I’ve been through three bottles. Considering buying a few upfront because they may run out eventually....

Posted 11 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 133 ratings

It is strong, has heavy body and cognac like taste. Nice sipper.

Posted about 1 year ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Diese Jahrgangsabfüllung toppt alle Diplomaticos einschliesslich des Ambassadors.Der Preis von 80-90 Euro in D für diesen komplexen geschmacklich wunderschönen Rum in einem hochwertigen Glas Decanter mit schöner Umverpackung ist gerdezu geschenkz verglichen mit anderen Herstellern
Der Rum spielt in der Süssrumliga nach meinem Empfinden ganz oben bei Centenario 30 oder Zacapa white und black Label mit.Absolut wunderschöne Aromen,langer Abgang und eine dezente optimale Süsse

Posted over 1 year ago by CYA from Dominican Republic with 1 rating

Excellent in every way, aroma, taste finish. Great pairing for a Cigar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 250 ratings

In direct comparison with Ambassador, you can really feel the difference. Single Vintage 2004 has his own "character" - darker with wood tones, while Ambassador is more balanced "blend" :-) I just hope, I will have chance to direct compare with 2002 (or even with 2001).

Posted over 1 year ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

I have a hard time comparing the Single Vintage 2002 with the new 2004, but perhaps the new one is slightly better, but they are both amazing rums.

Posted 18 days ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 37 ratings

Habe jetzt erst 3 Gläschen aus meiner Flasche getrunken, daher werde Ich später noch einmal mehr schreiben.

Sehr komplexer Rum, der sich entwickelt je länger er im Glas bleibt. Am Anfang noch sehr holzig und in sich geschlossen. Je länger man durchs Glas ist, desto mehr öffnet sich der Rum. Am Ende angenehm süß und fruchtig. Jedoch weiterhin mit einer klaren Holznote im Abgang. Das Sherryfass macht sich also voll bemerkbar.

Posted 25 days ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

Mark: 8,3/10. Similar to 2002 version... maybe a touch more alchool-heat aftertaste but I am not sure, they are practically same, either of them needs to stay in cognac glass about 5-10 minutes to get smoother than strong alcohol & all that time you can sniff!! This is bold with deep flavour of mild & balance cherry, red fruits, touch butter & balance long aftertaste of oak-cognac... This is great, one of my favorite!!! Fruity but i would love little more sweetness & black peper maybe as El Dorado 25.

Posted about 2 months ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

Had all the things you wanted from a top class rom.

Posted about 2 months ago by Tuukka.R from Finland with 7 ratings

You can definitely smell the sherry finish on this one. Very smooth, none of the alcohol burn. Truly an awesome rum!

Posted about 2 months ago by WilleZurMacht from Netherlands with 1 rating

Nose: No nose. I'm really hunting for experiences here.
Taste: Sharp and intense on the tongue, which is fine, but it lacks complexity. Sudden arrival of sharp medicinal/ethanol tastes that just evaporates right away. Again I'm hunting here.
Finish: No engaging finish. Slightly woody aftertase with small notes of ginger. The finish is actually the most engaging of this rum.
Maybe it's just not my cup of tea. It doesn't pack enough of a punch for me, too light, not enganging, too bland, and very little complexity.

Posted about 2 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

I bought the last available bottle. Very generous and tasty. A powerful development of their typical rum.

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 219 ratings

ve vůni vanilka a meloun, chuť nasládlá, karamel a sladké ovoce, závěr dlouhý, ovocný

Posted 3 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 28 ratings

This one is the greatest rum I ever tried taste and aroma.

Posted 4 months ago by Chio from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

This is a good rum but I guess each to his/her own. It’s nice but I found the after taste a little harsh with a slightly bitter edge. Not as smooth as others and not much character. 7 for me, no where near a 10.

Posted 4 months ago by Jakotech from Norway with 43 ratings

This is the best rum I've grotten to drink so far. Perfection!

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

It is very well balanced rum, a better Botucal Reserva Exclusiva.
Less sweet hat RE. The bottles are limited to 1500 a year.

Smell: caramel, vanilla, subliminal dried fruit, oak.
Flavor: caramel, burned suggar, dried fruits, oak, pronounced spiciness, not harsh, not too sweet.

Sweetness: 2.5 / 5
Spice: 2.5 / 5
Fruits: 3.5 / 5
Mildness: 3/5

Posted 5 months ago by matbli from Poland with 11 ratings

This one is not a sugar bomb, but still rather a sweet rum. Very woody with notes of sherry, chocolate, dark fruits and spices. Good one.

Posted 5 months ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

What a way to round off Christmas Day, sipping this outstanding, smooth, TASTY, rum.

Posted 6 months ago by DebiQue from Slovakia with 32 ratings

I am a Diplomatico fan, and surely was not disapointed. Great, smooth and little sweet.

Posted 7 months ago by Mikenedham from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Had at rum tasting in barcelona - good sipper, sherry added something different but not raving about this one...

Posted 7 months ago by Labajo2411 from United States with 2 ratings

Had a chance to sample this rum recently and would definitely put it in my top 3. This rum has a lot going for it; super smooth, but not sacrificing in flavor. I got just the right amount of sweetness on the front end with a little bit of spice on the back. Definitely picked up dark chocolate and caramel notes with complimentary flavors from the bourbon oak and sherry barrels (both dry and sweet), and a little bit of spice on the finish.

It’s an oxymoron, but this rum is complex yet incredibly well balanced. There are a lot of flavors jumping out, but they all work together so well. If you’re a hardcore rum drinker and want the sweetness then you’ll get a taste of it, but you’re likely going to pick up a lot more flavor. If you aren’t a rum drinker then this one might change your mind. I could drink this one anytime, anywhere. Excellent rum! If you find a bottle of it, buy it!

Posted 7 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

Yes, this is a good rum with nice flavours and character. Sweet balance, dark chocolate and sherry coming to mind.

Posted 8 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

Another great great rum by Diplomatico! This rum is so good. Can't taste any failure in this one.




#