Posting your rating...
Old New Orleans Cajun Spice rum

Old New Orleans Cajun Spice rum, a spiced version of the same base from their Crystal Rum that’s steeped with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, ginger, vanilla, chicory, and cayenne pepper for four to six weeks before it’s bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

Rate Old New Orleans Cajun Spice

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Old New Orleans Cajun Spice ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This one is going to be tough to describe because I honesty cannot be as specific as I would like. Suffice to say this is one of the best spiced rums I have ever had. Furthermore this is one of those rare spiced rums that makes for a decent drink straight as it would mixed. Smooth. Has cinnamon tones along with a mild amount of nutmeg. A gold color with a wonderful aroma. I cannot adequately describe the aroma other than say it is delightful. Very little burn. Nice warmth instead. This rum is deserving of major worldwide awards. Highly recommended. A very, very special rum.

Posted over 7 years ago by DaveW from United States with 15 ratings

This is in my top 3 of spiced rums. Hard to find as Old New Orleans continues to keep things simple and close to home with distribution. This is another spiced rum with a variety of tastes to it including cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and some cayenne pepper.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

Wanted to like this so much but in the end was very disappointed. It was astringent and the spice flavors just didn't work for me.

Posted about 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

This rum was a pleasant surprise. We took the distillery tour while in New Orleans which was fun. This spicy rum reminded me of the Captains Canon Ball, but way better !

Posted about 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is decent rum, with a lot of added flavor. It's like a cross between a flavored rum and a spiced rum. Smells of nutmeg, butterscotch, cloves, gingerbread, cinnamon, and vanilla. The taste also includes an interesting kick of hot cayenne pepper.

It's a good flavored rum, but it doesn't compare to good aged rums. A very unique rum that's worth a try if you get the chance.

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

This is an evenly spiced mixer that is my favorite of the three entry level Old New Orleans rums. Nothing overpowering like the vanilla is in the amber; a quality mixer!

Posted over 4 years ago by MrTomHexor from United States with 5 ratings

This is a perfect spiced rum. Not really spicy like you would expect with the word Cajun...but instead really smooth. I have been to the distillery...little outside bourbon st area. Worth a visit.....their ginger beer spiked is good too.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

I normally don't enjoy spiced rums, I guess just putting up with them. Even when trying to range out with different brands, they all came up short. Then after a long wait from hearing about it until finally tasting it for the first time, Old New Orleans Cajun Spiced opened my eyes. This is what I've been waiting for.

Posted about 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

Never tasted a rum like this before, and far too complex for my untrained palette for me to describe it, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying and recommending it to anyone looking for something a bit different. I enjoy it on the rocks or with Coke.

Posted about 7 years ago by Robert from United States with 7 ratings

Very soft smooth drink. Flavors of vanilla, caramel, burnt sugar with hints of clove and maybe cinnamon. It'd be a shame to mix something this flavorful.

Posted 4 months ago by Blanex from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Picked this one up when we were on new Orleans and went onto the rum tour in the small factory. Nice aftertaste and it is really spicy. Good combination.

Posted 5 months ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

I had no idea what to expect when I tried this, but I was beyond impressed. Smooth all the way down, great no’s with hints of vanilla and spice, extremely wonderful mixture of different spices. This was wonderful to drink straight but I will be mixing this all holiday season.

Posted about 1 year ago by zinkowska from Canada with 1 rating

We tried this in New Orleans on the recommendation of a security guard at 21st Amendment Bar. This gorgeous Amber rum is smooth on the palate with hints of fresh nutmeg and other intriguing spices. Full bodied. Not too sweet ... just right.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Having grown up in SE Louisiana and having been to the Caribbean many times, I often said that Louisiana needed to start making rum from it's plentiful sugar cane of high quality. When that finally happened many years ago, I thought that the first one was quite awful (and may have been from this company). After that, I turned a blind eye to every new rum from Louisiana and said that it took folks in the Caribbean centuries to perfect their rums. I remember trying one of the Bayou Rums at a football game and was totally grossed out. My blind eye also overlooked the Rougaroux line until a trustworthy friend advised me to try one them. Good idea, but more on that in a later review.

Not being a fan of spiced rums at all, I went searching here and this one was rated rather high for that class. I bought it as a mixer with no further expectations. Mission accomplished! Instead of having to add all of those fancy Caribbean spices to a drink to render it "authentic Caribbean", one can just keep a bottle of this on hand. Drinking it neat is horrible, but ice really brings out the flavors of vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon. I would only use it as a mixer. It has cayenne pepper in it, but I can barely taste it. After all, I have been told that one can boil crawfish in my Bloody Marys.

Now for my gripe on marketing. This is really a Caribbean spiced rum with some cayenne pepper instead of Scotch Bonnet peppers, yet it is labeled as "Cajun Spice". Sorry, but Cajun spices are onion, bell pepper, celery, green onion, garlic, parsley, thyme, bay leaf, salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper. Hey, one out of eleven does not count for calling it Cajun.

Posted about 3 years ago by Charles Gillet from New Zealand with 2 ratings

Cajun spices on the Nose, while a subtle cotton candy/honeycomb sweetness without being too sickly sweet or super viscous. Favourite spiced rum ever!

Posted about 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Not terrible for a spiced, but you can do better. Please see my review on the Crystal for more information.

Posted about 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Rhum smooth et spice en même temps un gout unique

Posted over 4 years ago by MrTomHexor from United States with 4 ratings

This is a perfect spiced rum. Not really spicy like you would expect with the word Cajun...but instead really smooth. I have been to the distillery...little outside bourbon st area. Worth a visit.....their ginger beer spiked is good too.

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This rum is nothing but fantastic and unusual with it´s cayenne flavor. Half of this with half ED15 yo makes for a very nice sipper...

Posted over 6 years ago by elmo0823 from United States with 17 ratings

Good spiced rum

Posted almost 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Had a friend pick up a bottle for me. Makes a great spiced/ hybrid bloody mary. Smooth, clean and fun.

Posted almost 7 years ago by JIsurfer from United States with 17 ratings

I wasn't that impressed by this one. To me, it was like Christmas in a bottle. Too much cinnamon/clove spice for my palate.

Posted over 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

I really like this rum but it hard to put in to words. It has a nice note of cajun spices. And for being spiced it smooth




#