Posting your rating...
Old New Orleans Cajun Spice rum

Old New Orleans Cajun Spice

United States | Spiced

Old New Orleans Cajun Spice rum, a spiced version of the same base from their Crystal Rum that’s steeped with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, ginger, vanilla, chicory, and cayenne pepper for four to six weeks before it’s bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.3/10 (24 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
1
4
9
4
1

Rate Old New Orleans Cajun Spice

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Old New Orleans Cajun Spice ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This one is going to be tough to describe because I honesty cannot be as specific as I would like. Suffice to say this is one of the best spiced rums I have ever had. Furthermore this is one of those rare spiced rums that makes for a decent drink straight as it would mixed. Smooth. Has cinnamon tones along with a mild amount of nutmeg. A gold color with a wonderful aroma. I cannot adequately describe the aroma other than say it is delightful. Very little burn. Nice warmth instead. This rum is deserving of major worldwide awards. Highly recommended. A very, very special rum.

0a066a2e08f74d92cd3eb7e8b5af5fbb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by DaveW from United States with 15 ratings

This is in my top 3 of spiced rums. Hard to find as Old New Orleans continues to keep things simple and close to home with distribution. This is another spiced rum with a variety of tastes to it including cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and some cayenne pepper.

6bdbb0b169d8e2f6f7b5b4173090f83f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

Wanted to like this so much but in the end was very disappointed. It was astringent and the spice flavors just didn't work for me.

B2c6a8a92f3f1571bf0ae2a761fb4b3f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

This rum was a pleasant surprise. We took the distillery tour while in New Orleans which was fun. This spicy rum reminded me of the Captains Canon Ball, but way better !

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

This is decent rum, with a lot of added flavor. It's like a cross between a flavored rum and a spiced rum. Smells of nutmeg, butterscotch, cloves, gingerbread, cinnamon, and vanilla. The taste also includes an interesting kick of hot cayenne pepper.

It's a good flavored rum, but it doesn't compare to good aged rums. A very unique rum that's worth a try if you get the chance.

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

This is an evenly spiced mixer that is my favorite of the three entry level Old New Orleans rums. Nothing overpowering like the vanilla is in the amber; a quality mixer!

Db949e497b562407b8a66be8b60de317.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by MrTomHexor from United States with 5 ratings

This is a perfect spiced rum. Not really spicy like you would expect with the word Cajun...but instead really smooth. I have been to the distillery...little outside bourbon st area. Worth a visit.....their ginger beer spiked is good too.

1e6abc9ad3e24d9451cfc1d1e6b75178.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

I normally don't enjoy spiced rums, I guess just putting up with them. Even when trying to range out with different brands, they all came up short. Then after a long wait from hearing about it until finally tasting it for the first time, Old New Orleans Cajun Spiced opened my eyes. This is what I've been waiting for.

Ee9838836519cd539b0dcbab5771c048.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

Never tasted a rum like this before, and far too complex for my untrained palette for me to describe it, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying and recommending it to anyone looking for something a bit different. I enjoy it on the rocks or with Coke.

9268ebeae6db037b9c1f3657d322b83e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 7 years ago by Robert from United States with 7 ratings

Very soft smooth drink. Flavors of vanilla, caramel, burnt sugar with hints of clove and maybe cinnamon. It'd be a shame to mix something this flavorful.