Posting your rating...
Old New Orleans Amber rum

Old New Orleans Amber

United States | Gold

Old New Orleans Amber rum, an aged version of the same base from their Crystal Rum that spends three to seven years in used bourbon barrels at 140-150 proof. It’s bottled blended at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

5.3/10 (30 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
5
7
6
2
3
1
1

Rate Old New Orleans Amber

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Old New Orleans Amber ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tinyhunter from Switzerland with 26 ratings

The rum is not very complex. Lots of honey flavor and smoke but flat. A rum for in between with dark chocolate.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek from United States with 5 ratings

This comes out of, allegedly, the oldest rum distiller in the United States, ~20 years old, and well I really was not impressed. It lacks complexity and came off really flat to me. Its not terrible, but there are so many better choices.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I associate USA with a lot, really, but making rum is not one of them, so I was excited to try this one, but honestly, if this is the standard, then it is better if they stick to something like bourbon.

Nose: Grapes, grass, sugercane and rubber
Taste: Sugarcane, lychee and grapes with a somewhat good funky aftertaste
Overall: To me this rum was all over the place. It tries too many things and fails at almost all of them. I can see, that I am in the minority here, which is fine, but this is not a rum for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 357 ratings

Mattes Honiggelb im Glas.
In der Nase sehr penetrant nach angebranntem Karamell das mit Löse- und Spülmittel von einem verkohlten Stück Holz gelöst wurde.
Im Gaumen ein wenig besser, verkohltes, bitteres Karamell mit leicht ätzendem synthetischen Unterton. Weisse Früchte und Zuckerrohrsirup sind auch noch dabei.
Im Abgang süss und bitter, so wie ein alter angerosteter Ananas-Dosen Deckel.
Ein sehr spezieller Rum der für mich künstlich und unharmonisch wirkt. Für Wagemutige und Masochisten.

Matt honey yellow in the glass.
In the nose very penetrating, burnt caramel which was dissolved with solvent and detergent from a charred piece of wood.
On the palate a slightly better, charred, bitter caramel with a slightly caustic synthetic undertone. White fruits and sugar cane syrup are also included.
The finish is sweet and bitter, like an old rusty pineapple tin lid.
A very special rum that seems artificial and inharmonic to me. For the daring and masochists.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

But I couldn't. Fruit notes, but a general nasty taste in my mouth that overpowers. Please see my review on the Crystal for more information.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

This was my favourite of all of the rums I sampled at Old New Orleans Distillery. They have another rum they call King Creole which they are a bit more proud of, but to me it has too much Jack Daniels in it from the barreling process. I like the 3 year better because it still taste like rum and retains a bit more of the original molasses flavour which I love. They lost a lot of stock in the aftermath of Katrina but they are snapping back from the tragedy. One of the few American distillers of rum and well worth it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Rick The Rum Runner from United States with 34 ratings

At a recent Rum tasting my Nephew brought this as a gift. It was a hit! Now interested in tasting the whole line.
The aroma is very pleasing. Yes some woody overtones but a wonderful butterscotch touch. Good old brown sugar too.
Taste - Many amber rums reach out and grab you - this is seductive, like a New Orleans woman. Very little tongue bite, smooth in the mouth. It has a sweet/wood flavor and a real smokiness that I like a lot.
This rum is great to experiment with. It will stand up wonderfully with any mix, in a glass with a ice rock or two - even a splash of water. It will be hard to pick one below.
A 9 all day

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Tried it and was not that impressed. Had it on the rocks. Might work as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Little Frank from United States with 6 ratings

Pretty average overall; flavors are either too strong or too light - but they overwhelm each other so it's just hard to savor, and ends up quite bold/harsh to my taste. However, that does give it a reasonable amount of kick in a mixed drink with fruit juices. I would probably drink it straight after finishing a bottle of good stuff :/

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 162 ratings

But not that good also.
In the nose is grass and sugarcane.
In the mouth fisrt sip is has spicy kick. Taste is heavy with caramel, nuts and gras.
Finish is long and sweet, but rum is not overall good balanced.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

Minner lite om Rum, synes ikke dette smakte godt. Trur ikke jeg kommer til å kjøpe Rom fra USA flere ganger.