Posting your rating...
Old New Orleans Amber rum

Old New Orleans Amber rum, an aged version of the same base from their Crystal Rum that spends three to seven years in used bourbon barrels at 140-150 proof. It’s bottled blended at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

Rate Old New Orleans Amber

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


28 Old New Orleans Amber ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I managed to snag three of the four Old New Orleans rums while...yes...in New Orleans. The first one I tried was the spiced rum and it was one of the best spiced rums I have ever sampled. So several days later I finally get around to trying another one...their amber rum. And boy, I was NOT disappointed. I almost gave it a 9 but settled for an 8 albeit in my mind it's like an 8.95....oh, so close.

First off...the obvious...

It's amber.

Duh!

The aroma is simply wonderful. Both in the bottle and in a snifter I get definitive vanilla with very little astringency. This is interesting because according to the label this is a "blend of rums aged UP TO 3 years" (emphasis mine). No mention of what percentages but whatever it may be, this rum is definitely smooth and has a rather pronounced vanilla overtone to it with only a mild oak tone. No real burn but a nice warmth tickling the throat with a distinct vanilla finish. As you can see via others' reviews, the vanilla is not everyone's cup o' tea but I like it. The only reason I didn't give it an outright nine is that my bottle had a slight strange unpleasant bitter flavor I couldn't really identify. It wasn't whatever it was aged in but some little bitterness just on the peripherals. Perhaps something in the oak? Not enough to spoil it for me but just enough to be noticeable and just a tad annoying. Sort of like a small paper cut on your finger that you keep bumping into stuff. I will leave the possibility that this was just a fluke for this particular bottle because when I get the change to go back to NOLA I plan on buying TWO bottles of each of Old New Orleans rums (one for me and one for some friends of mine).

This qualifies as sipping rum in my humble opinion but if strong vanilla flavor turns you off then I suggest you not get this. Otherwise seek out this rum at your earliest opportunity. Awesome stuff! Deserves wider recognition. Highly recommendable as a mixer as well.

B70098729774d995960b063a3f0130c2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek from United States with 5 ratings

This comes out of, allegedly, the oldest rum distiller in the United States, ~20 years old, and well I really was not impressed. It lacks complexity and came off really flat to me. Its not terrible, but there are so many better choices.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I associate USA with a lot, really, but making rum is not one of them, so I was excited to try this one, but honestly, if this is the standard, then it is better if they stick to something like bourbon.

Nose: Grapes, grass, sugercane and rubber
Taste: Sugarcane, lychee and grapes with a somewhat good funky aftertaste
Overall: To me this rum was all over the place. It tries too many things and fails at almost all of them. I can see, that I am in the minority here, which is fine, but this is not a rum for me.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Mattes Honiggelb im Glas.
In der Nase sehr penetrant nach angebranntem Karamell das mit Löse- und Spülmittel von einem verkohlten Stück Holz gelöst wurde.
Im Gaumen ein wenig besser, verkohltes, bitteres Karamell mit leicht ätzendem synthetischen Unterton. Weisse Früchte und Zuckerrohrsirup sind auch noch dabei.
Im Abgang süss und bitter, so wie ein alter angerosteter Ananas-Dosen Deckel.
Ein sehr spezieller Rum der für mich künstlich und unharmonisch wirkt. Für Wagemutige und Masochisten.

Matt honey yellow in the glass.
In the nose very penetrating, burnt caramel which was dissolved with solvent and detergent from a charred piece of wood.
On the palate a slightly better, charred, bitter caramel with a slightly caustic synthetic undertone. White fruits and sugar cane syrup are also included.
The finish is sweet and bitter, like an old rusty pineapple tin lid.
A very special rum that seems artificial and inharmonic to me. For the daring and masochists.

2fd39b0277873d3142c9f9e49e1f4e38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

But I couldn't. Fruit notes, but a general nasty taste in my mouth that overpowers. Please see my review on the Crystal for more information.

B2c6a8a92f3f1571bf0ae2a761fb4b3f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

This was my favourite of all of the rums I sampled at Old New Orleans Distillery. They have another rum they call King Creole which they are a bit more proud of, but to me it has too much Jack Daniels in it from the barreling process. I like the 3 year better because it still taste like rum and retains a bit more of the original molasses flavour which I love. They lost a lot of stock in the aftermath of Katrina but they are snapping back from the tragedy. One of the few American distillers of rum and well worth it.

D4cac9449348915cc248393e00dcf409.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Rick The Rum Runner from United States with 34 ratings

At a recent Rum tasting my Nephew brought this as a gift. It was a hit! Now interested in tasting the whole line.
The aroma is very pleasing. Yes some woody overtones but a wonderful butterscotch touch. Good old brown sugar too.
Taste - Many amber rums reach out and grab you - this is seductive, like a New Orleans woman. Very little tongue bite, smooth in the mouth. It has a sweet/wood flavor and a real smokiness that I like a lot.
This rum is great to experiment with. It will stand up wonderfully with any mix, in a glass with a ice rock or two - even a splash of water. It will be hard to pick one below.
A 9 all day

098c279c7b705115d960480054c7d0a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Tried it and was not that impressed. Had it on the rocks. Might work as a mixer.

94b964e08d67b06d827b5d8dd01fde75.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

Minner lite om Rum, synes ikke dette smakte godt. Trur ikke jeg kommer til å kjøpe Rom fra USA flere ganger.

15c7f4c5caf9da98976ef316da0ae3ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Zane from Norway with 48 ratings

What a surprise! From smelling it to having a second sip it is a whole journey! In love. From butterscotch to rubber to beautiful paradise! So many tastes and so pleasant.

24d591d4b97ebf5ff873c2b2f828c1bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Old New Orleans Amber - price 24$ at distillery - average for 3yrs old