Posting your rating...
Old Monk XXX rum

Rate Old Monk XXX

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


83 Old Monk XXX ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Smell very good.Taste Vanilla flavour. Good for mixed drinks.

Posted over 3 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Smell of typical czech 4 Euro rum leads to taste of typical romanian 6 Euro cognac and finishes with typical russian hangover for free.

Posted about 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

The smell already was weird, a mix of vanilla and citrus
Then the taste, overly sweet, like a Jagermister, will have more vanilla and coffee too.
I would actually not really call this a rum, more a cough sirop.

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

I know this is a bizarre review but I am now on bottle number 3 which have been consumed over the previous 18 months or so. I can't quite work out why I don't hate this rum but then also cannot throw it out of my collection. Sometimes it tastes so strong and the smell knocks my sideways then other times it hurts so good! I'm at war with myself over the Old Monk and love it someday and hate it somedays I guess he will be here to stay so is that a bad thing or a great thing? Sometimes too bitter and lacking sweetness then surprises me with a mouthfuls of mild caramel eschews and treacle with coffee kicks. Not a rum for the fainthearted this is a thinking man's rum, but then I am not a thinking man! Oh dear Old Monk please help?

Posted over 5 years ago by Antti H. from Finland with 2 ratings

I join with other comments. Hard to describe all the spices that rum is included. Worth trying. Me and my friend's favorite beverage !

Posted about 1 month ago by George from Canada with 24 ratings

Compared to some the bigger name rums this does not stand up. Unique to have in your collection but I would not offer it to drink. Taste has a sweet vanilla finish, a smell that is hard to pin point and almost artificial. It was ok as a mixer but not straight

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Old Monk XXX on a very rainy Sunday and what a disappointment it was. Old Monk rums are very hard bottles to find here in the US. Smell is very offputting, similar to the Jamaican rums which mostly have that weird glue smell and taste to it. Color is nice dark but hardly any legs so indication that very little sugar in it, but the taste test was a shocker. Old Monk XXX is the Indian glue factory made rum, stay away from it.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

When you think of rum, you probably don't associate it with India. However, India is the number one producer of sugarcane followed by Brazil. Old Monk is a fine example of rum hailing from India. Can be enjoyed neat or mixed. If you can find Old Monk XXX, I would strongly suggest trying it!

Posted about 4 years ago by SureThing II from Slovakia with 29 ratings

As an IT professional I might have some prejudices. It's not a bad rum, but on the other hand it has nothing to offer. It's just like calling from UK to British telecom helpdesk and ending up in Bangalore. It does the job but that's it. Let me try another sip...

Posted almost 6 years ago by Eric Montgomery from United States with 23 ratings

Was really looking forward to this one, but was let down pretty quickly. First impression on the nose right away was strong vanilla and melted plastic. The first tastes (straight up) reinforce the nose. I had to do a double take and make sure I wasn't just drinking vanilla extract. They seem pretty close. I'm going to have to go fairly low on my impression of this right now, but I've got plenty of time to reevaluate as I've got a whole bottle. It may be something that needs to be acquired over time.

Posted 5 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 22 ratings

Аромат приятный, доминируют кофе, фрукты и что-то цветочное. Пьётся легко, хотя и крепость 42-43. А вот вкуса почти нет, какие-то слабые нотки чего-то непонятного, как будто сладкое дерево и ваниль, но выражено неявно, в послевкусии.

Nice aroma with coffee, fruits and smth flowerish in it. A smooth sipper despite its 42-43%. The taste is a bit weak, hard to describe, tastes like sweet wood and vanilla, but not rich, only as aftertaste.

Posted 6 months ago by Aiden from United States with 10 ratings

Very strong smell of vanilla and alcohol, and taste includes vanilla, caramel, spices and lots of sugar. Tastes more like spiced rum than any other type. However, it is still drinkable. Not one of my favorites but certainly worth a try if you like sweet and spicy rums. The value isn't that great, however.

Posted 9 months ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Friend of mine bring me one from India as souvenier. I can't told him straight, how bad this rum is, but to be honest It's evil experience. It smells and tastes very cheap and ends with strange aftertaste. It's a pitty to throw him to bin, si maybe lot of coke will improve it. But still it's choice only for masochists.

Posted 10 months ago by Tsang100 from India with 1 rating

Nothing to beat old monk. It aroma is fablous and taste exquisite

Posted about 1 year ago by Rlcm4 from Barbados with 5 ratings

Old Monk, very interesting aroma it is a very unsophisticated rum a bit too strong on the vanilla flavor, a rum should have a hint of flavor so that it evaporates on the tongue and subtly engages the palate, the flavors are very strong and tend not to create a balance but more to overpower.

Posted about 1 year ago by Szczupak from Poland with 17 ratings

Kolor - bardzo ciemny , wręcz czarny, wpadający w smołę
Nos - Bardzo aromatyczny, wyczuwalna wanilia, ciemne owoce, brązowy cukier
Smak - na początku słodycz, palony cukier, wyczuwalna mocno ciemna czekolada, ciężkie owoce, tytoń, dąb.

Zdecydowanie ciężki rum, czuć że leżakowany, ciemny, mocno wyczuwalne aromaty. Nie polubią go Ci co wolą lekkie, delikatne trunki. Kac po wypiciu kilku głębszych gwarantowany.

Moc 42,8 % - co ciekawe dobrze ukryta. Niestandardowe otwarcie, wysuwany korek z dozownikiem, nawet ładna butelka. Kupiony w polsce za 100PLN/1litr i tu uważam że jest to zbyt wysoka cena w stosunku do oferowanego trunku za co odejmuję 1 punkt.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Tastes like raisins. Don’t understand the appeal. Sweet, prune, rasin flavor.

Posted about 1 year ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I really like the taste of this rum. Smells and tastes of sugar, cinnamon, cloves, and vanilla. A great taste, though it is slightly harsh.

Taste is more important to me than smoothness, so I give this a high 7.

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

Preaching the Word of the Lord India... they should work more on this rum, because it's got nice flavors but goes nowhere fast. Harsh alcohol burn without any finesse, but those caramel and cinnamon notes typically expressed by aged rum are present, if not, maybe, if I'm not mistaken, fabricated and added to it. Which bothers me. But, I'll turn a blind eye and hope I don't go blind in the process!

Posted over 1 year ago by mmorgan103 from United States with 6 ratings

Just something you want sip when you want to taste RUM. I like it. Problem is they have shut the distillery down. No more Old Monk.

Posted over 1 year ago by jlowndes from United States with 15 ratings

Ok, so the aged version is obviously better. And I can see why many would rate this lower than they should. The complexity and flavors in this rum are great. And kind of what you would expect coming from India. You have scents of vanilla and all spice and cinnamon and more. And the flavors come through strong in the taste. I love it with coke.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Sweet nose. It’s fine. Came off as dessert rum but you definitely get rum

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Again the usual snobbery on here and raters forgetting what it costs. You can get it locally for £4. It's more than drinkable with coke or ginger. Perhaps a little sweet but I've had worse. Again, £4. 10 bottles of this or one bottle of aged stuff from the Caribbean.

Posted about 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

It's not bad, it's different compare to caribbean rums, but also very vague and unbalanced.

Posted over 2 years ago by Leonhard from Germany with 22 ratings

This rum was served to me in an indian restaurant. Has a heavy body with choclate flavour, easy sippable.