Posting your rating...
Old Monk XXX rum

Old Monk XXX

India | Gold

5.3/10 (86 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
7
15
16
15
14
10
2
2

Rate Old Monk XXX

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

86 Old Monk XXX ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Although it has an interesting smell. The taste leaves you wanting something more. I will never buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Found a bottle in the office that had been there for a few years, someone had brought back from india.

No one would drink it. I can't blame them. It wasn't as bad as I imagined it would be, given what I'd heard about old monk, it was sweet enough but still had the "alcohol" burn. The sweetness wasn't complex, a little brown sugar but nothing phenomenal.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Preben from Denmark with 15 ratings

This one do not fit in my collection. It will just use for rum&coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gerry from Netherlands with 2 ratings

At a stopover in Delhi tried this rum. Do agree with the other reviews that it is a different taste. But hey, this is also far from the Caribbean, right.
Not easy to buy, but will always be looking for it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar estimated at 10 GPL.
Definitely a rum for mixing. I found the major tastes and smells to be vanilla, raisins, spices, and something burned....could be the oak it was aged in but it smelled more like cedar to me. The vanilla and strong raisin smells leads me to think of rum and raisin ice cream which is a favourite of mine, however this rum is not. You can sip it, but only if there is no alternative. Nothing special here, but it's okay for mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

That's India rum but I've tried it in Nepal. That's really good rum! Maybe you can think that in this part of the world they can't make great rum...but that is really worth to try! But one thing! That what you can but in Europe is not same like India and Nepal!!! That from Asia is better!

Small 20201218 210910

Posted over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 59 ratings

A standard for dark rums, and a favorite in India. It has a very strong taste, drinkable neat (though I find it better with a few cubes of ice), or in a cocktail. Strong enough that the taste is not lost in a rum & Coke.
After a few drinks it tends to sit on the shelf now though, along with the Kraken and Captain Black. Tasty, but rarely a 'go-to'.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rahul Prakash from India with 2 ratings

This is the most popular rum in India and also the first choice for all the budget conscious buyers. However, this is only good with coke. Try sipping it and it tastes like sweet syrup mixed with alcohol.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Zilch from Singapore with 7 ratings

Has quite a burn down the pipe. Reeks of alcohol on the nose with hint of sweet dates.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nilesh from United States with 3 ratings

This taste like vancomycin & should offer sure-fire remedy for Delhi-belly, Malaria, Dengue & the rest. Without coke/pepsi whatever this is a hard sell.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Krishna from Kenya with 1 rating

No doubt why it is extremely appreciated rum in India.
Oldmonk is available in kenya, cameroon , zimbabwe , zambia, tanzania and many other countries in Africa Now.
You can find details at oldmonk.com or at facebook.com/oldmonkafrica