Posting your rating...
Old Monk XXX rum

Old Monk XXX

India | Gold

5.3/10 (86 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
7
15
16
15
14
10
2
2

Rate Old Monk XXX

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

86 Old Monk XXX ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Although it has an interesting smell. The taste leaves you wanting something more. I will never buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

Preaching the Word of the Lord India... they should work more on this rum, because it's got nice flavors but goes nowhere fast. Harsh alcohol burn without any finesse, but those caramel and cinnamon notes typically expressed by aged rum are present, if not, maybe, if I'm not mistaken, fabricated and added to it. Which bothers me. But, I'll turn a blind eye and hope I don't go blind in the process!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by mmorgan103 from United States with 6 ratings

Just something you want sip when you want to taste RUM. I like it. Problem is they have shut the distillery down. No more Old Monk.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by jlowndes from United States with 15 ratings

Ok, so the aged version is obviously better. And I can see why many would rate this lower than they should. The complexity and flavors in this rum are great. And kind of what you would expect coming from India. You have scents of vanilla and all spice and cinnamon and more. And the flavors come through strong in the taste. I love it with coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Sweet nose. It’s fine. Came off as dessert rum but you definitely get rum

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Again the usual snobbery on here and raters forgetting what it costs. You can get it locally for £4. It's more than drinkable with coke or ginger. Perhaps a little sweet but I've had worse. Again, £4. 10 bottles of this or one bottle of aged stuff from the Caribbean.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

It's not bad, it's different compare to caribbean rums, but also very vague and unbalanced.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Leonhard from Germany with 22 ratings

This rum was served to me in an indian restaurant. Has a heavy body with choclate flavour, easy sippable.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Typical mix of sugar and cheap caramel. Must be used once in life, and only with cola: 2:1. No, better 3:1...

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Alexey from United States with 25 ratings

for this price is quite good, of course it is not aged rum, it is fair dry spiced rum, will be nice for neat and mixing

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Epos from Germany with 11 ratings

Also in Indien soll er ja einer der meist verkauften Rums sein... ok... ich finde ihn schlecht! Habe keine speziellen Aromen schmecken können... war sehr sprittig und scharf! Habe ihn dann mit Cola gemischt, damit ich die 23€ nicht wegkippen musste... war halbwegs trinkbar, aber nicht gut! Würde ihn nicht mehr kaufen! Für den selben Preis bekommt man den Kraken, und der ist echt lecker!