Posting your rating...
Old Monk Gold Reserve rum

Rate Old Monk Gold Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 Old Monk Gold Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

I just remember tasting this delicious rum in a very quick tasting at a liquor store. Not quite the environment to really give it a full rating but it gets an 8 based on my rushed try.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

You'll love the Gold reserve - it's got the same unusual flavor profile, with a very rich molasses and caramelly flavor but even more intense and woody. Though there is no age statement on the bottle, the retailer I bought it from has it listed as 12 yrs old. At only $18 - $2 more than the Old Monk XXX - it is an amazing bargain.

Posted 2 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

I don't like Old Monk 7 year. It has strange rubber like smell.
However, this one has normal caramel and banana flavor.

Posted 3 months ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 19 ratings

I was amazed to see Old Monk in a local liquor store so I had to buy it to try it. In India I had found Old Monk the Legend to be the standard available as there seemed to be few others. At the airport leaving India only The Legend was available so it came home with me. The Gold Reserve is a step above The Legend, better nose (molasses) and quite a bit smoother in the mouth with an aftertaste of cloves(?). An interesting diversion and a unique change.

Posted 4 months ago by frozen from Canada with 10 ratings

Wow. Love this rum. No added sugar. Overloaded with caramel and vanilla flavours. I have tried so many rums and it amazes me that a rum out of India is my favorite.

Posted 7 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Very nice aroma with banana and tropical fruit tones. Taste is not so good, weak body with sugar and molasse tones. Aftertaste is very short and bitter.
Much better than Old Monk 7y or XXX bit nothing special.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bartosz112233 from Poland with 15 ratings

Sharp, lack of some more sophisticated flavours. It's not bad but I would expect more from 12 year old rum...

Posted about 3 years ago by TIE-BONE from Germany with 33 ratings

A very promising nose, and a good first taste. Unfortunately it transfers then in a sharp and bitter taste. In the end a slight sweet caramel and chocolate finish. Sums up to a bit of a disappointment.

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

.....leads to a slightly disappointing rum. Working in the booze trade, I have strong views on presentation. This presentation and labels are scruffy which then leads me to think, if they can't be bothered to care for the presentation, what hope is there in the care and attention that they have lavished on the rum. Sure, it is not the most expensive rum in the world, but that is no excuse. My Gold Reserve bottle is in the dumpy square bottle.

Over bearing flavours of caramel which suggest that there has been the addition of sugar. Smooth enough but lacks any flavours other than caramel, and lacks sophistication.

Drinkable in a bind, but there are so many other rums out there that are more rewarding. It will be useful though, as it will make me more appreciative of the other rums in the cupboard.

Posted over 3 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Very exotic rum from India. Not great but not so bad on the other hand. Bit stronger but also quite smooth with lots of cocoa and chocolate fragments in the taste. Worth trying.

Posted over 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Average score, definitelly cannot compete with carribean rums, but considering origin of this one I cannot complain.

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

Pretty good rum for under $20. I would take it any day over captain Morgans. Love to just smell this forever before drinking it.

Posted about 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

one of the worst rums i have had