Posting your rating...
Old Brigand Black Label rum

Old Brigand Black Label

Barbados | Aged

7.2/10 (24 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
11
5
1
1

Rate Old Brigand Black Label

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Old Brigand Black Label ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Efd61283fde0b56050a56878abaeb417.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by i3moore from United States with 4 ratings

Just not a style I think I like. Harsh burn for me, lots of spice when I sipped with a bit of ice. Better with coke but kept striking me as a whiskey more than a rum.

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I love the R.L Seale line of rums, and Old Brigand is no exception. Yes it is an inexpensive rum, affording you to unfairly insinuate that this has to taste like paint thinner or should be used to remove nail polish. Neither is further from the truth as Seale, I don’t think, would do this to Rum clientele.
The smell is dominated by orange and cinnamon candies which albeit, has a pleasing smell. In the glass you get sweetness from the cinnamon and orange but also the heat provided by the said cinnamon, pepper and other warm spices, oak as well as the proverbial alcohol heat/ astringent at the back end This is in a good way however, as I don’t want you to feel like you are sucking on a Carolina Ghost pepper kind of extreme heat. It counterbalances the sweet and heat rather nicely.
This rum is the most popular rum in Barbados, not because of complexity or age statement but because it is only $15-$20 a bottle. Don’t let the small price tag fool you, this is an enjoyable rum to mix or even to enjoy neat.
Nothing fancy regarding the bottle design or label housing the dark amber rum inside however, sometimes you get lucky and find a genie in the bottle! This is one of those times, for me atleast...let’s Parlay...

0a50b018ea0283b3fb10f441d0855d5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Black James from United States with 2 ratings

Great spice rum for mixing or sipping. This is a blend of 10YO rums that runs dark and should replace kraken black anywhere it is found. Superb rum, especially for a blend - even more so considering price point.

71c0aa27d65afd8fe024c88988f6d012.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

Another excellent product from Seale and Foursquare. Hard to beat the $15 price tag. It's easy to find a good rum at 3-4 times that price, but it's a thrill to know one of my favorites is also so affordable.Thanks Total Wine and More . . .

5c51c5e46b4d5aba7f77e75724db6ebf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Jay Crandall from United States with 12 ratings

This is a required in the cabinet rum, as it can be drank on ice, or in mixed drinks, as necessary. The taste is pretty mellow, not harsh, and mixed well . The color (Which can be faked) is a very nice dark brown, and is visually appealing- this can be important in a clear drink, or on the rocks. Hey, presentation is 50% of a sell.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

This is a budget rum for only $17 US, but if someone gave you a sample to try without telling you what it was, you would probably guess that it would cost above $30 US. It can almost compete with the "big boy" sippers, but not quite. As the back label describes this rum, it is "masculine yet smooth". That really sums it up. Nothing offensive and it can serve as an entry level sipper or in a variety of mixed drinks.

I have also heard that this one is what R.L. Seale 10 Year starts out with, but I don't see that connection at all here. There is no bourbon taste to this one, just strictly pure rum with no additives.

Ae553182c1c1448bb3947510bf93e930.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Underdog from United States with 18 ratings

Sweet molasses with a bite on the backend. Very drinkable.

Ecc89192c337c88fde12d50b6d185f5c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by LordImmaFord from United States with 13 ratings

My first Barbados Rum. Very smooth and flavorful but the aroma isn’t overpowering.

5e9ab08b33a624cb31f8e2648a74a28e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Same rating for me as some of the Doorly's but they all have same general profile for me.

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Not too expensive, but you wouldn't know it by the taste. Sweet n numbing like Kava.

0f9a5f0fe93b971e2b1ae2b4ed6f8592.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

This inoffensive blend from Barbados is worth the money. I used it for the base of a blend of different rums to be consumed at home in my daily rum rations. No complaints, with a bit of Black Strap and Demerara mixed in my swizzles were more than adequate.