Posting your rating...
Turquoise Bay Amber rum

Turquoise Bay Amber

Mauritius | Dark

7.0/10 (24 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
9
9

Rate Turquoise Bay Amber

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Turquoise Bay Amber ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Ide o chutny rum s ovocnymi tonami. Flaska je velmi pekna, moderna, extravagantna.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 198 ratings

Sugar: estimated at 10 GPL. This rum just appeared in the government liquor stores here in Ontario. I sampled 2 other rums from Mauritius last evening with 2 more to try later this week, so I couldn't resist picking up a bottle of this rum from the LCBO. I did some research into this one as it had an interesting taste. I was expecting an Agricole rum as that's the only type that Mauritius produces (so I am told). This rum is actually casked and blended in France. The casks used are Cognac casks and because of that I compared this rum to my favourite rum of this type (Plantation XO 20th). I found this rum to be a bit sweeter than expected. It has Agricole rum and Molasses based rums in the blend. There is a trait of the Agricole taste profile in the background. I describe it as a funky vegetal swamp water, which explains the rating of 6. To me it tastes more like a Spiced rum. There is a lot of oak and spice in the taste and in the background and some fruit, perhaps coconut or pineapple. Sweet on the entry and then it finishes with a bite of harshness and then it fades to a nice warm glow. I will keep it for those that can't decide between a spiced rum or an amber rum for mixing. No need for a second bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 145 ratings

Nice shaped dark bottle. Light on the nose and then a lot of alcohol when resting in the glass. Initial taste was a bit strong of spice and alcohol but was not hard to sip after. Average cask flavour, not sweet or funky, just a nice average rum flavour. This bottle is $52 in Ontario and my first Mauritius rum, looking forward to try more.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Aldoholic666 from Belgium with 26 ratings

Smooth entry, not too hard on the alcohol. Fruity first tastes but the go as fast as they came.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 89 ratings

Aroma and taste of sugar cane, honey, spicy, wood and smoke.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by GH (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

Nice nose, slight alcohol notes with light spice. Smooth, but just too sweet. Light vanilla & honey notes...just can’t get past the sugar.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 299 ratings

Takový tuctový, neurazí, ale ani nenadchne, neoslovil

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Yan from France with 2 ratings

Petitvrhum sympa fruité au nez et légèrement vanillé au gout.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

An easy rum, not very deep ... Gentle nose, light taste. In between Spanish and Jamaican. An all-rounder that you can have in an informal party but not with connoisseurs. Worth a try.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Little more sweet taste. It's sister yellow snake could be sweet more. But this one can be good for ladies.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Nice colour as Amber is.
Nose is quite strong and harshe but taste is phenomenal. Bit like dictador. Karamel, buttery, oaky, not to sweet. Lasts long time.