Posting your rating...
Turquoise Bay Amber rum

Rate Turquoise Bay Amber

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


19 Turquoise Bay Amber ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: estimated at 10 GPL. This rum just appeared in the government liquor stores here in Ontario. I sampled 2 other rums from Mauritius last evening with 2 more to try later this week, so I couldn't resist picking up a bottle of this rum from the LCBO. I did some research into this one as it had an interesting taste. I was expecting an Agricole rum as that's the only type that Mauritius produces (so I am told). This rum is actually casked and blended in France. The casks used are Cognac casks and because of that I compared this rum to my favourite rum of this type (Plantation XO 20th). I found this rum to be a bit sweeter than expected. It has Agricole rum and Molasses based rums in the blend. There is a trait of the Agricole taste profile in the background. I describe it as a funky vegetal swamp water, which explains the rating of 6. To me it tastes more like a Spiced rum. There is a lot of oak and spice in the taste and in the background and some fruit, perhaps coconut or pineapple. Sweet on the entry and then it finishes with a bite of harshness and then it fades to a nice warm glow. I will keep it for those that can't decide between a spiced rum or an amber rum for mixing. No need for a second bottle.

Posted about 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Nice shaped dark bottle. Light on the nose and then a lot of alcohol when resting in the glass. Initial taste was a bit strong of spice and alcohol but was not hard to sip after. Average cask flavour, not sweet or funky, just a nice average rum flavour. This bottle is $52 in Ontario and my first Mauritius rum, looking forward to try more.

Posted 3 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

An easy rum, not very deep ... Gentle nose, light taste. In between Spanish and Jamaican. An all-rounder that you can have in an informal party but not with connoisseurs. Worth a try.

Posted 8 months ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

Little more sweet taste. It's sister yellow snake could be sweet more. But this one can be good for ladies.

Posted 8 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Nice colour as Amber is.
Nose is quite strong and harshe but taste is phenomenal. Bit like dictador. Karamel, buttery, oaky, not to sweet. Lasts long time.

Posted 8 months ago by Jay24 from Belgium with 13 ratings

Il rappelle le Diplomatico. Rond et doux en bouche.

Posted 8 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 51 ratings

I generally prefer Cuban and Dominican Rums(CDR) which I would describe as oaky, with subtle differences that make up the "final taste". They are never overly sweet and are thin in the palette. It's the mix of subtle flavors that determine whether or not you like a particular CDR offering.

This rum is much darker, with a stronger spicy taste, but not as strong as a "spiced rum"....its not thin, but not syrup.

Its very unusual, not like a Cuban, Jamaican, etc. but its very nice.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Turquoise Bay while in St Louis. Unique bottle and label design. Golden amber color. Plenty of oak, some grass and floral notes mixed in with spice mixture to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Surprisingly sweet ending. Not really a true Agricole, but not bad either. Deserves a score of 5.

Posted about 1 year ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Ide o chutny rum s ovocnymi tonami. Flaska je velmi pekna, moderna, extravagantna.

Posted over 1 year ago by Fmahy from Belgium with 22 ratings

Turquoise Bay Ambe Rum 40% est un rhum fruité et délicat avec des notes épicées. C’est à l’Ile Maurice, dans l’Océan Indien qu’il a vieilli en fut de chêne pour lui procurer des arômes puissants. L'Ile Maurice offre des conditions idéales pour l'élaboration de rhums de grande qualité. Turquoise Bay est né de la douceur mauricienne, aux alizée réguliers et à la terre généreuse. C'est un rhum vieilli, d'une grande douceur, réhaussée par de délivates notes fruitées et épicées

Posted over 1 year ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

dalsi z klasickych rumu nic specialniho, ale za 900 znam lepsi

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

I couldn't resist picking up a bottle of this mauritius island rum but I did some research into this one as it had an interesting taste. I was expecting an Agricole rum as that's the only type that Mauritius produces. Sweet with hints of spices/citruses, golden-amber color, quite pleasant for sipping

Posted over 1 year ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

O surpriză interesantă, nu auzisem de el până azi. Un rom bun, ușor spirtos la început dar cu gheață aromele se desprind bine și echilibrat pe final..

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ovidiu from Romania with 1 rating

Decent, average, dark spicy rum. Didn t drink others now to compare, but would drink it again.

Posted almost 2 years ago by fens from Belgium with 10 ratings

très agréable en bouche
rond plein de caractère... 😁

Posted about 2 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

Nothing really special about this rum it's not to sweet , it's to harsh , it just taste like a good normal rum and for a decent price to. 50$ where i come live.

Posted about 2 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 69 ratings

Solid sipper, one of the rare agricole I like. Would recommend.

Posted about 2 years ago by Malei from France with 70 ratings

Une nez et une attaque très caramel, très rond été très sucré.

Posted about 2 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Nice nosing... semi-sweet with hints of spices/citruses, golden-amber color, quite pleasant for sipping.




#