Posting your rating...
Newfoundland Screech rum

Rate Newfoundland Screech

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


51 Newfoundland Screech ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Drank this for the first time while playing Newfie poker with me friends from the East by. Next ting I know! I'm sideways on the floor and me heads hurtin.

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

This rum can knock yer socks off!
Be careful landlovers, she can bring up quite a gail!

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Screech Rum is well known in Canada and anyone that lives or has visited Newfoundland is familiar with this Rum. While the rum itself originates from Jamaica, it is crafted in Newfoundland and is said to have become the traditional drink of Newfoundlanders. Having never before sampled this rum I had preconceived ideas of a cheap rum only used for mixing and having tasted and disliked three types of Appleton rums in the last few months my expectations were not that great.

The rum is of a nice mahogany colour and sweet smells of molasses and brown sugar are immediately noticed along with an alcohol smell. In the mouth flavours of caramel and molasses continue (although not overpowering) and a nice heat follows. Newfoundland Screech Rum does not compare in quality to some of my favourite sipping rums but let me tell you that I am pleasantly surprised at this great value rum, which will, from now on, be part of my rum collection.

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

The Amber tones are like Amber. This is Old Sam's little brother only not as sweet and thick with less of a leathery finish. It would be better as an overproof, but its not offered without spices. While it's probably nothing like the original I keep grabbing it off the shelf.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

Similar to Old Sam, drinking this makes you an honorary Newfoundlander. Good enough reason to drink it once.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 26 ratings

I had to of enjoyed this rum it got me to kiss a cod.

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a decent spirit all around. The color in the glass is nothing less than spectacular. The scent the excellence of this spirit is aware in the nosing and glass. This smoothness is amazingly apparent. The taste is quite flavorful. This is a great spirit I highly recommend this. Straight up no rocks.

Posted about 2 months ago by Dwayne Schuett from Canada with 5 ratings

Decent tasting rum. Drank it mixed with Coke and also had it with pineapple juice. Good rum to have a good time with friends. Definitely good every day rum.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Rhum à boire avec un accompagnement, du coke ou du 7up.

Posted 3 months ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

It’s very similar to a Jamaican Rum called Appleton Estates. Not my fav, but not as horrible as I had imagine.

Posted 5 months ago by Frances from United States with 1 rating

I like a deeper, smoother, strong flavor without a lot of burn. This Rum is one of my favorites.

Posted 9 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 51 ratings

Horrible Name. Subtle taste, not too sweet and no alcohol burn as the name may lead you to think. Arguably the best rum LCBO has for under $30.00.

Posted 9 months ago by Don from Canada with 131 ratings

Almost a sipper for only $28 at the LCBO. Amber colour; nose of spice, brown sugar, vanilla and caramel. Light toffee flavour with a hint of brine and a spicy finish. Not a heavy Jamaican Appleton style and that is good with me.

Posted 11 months ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

Oh my, the bottle just came in, and I instantly regret ordering it. Newfoundland rum, I read, and curiosity took over. A big mistake. It's always a warning sign when people have to invent a ritual to coax themselves into drinking an alcoholic beverage (remember that bad, bitter Bohemian absinth burned with a sugarcube?)

The rum looks attractive enough in the bottle, dark, mahogany color, no doubt courtesy of Caramel and co. The smell is faint, distant, paint thinner and burnt sugar, with some fruits in the back.

But the taste, oh my, the taste! It begins with straight up sugar, and lots of it. There is really no mistaking it - it's not subtle at all. Obviously a column distillate, because there is none of that pot still chewiness, no depth or volume, instead, what you get is an imbalanced, thin mixture of the initial artificial sweetness that is very quickly drowned in strong, unpleasant, astringent bitterness. Think old teabags, like a mug of tea you made in the morning to drink with breakfast, but forgot about, and you discover it in the afternoon, cold, and unpalatably bitter. It just screams barrel aging gone wrong - probably very old barrels used too many times that can only impart this residual bitterness, once all the caramel, vanilla and other interesting flavors are long gone.

Even when mixed, it imparts the drink with that unpleasant, bitter, astringent, lingering note. This is really a bottled disaster.

Avoid.

Posted 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Not sure why they loveit, but it's pretty middle of the road, but better than the US typical spiced.

Posted over 1 year ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

Strong alcohol is really all that meets your nose.
It burns in the mouth and leaves no discernible pleasant taste.
When mixed with a dark mixer (Coke or Pepsi) it is drinkable, however this simply tones down the alcohol burn. There is still no discernible pleasant or good taste.
Newfoundland is a great place and this rum carries a certain cachet with it, however without the history and the stories it would have little, if anything, to recommend it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Bon pour les rhum and coke. Difficile à boire sans glace. Mais quand même une belle découverte.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Deep, rich, aged flavor but there are excellent alternatives at same price or a few dollars more.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

A little alcohol bite to nose thou very smooth with banana notes mainly. Sweeter rum. Not bad

Posted almost 2 years ago by me mayself and I from United States with 1 rating

Good taste and good colour, smooth, rich body and great spice to flavour!! Makes me think of Newfoundland and a cold winters day drinking rum looking at the sea. Sparkles like the northern lights and nothing better than sipping rum watching the sky light up!!

Posted about 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Hearty amounts of Banana flavor on the forefront with a tasty caramel finish. Definitely a simple sipper if so inclined, functional as an easy mixer. Would be great in tropical cocktails with its naturally fruity tones

Posted about 2 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Bon pour etre melanger avec du coke ou ginger ale.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Très ordinaire, beaucoup trop sucre, bon en drink. Peu complexe

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has an inviting dark/rich red colour. While it does have a slight rubbing alcohol smell to it, I found a sweet and spicy odour as well. It's too strong to sip, although I did not experience as much of a burn as I was expecting - It left a nice sweet film on my lips. It's surprisingly good with cola - Fairly strong spice (although I don't know of what) along with a little sweetness. A 6.5 for sure!