Posting your rating...
Newfoundland Screech rum

Newfoundland Screech

Canada | Gold

5.8/10
59 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
1
12
20
14
4
2

Rate Newfoundland Screech

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

59 Newfoundland Screech ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Strong lemon and sweet candy taste.

Goes well in mixed drinks or cola.

Not for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Drank this for the first time while playing Newfie poker with me friends from the East by. Next ting I know! I'm sideways on the floor and me heads hurtin.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

This rum can knock yer socks off!
Be careful landlovers, she can bring up quite a gail!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

Similar to Old Sam, drinking this makes you an honorary Newfoundlander. Good enough reason to drink it once.

Small 20200906 162002

Posted 8 months ago by Srod from Canada with 30 ratings

Ce rhum est une belle découverte je recherchais un rhum Jamaïquein classique
Mais je n'aime pas le Appleton
Je trouve celui si mieux équilibré
Et plus savoureux un peu plus sucrée mais pas trop et la finale est pas trop sec ni trop boisé

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 202 ratings

This is good stuff. It has a lot of Jamaican funk” but in balance and with some great traditional flavor. Lovely nose. Great color. Nice bite. Not sweet with nice oak and molasses notes, traces of banana and vanilla. I’ll drink this over Smith & Cross any day. It is as good straight up as it is as a mixer. If it’s like kissing a cod like one reviewer advised, then pucker up codfish. I am ready. Nice finish. Nice rum. For $20 it is a STEAL. I may come back and give this an 8. It’s that good. Bravo Newfies! This is now a permanent denizen in my liquor cabinet.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 188 ratings

Screech Rum is well known in Canada and anyone that lives or has visited Newfoundland is familiar with this Rum. While the rum itself originates from Jamaica, it is crafted in Newfoundland and is said to have become the traditional drink of Newfoundlanders. Having never before sampled this rum I had preconceived ideas of a cheap rum only used for mixing and having tasted and disliked three types of Appleton rums in the last few months my expectations were not that great.

The rum is of a nice mahogany colour and sweet smells of molasses and brown sugar are immediately noticed along with an alcohol smell. In the mouth flavours of caramel and molasses continue (although not overpowering) and a nice heat follows. Newfoundland Screech Rum does not compare in quality to some of my favourite sipping rums but let me tell you that I am pleasantly surprised at this great value rum, which will, from now on, be part of my rum collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

The Amber tones are like Amber. This is Old Sam's little brother only not as sweet and thick with less of a leathery finish. It would be better as an overproof, but its not offered without spices. While it's probably nothing like the original I keep grabbing it off the shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 29 ratings

I had to of enjoyed this rum it got me to kiss a cod.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 0 to 5 gpl. I was expecting it to be very harsh as it's normally given as a rite of passage or a dare. It's a decent rum with strong taste but not distasteful. Goes well with Coke and I have not tried it with anything else. I did give it a taste with no mix and went back to get some Coke and ice.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a decent spirit all around. The color in the glass is nothing less than spectacular. The scent the excellence of this spirit is aware in the nosing and glass. This smoothness is amazingly apparent. The taste is quite flavorful. This is a great spirit I highly recommend this. Straight up no rocks.