Posting your rating...
Newfoundland Screech rum
Newfoundland Screech rum

Newfoundland Screech

Canada | Gold

5.9/10 (52 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
1
11
17
11
4
2

Rate Newfoundland Screech

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


52 Newfoundland Screech ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0f36ca7b41b74539eb7ff990b56b1b0a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Phil Beausoleil from Canada with 2 ratings

I took a bottle or 2 to a reunion of retired Naval personnel, We had a plethora of Rums from many makers. Once the Screech was opened it seemed to disappear into thin air, and the other Rums were left untouched. It was so much smoother than the others and had such a much more satisfying taste that I had to go out and get more.

731c6cb7701ba1ee9243bb770df95016.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Drank this for the first time while playing Newfie poker with me friends from the East by. Next ting I know! I'm sideways on the floor and me heads hurtin.

6973b7bca858b1ce563fa5a8b1e1b677.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

This rum can knock yer socks off!
Be careful landlovers, she can bring up quite a gail!

Ec2492d5580637b8ff3a6654e0841e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Screech Rum is well known in Canada and anyone that lives or has visited Newfoundland is familiar with this Rum. While the rum itself originates from Jamaica, it is crafted in Newfoundland and is said to have become the traditional drink of Newfoundlanders. Having never before sampled this rum I had preconceived ideas of a cheap rum only used for mixing and having tasted and disliked three types of Appleton rums in the last few months my expectations were not that great.

The rum is of a nice mahogany colour and sweet smells of molasses and brown sugar are immediately noticed along with an alcohol smell. In the mouth flavours of caramel and molasses continue (although not overpowering) and a nice heat follows. Newfoundland Screech Rum does not compare in quality to some of my favourite sipping rums but let me tell you that I am pleasantly surprised at this great value rum, which will, from now on, be part of my rum collection.

8ab69c63206f9d2f597f46bf6ebc8839.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

The Amber tones are like Amber. This is Old Sam's little brother only not as sweet and thick with less of a leathery finish. It would be better as an overproof, but its not offered without spices. While it's probably nothing like the original I keep grabbing it off the shelf.

F43e1309b2955e7fa4c5cad9cb83886a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

Similar to Old Sam, drinking this makes you an honorary Newfoundlander. Good enough reason to drink it once.

6b7799938fc4042595b9aa20ec52f6da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 28 ratings

I had to of enjoyed this rum it got me to kiss a cod.

0b3eb738cf54231f7e6ab963742fb7f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a decent spirit all around. The color in the glass is nothing less than spectacular. The scent the excellence of this spirit is aware in the nosing and glass. This smoothness is amazingly apparent. The taste is quite flavorful. This is a great spirit I highly recommend this. Straight up no rocks.

444db4e829fa650e01afab86587049b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by mc from United States with 41 ratings

What a great experience to have a rum from a cold climate country, Canada. Unfortunately, harsh and unbalanced.

E26473091ccc74533a1997f2deec1ef1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Dwayne Schuett from Canada with 5 ratings

Decent tasting rum. Drank it mixed with Coke and also had it with pineapple juice. Good rum to have a good time with friends. Definitely good every day rum.

Ab6b8768c78a642498871b008c967dab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 127 ratings

Rhum à boire avec un accompagnement, du coke ou du 7up.