Posting your rating...
El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva rum

El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva

France | Aged

8.1/10 (42 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
18
16

Rate El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Excellent rhum de grande qualité. Très léger, avec un bel équilibre et une belle rondeur. Sur des notes de caramel.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Well over 800 aged dark rums enjoyed and El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva was such a massive positive surprise and what a value! Bought it from the local Total Wine for $36 and it rivals the Diplomatico price-quality ratio. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva is very smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of exciting flavors and with a price tag of less than $40, it is also an amazing value. However, the El Pasador de Oro XO is even better than the Gran Reserva and only $2 more expensive. Gran Reserva comes in a black box and black label, whereas the smoother XO comes with a white box and a white label.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 8
10/100 Color of this rum 8
15/100 Nose test 12
20/100 Palate test 15
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 13
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 15
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 86

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Camcam from France with 1 rating

Rum aged for a minimum of 10 years, including 6 months in Cognac. Well balanced, flavorful, with aromas of cinnamon and cocoa.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

I had this one's younger brother in Las Vegas about 16 months ago and was not all that impressed. That one was like listening to a lite rock radio station. Good, but nothing at all to get excited about. Well, it's older brother here suffers from the same dilemma. If you hate burn and strong flavors, then you will love this one. With me having tried more than 300 rums in less than 3 years, this one is just rather boring. The added sugar makes it semi-dry, which does not help it at all. This one is a wannbe Plantation XO and fails miserably at this, since it is a Guatemalan dry rum with final aging in cognac casks in France. A good rum, but a colossal yawn for me. This one is great for newbies to rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael David from United States with 10 ratings

El Pasador has two wonderful products- the XO and the Grand Reserva.
The XO is smooth and well balanced, where as the Grand Reserva imparts more body and character. Both products are in my best buy category~

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I picked this up at my local Total Wines & More for only $44.99, but to me it tastes more like an $80 rum!

Smells and tastes of a really nice spice (I can't place it), oak (with sherry aging?), caramel, and tobacco. Has a very nice hint of sweetness and is really nice. Just shy of a '9' to me.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by JOE Fagiano from Italy with 15 ratings

The bottle look really nice, the color is amber. In the glass the density is medium, with nice mark.
On the nose the alcohol is mild, nice soft flavors of vanilla and fruits not really define.
In the mouth start very soft with not much sweetness but immediately you got the alcohol in the tough .
When you swallow the flavor is cover at the beginning from the alcohol but slowly the melassa flavor start and stay longer.
Not defined flavor but a good mix of soft fruit and vanilla.
No burning in the stomach... maybe little enough.
Surprise Guatemala rum. Must have one bottle if you are rum testing expert

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Acutulus (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

Another winning evening w/my five sons. Unanimous choice. You can smell and taste the oak. Smooth. Elegant with no overpowering sweetness. Top performer.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Ozzy1984 from Canada with 1 rating

Pour 110$ canadien ! Meilleur rhum que j'ai eu la chance de goûter...Avec le plantation XO 20th anniversaire, l'eldorado 21 ans, le Emperor Sherry Cask, et le Diplomatico Reserva. Top 5

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Chavelo from Greece with 23 ratings

Good Value for money. Private label, no true heritage

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Flemming L. P. from Denmark with 8 ratings

Blød spis duft, den har en stærk skarp smag i starten men bliver fyldig og holder godt i smagen.