Posting your rating...
El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva rum

El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva

France | Aged

8.0/10(46 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
22
15
1

Rate El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

46 El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by jbmonin from France with 14 ratings

On peu bien sûr trouver mieux dans les rhums de style hispaniques, mais pour le prix, cette bouteille est tout à fait satisfaisante. Le sucre n'est pas écrasant et la longueur en bouche est correcte. C'est, à mon goût, une bonne bouteille.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2697 ratings

Well over 800 aged dark rums enjoyed and El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva was such a massive positive surprise and what a value! Bought it from the local Total Wine for $36 and it rivals the Diplomatico price-quality ratio. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva is very smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of exciting flavors and with a price tag of less than $40, it is also an amazing value. However, the El Pasador de Oro XO is even better than the Gran Reserva and only $2 more expensive. Gran Reserva comes in a black box and black label, whereas the smoother XO comes with a white box and a white label.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 8
10/100 Color of this rum 8
15/100 Nose test 12
20/100 Palate test 15
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 13
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 15
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 86

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by BigMarcus from United States with 23 ratings

This is a hidden gem IMO. Smooth Delicious. Flavorful. Character. Fruits. Nuts. Mild spice. Very enjoyable. But what truly sets this apart is the excellent value for the money. My TOP 5 Best Rums under $100! 🥃

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Camcam from France with 1 rating

Rum aged for a minimum of 10 years, including 6 months in Cognac. Well balanced, flavorful, with aromas of cinnamon and cocoa.

Small profile 1

Posted 3 months ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 111 ratings

Nose of brown sugar and oranges - quite pleasant. Oddly it doesn’t carry through to the taste much, which is really nice and buttery smooth. Great balance of sweet and dry. Upfront hit of vanilla and spice, with the spice carrying through but the vanilla leaving quickly. Woodsy finish with a hint of leather.

There’s a lot to like. It’s not in my top 10 but close. The finish maybe leaves me wanting more, it’s a little tart for my liking. But for most this is a great rum.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 5 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 248 ratings

This is a very good rum in this price range. This is my second review as I noted I had the ratings of XO & Gran Reserve reversed. The XO is a nice golden rum sweet and smooth, but the Gran Reserve packs a bit more depth. Similar in color and flavor, but the finish of the GR keeps going. Guatemalan rums continue to surprise me. This batch has slight corky flavor not sure if that’s an oddity or part of the profile.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 369 ratings

I had this one's younger brother in Las Vegas about 16 months ago and was not all that impressed. That one was like listening to a lite rock radio station. Good, but nothing at all to get excited about. Well, it's older brother here suffers from the same dilemma. If you hate burn and strong flavors, then you will love this one. With me having tried more than 300 rums in less than 3 years, this one is just rather boring. The added sugar makes it semi-dry, which does not help it at all. This one is a wannbe Plantation XO and fails miserably at this, since it is a Guatemalan dry rum with final aging in cognac casks in France. A good rum, but a colossal yawn for me. This one is great for newbies to rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael David from United States with 10 ratings

El Pasador has two wonderful products- the XO and the Grand Reserva.
The XO is smooth and well balanced, where as the Grand Reserva imparts more body and character. Both products are in my best buy category~

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 467 ratings

I picked this up at my local Total Wines & More for only $44.99, but to me it tastes more like an $80 rum!

Smells and tastes of a really nice spice (I can't place it), oak (with sherry aging?), caramel, and tobacco. Has a very nice hint of sweetness and is really nice. Just shy of a '9' to me.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Výborný guatemalský rum s dubovou vůní a trošku drsnější chutí.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by JOE Fagiano from Italy with 15 ratings

The bottle look really nice, the color is amber. In the glass the density is medium, with nice mark.
On the nose the alcohol is mild, nice soft flavors of vanilla and fruits not really define.
In the mouth start very soft with not much sweetness but immediately you got the alcohol in the tough .
When you swallow the flavor is cover at the beginning from the alcohol but slowly the melassa flavor start and stay longer.
Not defined flavor but a good mix of soft fruit and vanilla.
No burning in the stomach... maybe little enough.
Surprise Guatemala rum. Must have one bottle if you are rum testing expert