Posting your rating...
Koloa Kauai Reserve 3-Year rum

Koloa Kauai Reserve 3-Year

United States | Aged

Koloa Reserve 3-Year rum, a version of their White Rum that’s aged at least three years in charred American white oak barrels and bottled in 12-barrel batches at 92 proof. It contains no added sugar, color, or other ingredients, according to the distillery.

via American Rum Report

6.8/10
9 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
1

Rate Koloa Kauai Reserve 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Koloa Kauai Reserve 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Quite surprising for a 3 year aged rum. Very good aroma, nice smooth taste, exceptional for a rum company that is only about 8 years old or so. This is actually very easy to drink. It does havea light color, and is made in Kauai., 46% alcohol.
I purchased one of their oak barrels, I think I'll add this to it and age it a bit more, probably will be excellent after a couple more years.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

I was anxious to get my hands on this, as it is not in wide distribution. This is the first legitimately aged rum from Koloa that hasn't been artificially colored. Aged only 3 years, the esters and tannins just haven't had time to develop a depth of character. I'll reserve judgement and see if Koloa produces a longer aged product further down the road.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 21 ratings

Starts a bit sweet and stays smooth with low bite. Flavors aren’t complex but an enjoyable drink from this distiller. My first drink of Hawaiian rum and wasn’t disappointed but not my ATB.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by blowpez from United States with 21 ratings

For how’s its advertised it’s definitely not a sipper for my tastes. More of a high end mixing rum. Was gifted it but wouldn’t buy it myself for the price point. Dry with hints of coconut and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Glen from United States with 53 ratings

Wasn’t expecting to like this but it’s pretty, pretty good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Nice flavor straight, but a bit of an afterburn. Mixing just okay. Nothing special. Liked the dark a bit better.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

"Koloa 12 Barrel Reserve" - 46% ABV. Aged 3 years. Vanilla, caramel, good bite, not too sweet (though it is on the sweet side). Like a sweeter MGXO. By far the best Koloa has to offer (their other offerings tend towards "syrupy mess"), but still not that great, and (like the others) vastly overpriced. But hey, if I were in Kauai for a week, I'd probably grab a bottle of this as soon as I could and head for the beach.

Another 7! 7+ even.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 468 ratings

I REALLY love the Koloa rums. Their spiced rum is the best spiced rum I've ever had. Their dark rum is about the best dark I've ever had. Their coconut rum is about the best I've ever had. Their white rum is fabulous. Their coffee rum is the best I've ever had. So I was REALLY looking forward to their first aged rum!

But this kind of disappointed me. I realize this rum is only 3 years old, but it is overspiced, and I think they used the wrong spice. I'm not good at identifying spice, but this reminds me a lot of the Foursquare Spiced rum, which I'm also not a big fan of (though this is slightly better).

Smells and tastes of spice, mostly. I think they need to reset their aged rum to have a little less spice influence, or maybe choose a different spice. For now, I'll stick with all the other Koloa rums I mentioned above over this one, as those are absolutely fabulous.

Ffffff

Posted at Gaylord's at Kilohana 3 years ago by Jeremiah from United States with 1 rating

Very smooth, but it doesn’t have a lot of other flavors to it (no vanilla, wood, etc). No residual sweetness either.