Posting your rating...
Canasteros 21 Solera rum

Canasteros 21 Solera

Colombia | Aged

6.4/10
10 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
3
1
1

Rate Canasteros 21 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

10 Canasteros 21 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 482 ratings

This is a good rum, but it's not as smooth as I expected for a 21 year (probably due to 'solera' aging).

Smells and tastes of toffee, oak, nuts, with a hint of whiskey and vanilla. Not bad, but not great to me.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Pirate from United States with 15 ratings

I enjoy this rum mainly due to the reasonable price for a "21 year" rum, not as smooth as many others aged that long. The taste is subtle, hard to put a finger on any one flavor but not the tasteless low shelves like Bacardi. A little more burn than most 21 years but makes a decent sipping, neat rum. Overall, I would have made it a 6 but due to the reasonable price, I let it have a 7.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by verbeeg from United States with 1 rating

I have to disagree with the reviews that peg this as an average rum. I suppose it depends on what you're looking for. If you want a delicious rum with an absolutely smooth finish and no burning going down or harsh after taste the 21 year old Canasteros is the rum for you.

If you're looking for something "harsh" or "bold" and don't mind the burn going down, then yeah Canasteros is average.

Note there is a big difference between the 21 year and the other Canasteros vintages. I tried the 15 and it was indeed just average and a lot less smooth. The 21 year is hands down one of the best rums I've tried, not just at this price range.

If you want a smooth easy drinking rum this is worth every penny and more.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by poosu from United States with 39 ratings

I believe I have the correct rum The bottle says Canasteros 21 solera which I bought at Total Wine as an experiment. The oldest for the money I could find. What I drank was the best I can remember. I'm no connoisseur, but I know if I like the taste and smoothness. My favorite is Bacardi which I gave a 10. It has good taste, smoothness and a reasonable price. I have tried more expensive rums but they do not deliver an improvement worth the price in my mind. This rum is equal to my Bacardi 8 but the price is 50% higher so it looses a bit in my rating.

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted 6 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 420 ratings

I had rated this one's two younger brothers both as a 6 when they were still named Porteno. The use of former Jack Daniel's barrels took away from my rating on those. Somehow, that influence is no longer present on this one. This is simply a dry rum with no additives and at $33 US, I will take this one any day over most of the ones from Foursquare ECS that grab way too much attention in my book. This one is a sleeper. Also, the bird on this label will not cost you anything more, unlike the line of rums from Hampden with birds on their labels. Pay extra for the bird and you get the bird!

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 12 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 321 ratings

It’s an ok rum but presented to me as the holy grail. It’s dark smooth but without lingering depth you would expect in a 21 year old rum. I say over hyped it’s an ok $30 rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adreinke from United States with 16 ratings

So at smell it’s not an appealing rum. First taste is bitter, burns a little when going down. More of a mixing or baking rum. I personally won’t drink it meat or on rocks as it’s more bitter then most rums I drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by gdtrfb from United States with 32 ratings

Reasonably priced, light overall with a dry finish. Worth a go, but seems consistent with other Columbian offerings. Sampled neat and with one cube. The latter opens up a more drinkable option for those throttling back a bit.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2841 ratings

Got a bottle of Canasteros 21y Solera while in San Francisco. At $33 a bottle, its deceivingly cheap for a 21y Solera rum. Bottle design is new and fresh, label design is dull and bland. Color is golden which is very surprising for a 21y rum. Very mild wood flavors to the nose and a tad more wood to the palate. This most certainly is coming from Jack Daniels barrel aging. Hardly any burn, but the rum is very dry. Not my cup of tea.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 201 ratings

Looking for a rum for Thanksgiving and had not previously seen this one at Total Wine. Not disappointed in this Columbian rum, and both my father-in-law and I enjoyed its pleasant flavor. Could be served on the rocks or mixed depending on your mood. This rates a 6.5 on my scale.