Posting your rating...
Canasteros 21 Solera rum

Canasteros 21 Solera

Colombia | Aged

6.9/10 (7 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
1
1

Rate Canasteros 21 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


7 Canasteros 21 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

This is a good rum, but it's not as smooth as I expected for a 21 year (probably due to 'solera' aging).

Smells and tastes of toffee, oak, nuts, with a hint of whiskey and vanilla. Not bad, but not great to me.

9599dbb2a9b4b2ec057e3f3bbb6ba51d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 37 ratings

I believe I have the correct rum The bottle says Canasteros 21 solera which I bought at Total Wine as an experiment. The oldest for the money I could find. What I drank was the best I can remember. I'm no connoisseur, but I know if I like the taste and smoothness. My favorite is Bacardi which I gave a 10. It has good taste, smoothness and a reasonable price. I have tried more expensive rums but they do not deliver an improvement worth the price in my mind. This rum is equal to my Bacardi 8 but the price is 50% higher so it looses a bit in my rating.

6c7568a3fa49a0dabc4833c10d42c643.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 25 days ago by verbeeg from United States with 1 rating

I have to disagree with the reviews that peg this as an average rum. I suppose it depends on what you're looking for. If you want a delicious rum with an absolutely smooth finish and no burning going down or harsh after taste the 21 year old Canasteros is the rum for you.

If you're looking for something "harsh" or "bold" and don't mind the burn going down, then yeah Canasteros is average.

Note there is a big difference between the 21 year and the other Canasteros vintages. I tried the 15 and it was indeed just average and a lot less smooth. The 21 year is hands down one of the best rums I've tried, not just at this price range.

If you want a smooth easy drinking rum this is worth every penny and more.

2c42911b37e3a0dafdba4461ccd5b440.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Adreinke (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

So at smell it’s not an appealing rum. First taste is bitter, burns a little when going down. More of a mixing or baking rum. I personally won’t drink it meat or on rocks as it’s more bitter then most rums I drink.

1fa52fc70d4601547df4870b2e60c52b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Reasonably priced, light overall with a dry finish. Worth a go, but seems consistent with other Columbian offerings. Sampled neat and with one cube. The latter opens up a more drinkable option for those throttling back a bit.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Got a bottle of Canasteros 21y Solera while in San Francisco. At $33 a bottle, its deceivingly cheap for a 21y Solera rum. Bottle design is new and fresh, label design is dull and bland. Color is golden which is very surprising for a 21y rum. Very mild wood flavors to the nose and a tad more wood to the palate. This most certainly is coming from Jack Daniels barrel aging. Hardly any burn, but the rum is very dry. Not my cup of tea.

A09ef3ba12319215824b4d095e0acd79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 175 ratings

Looking for a rum for Thanksgiving and had not previously seen this one at Total Wine. Not disappointed in this Columbian rum, and both my father-in-law and I enjoyed its pleasant flavor. Could be served on the rocks or mixed depending on your mood. This rates a 6.5 on my scale.