Posting your rating...
New Grove Old Tradition 5-Year rum

Rate New Grove Old Tradition 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 New Grove Old Tradition 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 months ago by gkyler from Finland with 23 ratings

Quite smooth but not very interesting or complex taste which has a hint of vanilla in it. Oily mouthfeel. Not a great value, there are better rums available with lower prices.

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. Fruit quickly turns to something reminiscent of Caroni, with some burned tire rubber. Passion fruit? Dry, spicy finish. "Fresh and spicy" is how they describe it, and I quite agree. Definitely go for this (or better) in lieu of the Oak Aged.

7 (77?)

Posted over 2 years ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 42 ratings

Nothing for me,I ried the New Grove Old Tradition 5y rum directly on Mauritius in sugar factory... maybe it was from the heat, but really i don´t like this rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the New Grove Old Tradition 5y rum for the first and very last time. Such a nasty smell is followed by a rubber infused burn. Contemplating if this would be a 1 or 2, but then again this is not amongst the worst, so 2 it is.

Posted over 2 years ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

Dieser Rum ist wirklich nicht von schlechten Eltern. Die schlechten Bewertungen verstehe ich absolut, allerdings wurde da in meinen Augen bei der Degustation ein entscheidender Fehler begangen. Der hier vorgestellte Rum muss zwingend einige Minuten atmen. Wenn man eingiesst und umgehend den Tropfen geniesst verfälscht dies ungemein den Geschmack auf eine negative Weise. Bitte lasst ihn erst einen Moment atmen und geniesst Ihn dann.

Nase: Trauben, kombiniert mit Zitrusfrucht und Lakritze
Gaumen: Banane mit Vanille
Abgang: Nicht ganz butterweich aber wirklich noch sehr gut zu trinken und eine dezente Süsse

Fazit: Ein guter Rum mit einigen Facetten und lecker zu trinken. Definitiv zu gut um zum Mixen zu missbrauchen.

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Nothing offensive about this rum but just lacks any conviction when it comes to nose or flavour so maybe more of a cocktail rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Dieser Rum ist schon sehr reif für seine 5 Jahre.
Schönes helles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase herrlich fruchtige Aromen, Grapefruit, Banane auch Holz und Leder.
Im Gaumen zarte Holztöne, etwas Zitrusfrüchte und heller Tabak.
Im Abgang eine sehr dezente herbe süsse.
Ein wundervoller Rum der sehr viel Zeit zum atmen braucht um seinen Charakter zu entwickeln.
Ich fange an diese New Groves zu mögen.

This rum is very mature for his 5 years.
Beautiful bright amber in the glass.
In the nose gorgeous fruity aromas, grapefruit, banana also wood and leather.
On the palate delicate woody notes, some citrus fruits and light tobacco.
In the finish a very subtle bitter sweet.
A wonderful rum who needs a lot of time to breathe to develop its character.
I'm starting to like these new groves.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Color corresponding period in barrels. Aroma and flavour too much shrill.

Posted over 4 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Just another bottle for the collection. I intent to have danish biggest collcetion in few year :)

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 43 ratings

Young Rhum, strong alcool woody taste. Very Lightly sweet,

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Když se mi kolega v létě pochlubil, že bude o dovolené na Mauriciu, a jestli nechci dovézt nějaký rum, rád jsem jeho nabídky využil, projel si na internetu místní značky a vybral si 5y od firmy New Grove. Zrání probíhá ve Francouzských limousinských sudech a v sudech po portském. Limousinské duby jsou známé tím, že jejich dřevo obsahuje více taninu.

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Mauricius
Aroma: Jako první se ozve aroma čokolády a kůže, které je silné a hutné, ale je zde i zjemňující květinovo-ovocná vůně, dokonce i lehčí závan lékořice a anýzu. (87 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku se zdá jemný, ale s menší prodlevou už nastupuje hutnost hořké čokolády, tousty, hodně opáleného dřeva, slupky z mandlí, jadérka (vnitřek pecky) třeba z meruňky. Není pochyb o tom, že pijete rum, ale opáleného dřeva je zde i v dozvuku už na můj vkus až příliš. (82 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Poměrně originální a zajímavý rum, který mě přesvědčil především svou vůní, uvidím, jestli mu časem přijdu ještě víc i na chuť.

Posted almost 6 years ago by JP from France with 1 rating

The flavor isn't my favorite.

Posted over 7 years ago by kilderkin from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Like this one a lot but it's a bit on the pricey side for a 5yo.