Posting your rating...
Atlantico Gran Reserva rum

Rate Atlantico Gran Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


22 Atlantico Gran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled the Atlantico Gran Reserva at Cardiff Rum Festival on the weekend and I must say it's my favourite out of the Atlantico family. I almost purchased a bottle instead choosing the Botran 18 year old instead.

The Gran Reserva is achieved by first distilling 2 separate rums one from molasses another from fresh sugar cane juice, aging them separately then blending and reaging after this double aging the blend is put into the solera system. It's a thoroughly well aged liquid and it's just so good!

Aromas from both distillations are detectable on the nose there's rich caramel and a grassy freshness too! There's coffee, cacao and charred oak too

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

The smell is not special, but I like the balance of the aromas. It's very good for the price.
I think the mix of agricole and molasses rum is well accomplished.
Smell: vanilla, wood/paper, caramel and dry fruits, some berries
Taste: vanilla, burned sugar, nice sweetness, paper, bitterness and spice

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Mildness: 3/5

Posted 2 months ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

This is one the best rums i have drank. The taste of sugar cane, carmel and vanilla notes are evident. Very smooth and no bitter burn.

Posted 5 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted 6 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

Got a sample of this one when I drove from Sweden to Spain and made some stops during the way to buy some rum.
It’s nothing that I should buy, cause it’s too sweet but it’s quite well balanced with lots of vanilla taste together with some fruits.
Picture: The sample at my balcony in Spain.

Posted 7 months ago by JT from Germany with 21 ratings

Ich weiß nicht, ob der Rum sein Geld wert ist. Zweimal verkostet und er schmeckt einfach „einfach“, aber nicht schlecht, aber zu teuer.

Posted 9 months ago by Skegga from Sweden with 29 ratings

smooth. balanced sweetness with hints of maple syrup and

Posted 10 months ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 32 ratings

Vyzretý, to sa mu uprieť nedá. Ale ťahá so sebou kávovú dochuť. A to pri rume nie je moja šálka kávy.

Posted about 1 year ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Rhum beaucoup trop sur les arômes de vanille. Pas raffiner, très sucré et très dure à boire dû au goût de la barrique. Nez avec un peu de caramel.

Posted about 1 year ago by Krister from Sweden with 9 ratings

En rom i mellanregistret. Fungerar bra men sticker inte ut.

Posted about 1 year ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Slightly disappointed in this rum, I expected a bit more.
Decent enough sipper by itself, woody and a intense flavour, but doesn’t quite do it for me.
Not too sure about a second bottle, probably not.
Cheers graham.

Posted about 1 year ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

Poprawny rum, nic nadzwyczajnego. Na początku bardzo ciekawy aromat, jakby trochę cytrusowy. Bardzo delikatny. Zaciekawił mnie. Smak...hmmm trochę rozczarował. Bardzo delikatny, dobrze się nawet pije...ale ... nadal nie ma czegoś co by mnie zaciekawiło i spowodowało bym kupił go ponownie.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tobs1991 from Germany with 8 ratings

I got this one from a tasting box. Very smooth, intense nose. I would probably buy a whole bottle if it was on sale.

Posted over 1 year ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Jemnější, lehčí styl vůně. Květinové tóny, pečené hrušky, smažený banán, med. K tomu cítím i něco syntetického, banánový šampón. V přímém srovnání s Atlanticem Private Cask se obzvlášť zvýrazní sprostá lihovost Gran Reservy. (82 b)
Chuť: Chuť je celkem obyčejná, skoro až nudná. Pečený banán, vanilka. Postupně vysychá. Ve srovnání s Private caskem velmi výrazný kvalitativní sešup dolů. (80 b)
Body: 81/100
Shrnutí: Atlantico Private Cask mi hodně chutná, a tak jsem bez vyzkoušení zakoupil lahev Gran Reservy, přišlo mi, že asi udělali jen nějaké kosmetické změny designu, ale sázel jsem na to, že kvalita bude jistě obdobná. A to jsem neměl dělat. Atlantico se vydalo cestou maximalizace zisku na úkor kvality, což mi přijde jako hodně krátkozraká politika. Přímý srovnávací test těchto dvou lahví potvrdil mé podezření, že tady je něco špatně. Dobrou zprávou je, že Private Cask se dá stále sehnat, a někde dokonce ještě levněji, než nový, méně kvalitní rum. Tak moc neváhejte a raději nakupte ještě ze starých zásob. Stejný dojem měl i kamarád, který také porovnával obě verze. Rozdíl je opravdu markantní.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed 3 glasses of Atlantico Gran Reserva while in London. Pretty decent bottle and label design. Light golden color. Vanilla and oak straight to your nose and palate. Moderate burn at the end but simply artificially sweet ending. Whisky lovers can add 2 points to the score.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Hr Jensen from Denmark with 15 ratings

Sød og let drikkelig, dog vil mange nok finde den for sød.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

It's cluttered and there is no order to the displays, but Old Town Liquor and Deli had a nice rum selection; including the Atlantico Gran Reserva. The rum had a nice caramel flavor and I preferred it straight to to mixed.

Posted about 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Every now and then I don't mind something sweet, but really, this is far too sweet. I looked up on the Rum Project and see Atlantico have in the past added a huge amount of sugar. While this one is not listed in their records, I reckon it is well up there with the most doctored rums.

It is a shame as I reckon that there is enough there to be so much nicer without the sweetness. There is a lovely burn from the alcohol (which personally I always like), with a good dose of wood from American oak. But the vanilla, toffee and caramel masks a lot of the fruit. What appealed to me was that it says that it is distilled from fresh cane juice and molasses. Unfortunately the distillate from the cane is not easy to see at all.

Nice packaging and all, a nice burn of alcohol and smooth and easy to drink, but ultimately it is like an alcoholic Baileys.Ultimately disappointing, but I hope that this newly opened bottle might blossom further down the line.

Posted about 2 years ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

I miss the body, it has cheap sweet tones. It's quite disappointing compared to the other Atlantico rums.

Posted about 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

Vůní velmi podobný Blue Mauricius - oříškovo mandlová vůně.
Chut už výrazně odlišná. Silnější alkoholově. Ale stále pitelný.
Trošku plochá, nevýrazná chuť.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Heavy nose and taste of vanilla. A little wood and toffee. Needs a little depth and caracter and that Price I can find something better, but it is not bad at all. And I would drink it any time again, but I don't Think I would buy it unless on sale.

Posted over 2 years ago by Boris Mehak from Germany with 9 ratings

Have more whisky than a rum taste. Some sweetness, but not much.
Strong smell and taste of wood, which I like it.
The type of drink which will be appreciated by the vast of majority.