Posting your rating...
Neisson Reserve Speciale rum

Neisson Reserve Speciale

Martinique | Agricole

6.8/10 (29 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
10
7
1

Rate Neisson Reserve Speciale

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


29 Neisson Reserve Speciale ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Un neisson peut en cacher un autre...très beau nez, sec boisé et épicé (poivre clou de girofle) en bouche une attaque vive mais douce et boisé ! Un longueur moyenne. A tester !

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by kylebrown247 from United States with 2 ratings

I’m just starting off down the Martinique rabbit hole and this was my first proper aged bottle I’ve bought. I’ve tried a few others, but this one is the best of them thus far. Really quite smooth, with some bourbon-y notes at first (vanilla, baking spices, etc), but followed by the unmistakable flavor of raw cane and grass. Really nice sipper, especially to introduce people to vieux agricoles.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This rum is quite dry; I prefer a touch of sweetness in my rums.

Vegetal sugarcane, oak, vanilla, and pepper. Not bad, but not a great rum either, imho. Not worth the price to me of $69.99 (K&L Wines 2015).

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Clem from United States with 11 ratings

This is my first agricole of any type. Bought it for creating certain tiki drinks. I've tried a sip but need to try again to get a true idea if it's qualities. It certainly was nice in my Three Dots and a Dash.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Smovens from United States with 93 ratings

Aged agricole to me are usually too oaky and tame, losing the freshness that makes blancs so great. This one is a great balance and retains some of that agricole bite to it.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by cK from Canada with 63 ratings

Very good neat, but not as smooth as I would hope for a rum at this price point.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Rum tasting in Los Angeles continued onwards with Neisson Reserve Speciale Rum. Old school bottle and label design. Light golden color. Plenty of oak mixed with vegetal and floral Rhum Agricole notes to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

This is a very dry, earthy agricole with strong grass notes. It's a bit rough but still easily sippable neat. Will need to compare with Neisson white.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It's about what I figured from Neisson, it's slightly smoother.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

For a Martinique vieux agricole, it’s not so bad - surely a costly addition to any US collection, and questionably suitable as such for that alone. But it’s a smooth talker with just a memory of its fiery past as an ardent blanc from 12 years ago. It has been hard to truly like vieux agricoles over 8 yrs, in general; for me, it’s all about that fiery youth that makes this style shine, and so much of that is lost in the adulteration of the spirit during the fût sitting period. It’s certainly a handsome bottle presentation, and a fine selection for your regular whiskey aficionado, but the mellowness just kinda loses me with the hint of sweetness presumably imparted by the charred barrel and a flabbiness associated with middling French red wines.

All said and done, this is a fine example of a vieux agricole in the upper end of the aged spectrum - not a standout, but far better than El Dorado’s equivalent expression.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mayo from Italy with 22 ratings

Blonde ambra color.
A not very intens smell of wood,dry fruit,wine,.