Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

United States | Aged

8.2/10(33 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
19
8
2

Rate Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

33 Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 46 ratings

I typically like sherry/wine cask finished rum, e.g., Foursquare Empery, The real McCoy Madeira cask etc. I chose this bottle over their standard offering on account of that, however this bottle is wrong in so many ways.

The nose is wonderful. Strong brown sugar, molasses and sherry notes, that lead you to believe this will make a great dessert sipper.

On the palate is where it falls apart. The initial impression is what I expected from the nose, but immediately following that, there is an insipid sour/bitterness that belies it’s aroma.

The finish is more of the sour/bitterness with a hint of fruit and a decent burn, especially for 43.5% ABV, but that fruit does nothing to help the overall impression of the bitterness. To be fair, it’s not bitter per se, but the hint of bitterness leaves me flat.

My first (and only) Impression is that this is a jumble of flavors that clash with each other instead of melding together to give the best possible impression.

Based on the sweetness and mouth feel, I’m guessing there’s some additives, but they aren’t offensive.

Recommendation: if you’re looking to try Pilar rum, maybe start with their other bottles first. Also, this is listed as a 24 year in the description, but the bottle clearly states on the back that the 24 is because this is their 24th recipe. FYI

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

The standard Pilar is very sweet. This one is more balanced with nods to all of its brothers best attributes. Vanilla and almond. If you see it, buy it. You won’t be disappointed!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 41 ratings

I got all three dark rums from Pilar to try them side by side. I had tried two of the three previously. They're all exceptional. The Sherry finished rum is the darkest of the three.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Very dark in color, light sherry nose. Very pleasing taste, quite smooth, deep finish with slight burn. Quite pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jcb375 from United States with 9 ratings

Whether you believe the backstory on this spirit or not, this one is quite the surprise. A nice nose and sweet pallet. Finishes with a smooth oak and caramel with a hint of apricot. I would recommend this to anyone who prefers matured complex rums neat or on the rocks. Too good to use for a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 466 ratings

I expected this to be the best of the Papa's Pilar rums. But I just slightly prefer their Dark Rum. Interestingly, their dark rum bottle also says "Finished in Spanish Sherry Casks", so I'm not sure if there's much of a difference.

They're both very similar, but I'd say the Dark just tastes a little smoother to me. This smells and tastes of vanilla, maple, almond, cinnamon, and a touch of sherry. But since the dark seemed a tad smoother, I slightly prefer that one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

Recommended by a friend, I couldn't wait to try it. Poured neat, it had a slightly sweet aroma with a hint of almond. The first sip is very smooth, with just a little warmth and the sweetness of the sherry coming through. It's not syrupy sweet. I liked the hint of sweetness. I added an ice cube, and it really brought out some of the flavors. More oak and spice, and just a little more of that almond-like sweetness. A good sipper, for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by Greengator25 from United States with 15 ratings

I spent a few dollars more for the barrel select. This is another rum that I felt dirty for liking. I know it’s got added sugar and must be a mix of ages, but as someone who likes sherry; I tasted it upfront. It was sweet going down without a lot of bite. I want to compare it to their regular dark rum. So if you don’t mind breaking with tradition and like a sweeter rum or as a gift for a less discerning rum drinker- give it a go.

Small img 20201222 145124

Posted 7 days ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 177 ratings

Bon rhum., mais un peu brut de décoffrage. Je le trouve un peu abrasif. Toutefois, il a son intérêt et arbore une bouteille originale.
À essayer et le rapport qualité prix reste bon. C est pour moi la meilleure bouteille de la marque. Tbien pour leurs débuts même s il faudra gagner en finesse.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 29 days ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 244 ratings

Having enjoyed Marquesa blend last week I was expecting something quite special. Instead I found this blend to be similar to the original with a slight hint of the finishing cask. Not enough difference to mask the sweet caramel flavor of the 24 dark that I am not a fan of.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Eagle1986Panther1990 from United States with 5 ratings

Papas Pilar adds a hint of additional complexity with this sherry finished beauty. A Wonderful sipper. Their whole line is strong especially considering the price point and what it compares to and competes with across the board.