Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

United States | Aged

8.2/10
36 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
21
9
2

Rate Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

36 Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

A 7.5 on my ratings. Tastes like a fine port wine and a wonderful ending to a nice dinner.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

The standard Pilar is very sweet. This one is more balanced with nods to all of its brothers best attributes. Vanilla and almond. If you see it, buy it. You won’t be disappointed!

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar 24 GPL: This version of the Pilar is a bit redder in colour and has a definite smell and taste of almonds or walnuts. The Sherry cask aroma and taste is in the background. The maple flavour detected in the original blend is toned down a bit and the oak and spice is kicked up a notch in this blend. I still prefer the original to this version, but this one is a close second. I rated the original a 9 and this one is an 8.5.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 41 ratings

I got all three dark rums from Pilar to try them side by side. I had tried two of the three previously. They're all exceptional. The Sherry finished rum is the darkest of the three.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 97 ratings

Very dark in color, light sherry nose. Very pleasing taste, quite smooth, deep finish with slight burn. Quite pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jcb375 from United States with 9 ratings

Whether you believe the backstory on this spirit or not, this one is quite the surprise. A nice nose and sweet pallet. Finishes with a smooth oak and caramel with a hint of apricot. I would recommend this to anyone who prefers matured complex rums neat or on the rocks. Too good to use for a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 468 ratings

I expected this to be the best of the Papa's Pilar rums. But I just slightly prefer their Dark Rum. Interestingly, their dark rum bottle also says "Finished in Spanish Sherry Casks", so I'm not sure if there's much of a difference.

They're both very similar, but I'd say the Dark just tastes a little smoother to me. This smells and tastes of vanilla, maple, almond, cinnamon, and a touch of sherry. But since the dark seemed a tad smoother, I slightly prefer that one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

Recommended by a friend, I couldn't wait to try it. Poured neat, it had a slightly sweet aroma with a hint of almond. The first sip is very smooth, with just a little warmth and the sweetness of the sherry coming through. It's not syrupy sweet. I liked the hint of sweetness. I added an ice cube, and it really brought out some of the flavors. More oak and spice, and just a little more of that almond-like sweetness. A good sipper, for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Per71 from Sweden with 60 ratings

Brown sugar, vanilla with a nice sherry finish.
Another great one from Papas Pilar !

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by Les conn from United States with 6 ratings

I’ve tried all the Papa Pilar rums., I have to say I like them all. However, I hadn’t given the Sherry cask 24 year a fair test. I had thought it was my least favorite of the Pilar runs, but I discovered my mistake. I decided to drink this rum neat instead of with rocks. I discovered I had destroyed the great taste of this rum by diluting it with ice. Try it neat and enjoy the great flavors this rum delivers. There is a nice smooth “burn” that lingers. Really enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Little Frank from United States with 8 ratings

A surprise ... I expected too sweet, but was actually just right. Added a single ice cube to bring out the flavours (a good amount of vanilla). Very drinkable!