Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year rum

Rate Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

The standard Pilar is very sweet. This one is more balanced with nods to all of its brothers best attributes. Vanilla and almond. If you see it, buy it. You won’t be disappointed!

Posted about 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I expected this to be the best of the Papa's Pilar rums. But I just slightly prefer their Dark Rum. Interestingly, their dark rum bottle also says "Finished in Spanish Sherry Casks", so I'm not sure if there's much of a difference.

They're both very similar, but I'd say the Dark just tastes a little smoother to me. This smells and tastes of vanilla, maple, almond, cinnamon, and a touch of sherry. But since the dark seemed a tad smoother, I slightly prefer that one.

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Recommended by a friend, I couldn't wait to try it. Poured neat, it had a slightly sweet aroma with a hint of almond. The first sip is very smooth, with just a little warmth and the sweetness of the sherry coming through. It's not syrupy sweet. I liked the hint of sweetness. I added an ice cube, and it really brought out some of the flavors. More oak and spice, and just a little more of that almond-like sweetness. A good sipper, for sure.

Posted 12 days ago by Key West Rummy from United States with 3 ratings

The complexity of this addition to the Pilar portfolio is very nice. Maple on the nose with hints of vanilla. The flavor has offerings of dark chocolate and anise. The sweetness of the rum balances the higher proof offering a great mouth feel and smooth finish.

Posted about 1 month ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I love the 24 year old Papas Pilar dark and did not imagine a substantially better dark rum would emerge from this distillery. Happily, I was dead wrong. This is quite literally one of the 5 best rums It has ever been my privilege to experience. I am not prepared yet to rank it among that small 5 member subset but it could be #1. The sherry finish simply dilates and deepens all of the great flavor, balance and complexity of the original 24 year old. Impeccably smooth. Masterfully balances. Maintains the maple presence and sweeps down the pallet into deep sherry flavor. The finish is long and like velvet. I will stop now. You must try this outstanding rum. Bravo Hemingway clan! No stranger to the finer passionate things in life, Ernest would happily succumb to the haze of this spectacular distillation. As am I.

Posted 5 months ago by Mrum from United States with 11 ratings

I really like the Pilar line up. This one is solid.

Posted 7 months ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

Taste 7,9/10. This rum reminds me somehow Metaxa 5. Anyway Papas Pilar Sherry cask is fruity & a touch Sherry taste with a light brandy-port finish feeling but not disturbing much & really dry, it is sweet & a pretty light-soft touch acid-sour but doesnt burn much. Nice surprise but not my type of rum or taste.

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

I can't taste the sherry notes, but it is delicious none the less. Smooth, so sweet, and just a dessert in your mouth.

Posted 11 months ago by Jcb375 from United States with 9 ratings

Whether you believe the backstory on this spirit or not, this one is quite the surprise. A nice nose and sweet pallet. Finishes with a smooth oak and caramel with a hint of apricot. I would recommend this to anyone who prefers matured complex rums neat or on the rocks. Too good to use for a mixer.

Posted about 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

A 7.5 on my ratings. Tastes like a fine port wine and a wonderful ending to a nice dinner.

Posted about 1 year ago by Auriuman78 from United States with 15 ratings

This is a dark amber rum. It's very vanilla - ish but not overpowering. It also has a nice caramel and molasses flavor. Spicy.

Posted about 1 year ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 36 ratings

En suverän rom som slår många dyrare rom på fingrarna. Provades och köptes på Birkas romkryssning 2019.

Posted about 1 year ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Färgen på denna är något mörkare än de andra två. Mörkare med en röd ton. Doften på denna är också annorlunda än den första. Jag känner torkad frukt, något stickig men behaglig sherry, efter en stund i glaset känner jag även nötter. Smaken känner jag nötter, vanilj och fatig
relativt torr sherry. Ek. Bäst av de tre helt klart, denna får ett betyg mellan 7 och 8.

Posted about 1 year ago by Pinmann from United States with 14 ratings

Good taste with a nice vanilla finish. Good as a go to drinker for a straight rum drink.

Posted over 1 year ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

If you can get your hands on this, do so. The price point is incredibly good and the rum is superior. Papa's is one of my favorites and this specialty item is a cut above. The aging in Sherry casks creates more complexity and a wonderful nose.

Posted over 1 year ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I enjoy the mild vanilla flavors. Both the dark and the sherry cask finished are favorites of mine. Easy and extremely pleasant to sip straight up. Because it's a flavored rum, I can not rate it a 9 or 10, but it's good enough to be way up there. I reserve those ratings for straight up rums that are unflavored. Really, it's such a pleasant drink, it's a solid 8.

Posted over 1 year ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

Received this bottle as a tip from my client, I put this in the class of sweet sippers like Diplimatico, Plantation 20 or El Dorado 12. I tried it neat and with an ice cube and preferred it with ice, seemed more fruity and really opened up the sherry cask flavors.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

Had to wrangle the bottle to pour. Beautiful rich color.Very lovely on the nose. 86 proof. No burn. Flavor of burnt sugar, but not cloyingly sweet. Flavor lingers nicely.
Edit: not sure if I like the sherry baby.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I loved the Pillar Dark, still have not tried the blonde although it’s half the price of the darks. I may have picked this one up simply for the red cap on the bottle, was it with the extra 6 bucks ? ¡I say yes !
This one seems a bit smoother than the previous which d finitely has a strong bourbon barrel flavor. Still starts with a burn and finishes with a slight citrus sort of a brandy flavor. I might like this one better just because it doesn’t have so much of a corn liquor accent.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Nice aroma of sweet caramel, vanilla and almond. Very delicious sipper where all these flavors come out along with a little nuttiness.

Posted about 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I am a Papas buff, have removed several bottles existence from planet Earth. Picked up a bottle of the Sherry Cask in hopes of some new deliciousness........... and in a blind taste test between the original Papas, the Papas whiskey finish and the Sherry Finish $49.00 the previous two beat the daylights out of it. Not impressed still good but just not great.

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar 24 GPL: This version of the Pilar is a bit redder in colour and has a definite smell and taste of almonds or walnuts. The Sherry cask aroma and taste is in the background. The maple flavour detected in the original blend is toned down a bit and the oak and spice is kicked up a notch in this blend. I still prefer the original to this version, but this one is a close second. I rated the original a 9 and this one is an 8.5.

Posted over 2 years ago by Darrell from United States with 26 ratings

I really enjoyed the Papas Dark and thought I would give this a try. The Sherry cask is a very nice touch. I would say better but different. Will be adding this to my ongoing collection.