Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

United States | Aged | 40.0% ABV

8.2/10
42 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
25
9
4

Rate Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

The standard Pilar is very sweet. This one is more balanced with nods to all of its brothers best attributes. Vanilla and almond. If you see it, buy it. You won’t be disappointed!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Auriuman78 from United States with 15 ratings

This is a dark amber rum. It's very vanilla - ish but not overpowering. It also has a nice caramel and molasses flavor. Spicy.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 41 ratings

En suverän rom som slår många dyrare rom på fingrarna. Provades och köptes på Birkas romkryssning 2019.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Färgen på denna är något mörkare än de andra två. Mörkare med en röd ton. Doften på denna är också annorlunda än den första. Jag känner torkad frukt, något stickig men behaglig sherry, efter en stund i glaset känner jag även nötter. Smaken känner jag nötter, vanilj och fatig
relativt torr sherry. Ek. Bäst av de tre helt klart, denna får ett betyg mellan 7 och 8.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Pinmann from United States with 14 ratings

Good taste with a nice vanilla finish. Good as a go to drinker for a straight rum drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

If you can get your hands on this, do so. The price point is incredibly good and the rum is superior. Papa's is one of my favorites and this specialty item is a cut above. The aging in Sherry casks creates more complexity and a wonderful nose.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

I enjoy the mild vanilla flavors. Both the dark and the sherry cask finished are favorites of mine. Easy and extremely pleasant to sip straight up. Because it's a flavored rum, I can not rate it a 9 or 10, but it's good enough to be way up there. I reserve those ratings for straight up rums that are unflavored. Really, it's such a pleasant drink, it's a solid 8.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 39 ratings

Received this bottle as a tip from my client, I put this in the class of sweet sippers like Diplimatico, Plantation 20 or El Dorado 12. I tried it neat and with an ice cube and preferred it with ice, seemed more fruity and really opened up the sherry cask flavors.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joe from United States with 42 ratings

Had to wrangle the bottle to pour. Beautiful rich color.Very lovely on the nose. 86 proof. No burn. Flavor of burnt sugar, but not cloyingly sweet. Flavor lingers nicely.
Edit: not sure if I like the sherry baby.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Ramon from United States with 76 ratings

I loved the Pillar Dark, still have not tried the blonde although it’s half the price of the darks. I may have picked this one up simply for the red cap on the bottle, was it with the extra 6 bucks ? ¡I say yes !
This one seems a bit smoother than the previous which d finitely has a strong bourbon barrel flavor. Still starts with a burn and finishes with a slight citrus sort of a brandy flavor. I might like this one better just because it doesn’t have so much of a corn liquor accent.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Nice aroma of sweet caramel, vanilla and almond. Very delicious sipper where all these flavors come out along with a little nuttiness.