Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

United States | Aged | 40.0% ABV

8.1/10
47 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
27
10
4

Rate Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

47 Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

The standard Pilar is very sweet. This one is more balanced with nods to all of its brothers best attributes. Vanilla and almond. If you see it, buy it. You won’t be disappointed!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Little Frank from United States with 8 ratings

A surprise ... I expected too sweet, but was actually just right. Added a single ice cube to bring out the flavours (a good amount of vanilla). Very drinkable!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Greengator25 from United States with 14 ratings

I spent a few dollars more for the barrel select. This is another rum that I felt dirty for liking. I know it’s got added sugar and must be a mix of ages, but as someone who likes sherry; I tasted it upfront. It was sweet going down without a lot of bite. I want to compare it to their regular dark rum. So if you don’t mind breaking with tradition and like a sweeter rum or as a gift for a less discerning rum drinker- give it a go.

Small img 20201222 145124

Posted 7 months ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 190 ratings

Bon rhum., mais un peu brut de décoffrage. Je le trouve un peu abrasif. Toutefois, il a son intérêt et arbore une bouteille originale.
À essayer et le rapport qualité prix reste bon. C est pour moi la meilleure bouteille de la marque. Tbien pour leurs débuts même s il faudra gagner en finesse.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 8 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 321 ratings

Having enjoyed Marquesa blend last week I was expecting something quite special. Instead I found this blend to be similar to the original with a slight hint of the finishing cask. Not enough difference to mask the sweet caramel flavor of the 24 dark that I am not a fan of.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Eagle1986Panther1990 from United States with 5 ratings

Papas Pilar adds a hint of additional complexity with this sherry finished beauty. A Wonderful sipper. Their whole line is strong especially considering the price point and what it compares to and competes with across the board.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 55 ratings

Just got this bottle at Total Wine. Finished in Bourbon, Port, and Sherry Casks. It is the 24th Solera profile from 2017.
For a sweeter rum pleasing overall but also confused overall. The nose is brown sugar, maple, and a hint of sherry and even less of port. Vanilla on the backside dominates. It does have a slightly off putting bitter note that lingers. Could be the bourbon cask note, not sure. It is fine for sipping but it might be better with a cigar or with something else to complement it. It is the best Pilar I have tasted so far.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 58 ratings

I typically like sherry/wine cask finished rum, e.g., Foursquare Empery, The real McCoy Madeira cask etc. I chose this bottle over their standard offering on account of that, however this bottle is wrong in so many ways.

The nose is wonderful. Strong brown sugar, molasses and sherry notes, that lead you to believe this will make a great dessert sipper.

On the palate is where it falls apart. The initial impression is what I expected from the nose, but immediately following that, there is an insipid sour/bitterness that belies it’s aroma.

The finish is more of the sour/bitterness with a hint of fruit and a decent burn, especially for 43.5% ABV, but that fruit does nothing to help the overall impression of the bitterness. To be fair, it’s not bitter per se, but the hint of bitterness leaves me flat.

My first (and only) Impression is that this is a jumble of flavors that clash with each other instead of melding together to give the best possible impression.

Based on the sweetness and mouth feel, I’m guessing there’s some additives, but they aren’t offensive.

Recommendation: if you’re looking to try Pilar rum, maybe start with their other bottles first. Also, this is listed as a 24 year in the description, but the bottle clearly states on the back that the 24 is because this is their 24th recipe. FYI

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by AntonioPatriarca from United States with 7 ratings

I liked this one a lot. I even ended up putting it in the decanter in my globe bar.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by jlagleva from United States with 9 ratings

Best rum for me! Very strong pleasant aroma. Not overly sweet. Very smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Key West Rummy from United States with 9 ratings

The complexity of this addition to the Pilar portfolio is very nice. Maple on the nose with hints of vanilla. The flavor has offerings of dark chocolate and anise. The sweetness of the rum balances the higher proof offering a great mouth feel and smooth finish.