Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

United States | Aged | 40.0% ABV

8.2/10
42 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
25
9
4

Rate Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

The standard Pilar is very sweet. This one is more balanced with nods to all of its brothers best attributes. Vanilla and almond. If you see it, buy it. You won’t be disappointed!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 38 ratings

Nicely done! You get a hint of the sweetness on the nose, sweet taste but not as much of the Sherry in the flavor as I thought. Very smooth with a slight lingering taste, nothing on the back end. Definitely one I can do over and over

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Erik Marum from United States with 39 ratings

Very unique rum. Can definitely taste the sherry cast influence. Delicious dark, almost burnt caramel flavor profile with a hint of slight smokiness to it. Wonder vanilla finish lingers pretty long. Very smooth with a very slight bit of heat to it. I drink this one neat. Very lovely rum. Will definitely buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by KevinSartori from United States with 1 rating

Normally, I like to try a new rum by sipping it straight, and then trying it in a daiquiri and then a rum old fashioned. No doubt, this makes a fine daiquiri and a tasty old fashioned, but really shines straight up. Easily my favorite rum so far.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 60 ratings

Brown sugar, vanilla with a nice sherry finish.
Another great one from Papas Pilar !

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Les conn from United States with 8 ratings

I’ve tried all the Papa Pilar rums., I have to say I like them all. However, I hadn’t given the Sherry cask 24 year a fair test. I had thought it was my least favorite of the Pilar runs, but I discovered my mistake. I decided to drink this rum neat instead of with rocks. I discovered I had destroyed the great taste of this rum by diluting it with ice. Try it neat and enjoy the great flavors this rum delivers. There is a nice smooth “burn” that lingers. Really enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Little Frank from United States with 8 ratings

A surprise ... I expected too sweet, but was actually just right. Added a single ice cube to bring out the flavours (a good amount of vanilla). Very drinkable!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Greengator25 from United States with 15 ratings

I spent a few dollars more for the barrel select. This is another rum that I felt dirty for liking. I know it’s got added sugar and must be a mix of ages, but as someone who likes sherry; I tasted it upfront. It was sweet going down without a lot of bite. I want to compare it to their regular dark rum. So if you don’t mind breaking with tradition and like a sweeter rum or as a gift for a less discerning rum drinker- give it a go.

Small img 20201222 145124

Posted 5 months ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 188 ratings

Bon rhum., mais un peu brut de décoffrage. Je le trouve un peu abrasif. Toutefois, il a son intérêt et arbore une bouteille originale.
À essayer et le rapport qualité prix reste bon. C est pour moi la meilleure bouteille de la marque. Tbien pour leurs débuts même s il faudra gagner en finesse.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 315 ratings

Having enjoyed Marquesa blend last week I was expecting something quite special. Instead I found this blend to be similar to the original with a slight hint of the finishing cask. Not enough difference to mask the sweet caramel flavor of the 24 dark that I am not a fan of.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Eagle1986Panther1990 from United States with 5 ratings

Papas Pilar adds a hint of additional complexity with this sherry finished beauty. A Wonderful sipper. Their whole line is strong especially considering the price point and what it compares to and competes with across the board.