Posting your rating...
Neisson L'Espirit of Neisson 70 rum

Neisson L'Espirit of Neisson 70

Martinique | Light

8.4/10
25 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
9
10
3

Rate Neisson L'Espirit of Neisson 70

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

25 Neisson L'Espirit of Neisson 70 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Pirateforlife from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Bought it from the distillery when visiting Martinique about 5 years ago and the Lady from the distillery shop said drink it like Vodka. so put it in the freezer and then drinking. I must say that My face from the first drams was quite like a baby biting into a lemon.
It is very strong but tasteful and cold.
Don’t dink it straight unless you have Russian blood. I found it very nicely paired in rum cocktails.
I did leave the bottle at my mother when I came back to the UK, and guess what she used it to make cakes with it! couple months later that bottle won a gold medal at world spirits brussels and the price tripled... I am writing with tears in my eye!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

Visited the Neisson distillery while vacationing in Martinique. Self guided distillery tour ended with an open tasting bar. Neisson l'Esprit was priced at EUR 20 per bottle at the distillery. Very nice and sturdy bottle design with a great old school label. Traditional sweet Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with plenty of grass, some florals and a massive amount of citrus notes to the nose and palate. Surprisingly strong burn at the end. Very long finish. Rhum Agricole fan boys can easily add 2 points to my score.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

This is a decent rum, and reminds me a lot of the 50%abv Neisson Rhum Agricole Blanc, only much stronger at 70%abv.

I slightly prefer the Agricole Blanc, as I believe it has a little more cane flavor to it, though these are close.

The L'Espirit smells and tastes of a classic agricole rum, with sugarcane, pepper, and a light hint of lemon. Very strong at 70%, this is not a rum for beginners. If you like agricole rums, you'll probably enjoy this more than I do, as I tend to prefer the molasses rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Attention ce rhum affiche quand même 70 degrés alors personnellement je le bois après un petit tour au congélateur. Le nez est magnifique, beaucoup de fraîcheur et d'agrumes, on dirait un ti-punch déjà préparé. On a également un côté végétal et on devine la fibre de la canne fraîche.
En bouche c'est rond au départ grâce au refroidissement au congélateur et puis ça explose dans tous les sens, on sent le citron, le poivre, les fruits exotiques... On peut dire que c'est un rhum à sensations fortes, la bouche reste imprégnée pendant de longues minutes.
A déguster avec modération car personnellement ça me brûle quand même un peu l'estomac quand j'en abuse.

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by Vince11881 from United States with 26 ratings

I’m in love. This is a funky hot mess. Meaty. Moldy. Overripe bananas. Grassy. And strong as hell. This rum is so different it’s hard to rate on the same scale with other runs or Agricoles, and is in a class by itself.

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by bflorian from Romania with 7 ratings

My 3rd rhum agricole and probably my 30st rum. No extra sweetness, no extra oily feeling... you feel the field of sugar canes. Some grass and some black truffles. Not exactly to drink neat... add a splash of water or, better, lime and cane syrup.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Wo1fpacker from United States with 13 ratings

This crystal clear spirit pulls no punches in its full funk sugar cane olfactory assault upon first nosing. This is a promising characteristic, that gives way to the most sublimely nuanced Agricole I've tasted heretofore. I cannot recommend this enough.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Francois from France with 106 ratings

Very different than most white agricole, more citrus than sugar cane,

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Uhyrto from Czech Republic with 85 ratings

Nejlepší agricole co sem měl, samotný k popíjení úplně není (možná naředit vodou) má totiž 70%. Do drinků to nejlepší alespoň co se týče agricole určitě. Citrusová bomba kdy úplně cítíte ten Martinik.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 31 ratings

This rum is hot! Bottled nearly at the proof it comes from the still, thus the expression that it is "the spirit of Neisson."

It is difficult to get past the alcohol but once past, it is quite similar to the Neisson 52.5. But where the 52.5 is grassy, this is a bit more vegetal. Where the 52.5 has fruit sugar, this has more caramel. Excellent rum that I'm interested in playing with, as the 52.5 is one of my all time favorites. However, I will stick with the 52.5.