Posting your rating...
Neisson L'Espirit of Neisson 70 rum

Rate Neisson L'Espirit of Neisson 70

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


19 Neisson L'Espirit of Neisson 70 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Visited the Neisson distillery while vacationing in Martinique. Self guided distillery tour ended with an open tasting bar. Neisson l'Esprit was priced at EUR 20 per bottle at the distillery. Very nice and sturdy bottle design with a great old school label. Traditional sweet Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with plenty of grass, some florals and a massive amount of citrus notes to the nose and palate. Surprisingly strong burn at the end. Very long finish. Rhum Agricole fan boys can easily add 2 points to my score.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a decent rum, and reminds me a lot of the 50%abv Neisson Rhum Agricole Blanc, only much stronger at 70%abv.

I slightly prefer the Agricole Blanc, as I believe it has a little more cane flavor to it, though these are close.

The L'Espirit smells and tastes of a classic agricole rum, with sugarcane, pepper, and a light hint of lemon. Very strong at 70%, this is not a rum for beginners. If you like agricole rums, you'll probably enjoy this more than I do, as I tend to prefer the molasses rums.

Posted almost 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Attention ce rhum affiche quand même 70 degrés alors personnellement je le bois après un petit tour au congélateur. Le nez est magnifique, beaucoup de fraîcheur et d'agrumes, on dirait un ti-punch déjà préparé. On a également un côté végétal et on devine la fibre de la canne fraîche.
En bouche c'est rond au départ grâce au refroidissement au congélateur et puis ça explose dans tous les sens, on sent le citron, le poivre, les fruits exotiques... On peut dire que c'est un rhum à sensations fortes, la bouche reste imprégnée pendant de longues minutes.
A déguster avec modération car personnellement ça me brûle quand même un peu l'estomac quand j'en abuse.

Posted 5 months ago by zaks from France with 38 ratings

Malgré ses 70°, il est très agréable en bouche, et moins fort que certains alcool moins titrés. Sec et glacé ou en ti'punch, il est l'un des meilleurs rhums agricoles que je connaisse

Posted 10 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

This is the pinnacle of agricole rhum. Aggressive, grassy, fresh, yet not as harsh as many 80 proof rums. Perfect balance

Posted 10 months ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Im Glas klar wie ein Kristall.
In der Nase schon ziemlich heftig, die 70% treiben Einem fast die Tränen in die Augen. Dahinter eröffnet sich eine Welt voller Düfte, Zuckerrohr, frisch geschnittenem Gras, frisch gepflückten Blumen, Sonne und Lebensfreude.
Im Gaumen, hatte ich noch nie so einen "milden" high proof. Geschmeidig und elegant werden die Geschmacksknospen mit frischen Aromen verwöhnt. Gras, Kräuter, Zuckerrohr, frische Früchte, Zitronen Zeste, Gewürze und eine Priese Meeresluft. Vorsicht, habe einen Tropfen verschüttet und der Linoleum auf meinem Tisch hat sich aufgelöst.
Im Abgang sehr lang und würzig, Früchte und Kräuter kleben lange auf der Zunge.
Ein Muss für jeden Liebhaber solcher Meisterwerke. Perfekter Rhum für 'Ti Punch !

Clear in the glass like a crystal.
In the nose already quite violently, the 70% drive one nearly the tears into the eyes. Behind it opens a world full of fragrances, sugar cane, freshly cut grass, freshly picked flowers, sun and joie de vivre.
On the palate, I've never had such a "mild" high proof. Smooth and elegant, the taste buds are pampered with fresh aromas. Grass, herbs, sugar cane, fresh fruit, lemon zest, spices and a pinch of sea air. Careful, I spilled a drop and the linoleum on my table has dissolved.
In the finish very long and spicy, fruits and herbs stick long on the tongue.
A must for every lover of such masterpieces. Perfect Rhum for 'Ti Punch !

Posted over 1 year ago by Pirateforlife from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Bought it from the distillery when visiting Martinique about 5 years ago and the Lady from the distillery shop said drink it like Vodka. so put it in the freezer and then drinking. I must say that My face from the first drams was quite like a baby biting into a lemon.
It is very strong but tasteful and cold.
Don’t dink it straight unless you have Russian blood. I found it very nicely paired in rum cocktails.
I did leave the bottle at my mother when I came back to the UK, and guess what she used it to make cakes with it! couple months later that bottle won a gold medal at world spirits brussels and the price tripled... I am writing with tears in my eye!

Posted over 1 year ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

Un nez peut-être un peu discret par rapport au reste de la gamme de blanc chez neisson, mais qui nous promet de la canne fraiche.
Comme toujours avec les blancs de Neisson, le nez et la bouche sont envahie par des notes d’agrumes, florales et végétale.
C’est gras en bouche et ça dessèche toute la gencive mais l’alcool est plutôt bien intégré.
Un très bon rhum mais qui, à mon avis, perd le combat face au blanc bio et au blanc en conversion bio qui sont des vrais nectars.

Posted over 1 year ago by Fab from France with 2 ratings

Un must dans une collection, ce qui ce fait de mieux actuellement

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marco Forlani from Italy with 20 ratings

Among all the great rhum of Martinique, Neisson provides probably the best white ones. If you like white agricole rhum this is a must to taste. The high level of alcohol is great when you drink it plain, tasting it by the drop: it expands its flavours in your mouth unveiling and enhancing the surprising complexity of taste typical of Neisson. Very good plain, fantastic for preparing a Planteur.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cuisine from France with 20 ratings

Quel travail autour de la qualité dans cette entreprise !
On est surpris par la colonne Savalle, le coeur de la distillerie et d'où sort l'esprit avec les 70 degrés.
Au nez : la canne et le citron mais la canne, la canne.
En bouche, on sent la puissance puis la douceur. Les agrumes et le poivre.
Mais un vrai plaisir.
Certainement, un des meilleurs rhums blancs.

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles Antoine from Belgium with 10 ratings

Hardcore 70% rhum but excellent in ti punch if you can get past the burn.

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

70% ABV. Wow, this one comes out swinging! Big nose of grass and creamed corn; some glue. Yes, rather hot, but no trace of any off-putting alcohol notes. Warm in the mouth. Complex, briny (not too much), caney. This juice is a show of masterful distillation. I really enjoyed it.

I don't know how they did it, but they made a perfectly drinkable, 140-proof, unaged rum. I finished my sample without adding any water; I just felt like it should remain "pure." But if I ever get a bottle of this for myself, I will definitely be experimenting with different levels of dilution, as well as with a slice of lime and drop of sugar ;).

8+, 9-

Posted about 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

no esta mal pero un poco elevedado su precio para ser un blanco agricola

Posted over 3 years ago by Ced.delecourt from France with 5 ratings

Petite decouverte avant de quitter la Martinique... Excellent malgré son haut degré d alcool

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Bang ! Straight from the column without any reduction, this rum explode in mouth. Fresh cane, fruit (lemon), powerful but not aggressive with a long finish. If your head is hanging on your body , it is a pure pleasure.
Can't wait the next pit stop ;-)

Posted about 4 years ago by Denis Mazzucato from Italy with 16 ratings

Con i suoi 70 gradi bisogna andarci piano, ma a patto di degustarlo con la calma che merita è un signor rum! Con agrumi, zenzero e finale dolce e lungo.

Per uomini duri! ;)

Posted almost 5 years ago by ghibz from France with 9 ratings

Awesome rum ! Great taste of fresh cane lemon and flower and a big explosion in your mouth when you drink it
Great rum for aficiados not rookies :)

Posted about 5 years ago by fifonlaideur from France with 25 ratings

A consommer avec modération car on sent les 70°, mais excellent rhum blanc, avec beaucoup de fraîcheur et de notes d'agrumes.