Posting your rating...
Clairin Vaval rum

Clairin Vaval

Haiti | Light

6.6/10 (17 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
1
7
1
4

Rate Clairin Vaval

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Clairin Vaval ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by oedelpino from United States with 17 ratings

This is incredibly aggressive on the nose the minute the cork comes out. Olives, brine, rotting fruit - just a faceful. Then the palate (I'll admit to sampling this in a Ti' Punch format to soften the intensity a bit) is herbal, briny, olives again, some rubber tire in there. Rounded out with some dilution. Definitely not for the faint of heart, but a rum experience unlike any other...

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 41 ratings

This has turned my world upside down. I love it but it’s like no rum I’ve had before. It’s more like something agave. Cheesey, what the hell?!

I keep going back for more but if I was tasting blind I wouldn’t even guess rhum. I’ve never had a white rum I’ve wanted to sip before.

Its appealing to my brain but not my mouth and I’ve never thought of rum as cerebral. It’s kind of delicious. I have no idea how to rate this. I could justify anywhere between 3 and 9. It’s something else completely. It’s amazing.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 73 ratings

A beautiful balance of vegetal and spice. My second favorite in this line.

Notes of ripe banana, guayaba, and grass.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

I really like every Clairin but the backstory of this is why I prefer this as one of my favorites. Pure, spirit driven, round and tastefull, it is what I search in a agricole...

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 44 ratings

Terrible... Just terrible ! Grassy notes with lots of alcohol....

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by ElPato from Norway with 27 ratings

Clairins are the funky, voodoo-infused cousins of agricoles but Vaval is the young and most reckless one.
Nose reveals a yeast strain reminiscent of lambic beers, restrained rubber and cottonsedge.
Palate with aniseed and citrus, esters and grass notes. Aftertaste is a bit brief after a hefty main act.

This was my first clairin, but compared to Sajous and Casimir it is a bit more clumsy. Great entry level clairin, though.

Ffffff

Posted at Hidden Harbor 9 months ago by beeporama (PREMIUM) from United States with 23 ratings

It is damn amazing that I can sit in a Pittsburgh tiki bar and enjoy several rhums made with "spontaneous" fermentation in a "homemade unique pot still" on a farm halfway around the world. The unique methods produce a unique spirit that's kind of hard to rate. Clairin might not be to everyone's taste, but I'd urge every rum nerd to at least try a glass if they have the opportunity. (The reasonable price point should help.)

In a single sitting, I tried three Clairin brought to us by Velier. Like the others (Clairin Le Rocher and Clairin Sajous) it's a mix of Jamaican and Martinique/agricole styles. This one is HEAVY esthers on the nose, all kinds of spoiled banana and tropical fruit, a heavy smell that carries and makes me want to sit an open glass in my room like an air freshener. When tasting it, though, I get gentle flavors of grass and hay.

After drinking some straight, I found it phenomenal as a very simple ti' punch; just a little lime peel and a few drops of cane syrup complimented this one perfectly.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Smells/tastes like a blend of grassy Rhum Agricole and a medium ester Jamaican...but still something very unique that can only be described as CLAIRIN!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Primitive means great! Small pot still, a rum full of esters and congeners. WOW.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

Salinity, aggressive flavors, but not too intense or harsh. Tastes somewhat like excellent baiju mixed with Agricole