Posting your rating...
Clairin Vaval rum

Clairin Vaval

Haiti | Light

6.5/10 (16 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
1
6
2
3

Rate Clairin Vaval

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Clairin Vaval ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 37 ratings

This has turned my world upside down. I love it but it’s like no rum I’ve had before. It’s more like something agave. Cheesey, what the hell?!

I keep going back for more but if I was tasting blind I wouldn’t even guess rhum. I’ve never had a white rum I’ve wanted to sip before.

Its appealing to my brain but not my mouth and I’ve never thought of rum not As cerebral. It’s kind of delicious. I have no idea how to rate this. I could justify anywhere between 3 and 9. It’s something else completely. It’s amazing.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 65 ratings

A beautiful balance of vegetal and spice. My second favorite in this line.

Notes of ripe banana, guayaba, and grass.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

I really like every Clairin but the backstory of this is why I prefer this as one of my favorites. Pure, spirit driven, round and tastefull, it is what I search in a agricole...

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 42 ratings

Terrible... Just terrible ! Grassy notes with lots of alcohol....

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by ElPato from Norway with 26 ratings

Clairins are the funky, voodoo-infused cousins of agricoles but Vaval is the young and most reckless one.
Nose reveals a yeast strain reminiscent of lambic beers, restrained rubber and cottonsedge.
Palate with aniseed and citrus, esters and grass notes. Aftertaste is a bit brief after a hefty main act.

This was my first clairin, but compared to Sajous and Casimir it is a bit more clumsy. Great entry level clairin, though.

Ffffff

Posted at Hidden Harbor 7 months ago by beeporama (PREMIUM) from United States with 23 ratings

It is damn amazing that I can sit in a Pittsburgh tiki bar and enjoy several rhums made with "spontaneous" fermentation in a "homemade unique pot still" on a farm halfway around the world. The unique methods produce a unique spirit that's kind of hard to rate. Clairin might not be to everyone's taste, but I'd urge every rum nerd to at least try a glass if they have the opportunity. (The reasonable price point should help.)

In a single sitting, I tried three Clairin brought to us by Velier. Like the others (Clairin Le Rocher and Clairin Sajous) it's a mix of Jamaican and Martinique/agricole styles. This one is HEAVY esthers on the nose, all kinds of spoiled banana and tropical fruit, a heavy smell that carries and makes me want to sit an open glass in my room like an air freshener. When tasting it, though, I get gentle flavors of grass and hay.

After drinking some straight, I found it phenomenal as a very simple ti' punch; just a little lime peel and a few drops of cane syrup complimented this one perfectly.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Smells/tastes like a blend of grassy Rhum Agricole and a medium ester Jamaican...but still something very unique that can only be described as CLAIRIN!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Primitive means great! Small pot still, a rum full of esters and congeners. WOW.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 91 ratings

Salinity, aggressive flavors, but not too intense or harsh. Tastes somewhat like excellent baiju mixed with Agricole

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

White rum is not my thing. Only good for cocktails. Wrong. This one is worth sipping straight. Tropical fruit, bit like 'grappa', eau de vie, licquorish, still not 'my' thing, but I'm sure there are fans out there. Worth a try.