Posting your rating...
Gunroom Spirit Navy rum

Gunroom Spirit Navy

United Kingdom | Overproof

7.4/10
14 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
3
3

Rate Gunroom Spirit Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Gunroom Spirit Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

The rum comes in a pleasantly looking, compact bottle (though not the squat type emphasizing stability on s ship shelf during a storm like other brands aim for). The cork is sealed with a red wax, which adds to the old-school vibe of the bottle, and probably helps during extended storage of unopened bottles, however it makes quite a mess when actually opening the bottle. I recommend careful cleaning all the wax fragments from fissure between the neck of the bottle and the handle of the cork before pulling the cork out so that no wax fragments fall back into the bottle and contaminate your rum.

In the glass, the rum has an pleasant, intense yellow color with some orange overtones, which might be even the rum's natural color considering the relative youth of the rums in the blend, the consistency is thicker, somewhat oily.

The smell is intense, pungent, piercing, with notes of red berries, roasted venison, dried tomatoes, tomato paste.

Neat, the rum opens with just a slightest hint of sweetness before the high ABV quickly numbs your taste buds and besides the slight tingling of anesthetized mouth, you won't actually taste much of anything besides some neutral astringency. In my opinion, 65% ABV is just too much to enjoy the taste of any beverage (unless you actually want to put your taste buds to sleep and get drunk ASAP, but in this case, that's a waste of pretty good alcohol). Even neat, there are no off-flavors associated with improperly distillation, for which this rum deserves a commendation.

After adding some water, the space for flavor interplay widens up and a development from initial sweet burst of dry prunes or dark, dried apricots is eventually caught up by the alcoholic wave of astringency into a somewhat long, intense finish dominated by bitter flavors (cocoa beans, tobacco, heavily roasted coffee).

The rum is definitely much less complex that for example the Velier's Old Royal Navy Rum, much less sweet and without the sulfuric notes of Pusser's, or without the comforting, reassuring deep demerara sweetness of Wood's Navy rum. It's bold, original, uncompromising, and I can see how it can grow on you, if you can accept the waves of bitterness from mid to finish. I can also understand how it can be problematic for consumers conditioned by the sweetened, "premiumized" mainstream rums like Diplomatico or Zacapa.

I wanted to give this rum 9, but subjectively, I rather struggle with the bitterness, and I think it's somewhat hypocritical to give the highest marks if you are personally not that fond of the resulting flavor profiles. So 8 it is, in the end. I am definitely happy that there are producers interested in making this style of rum still. Still, there is no substitute for Caroni anywhere yet. None whatsoever.

Shame.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 38 ratings

Nose: overripe banana and a hint of white chocolate or creme and dried apricot. Also smell of medical bandages, if you take a nose with a full mouth of rum, crazy :D
Body: Very powerful, however, not too strong for 65 Vol. %. Bitter herbs and some banana again. Also roasted brazil nuts. Unfortunately it also tastes slightly rotten for me, but not too worse at this point.
Finish: oak and black cacao beans, the roasty-toasty aroma stays some time.

Okay, I gave 8/10 points, nevertheless, I would not drink this rum the whole evening ... one glass is enough ...

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 411 ratings

Helles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase ein breite Palette an Düften, fruchtig leicht und herb schwer zugleich.
Im Gaumen da geht's ab, die 65% hauen voll rein, der wuchtige Körper eines Demerara Rum verstärkt mit der Tiefe von Trinidad. Die Leichtigkeit und Fruchtigkeit von Barbados werden vom Jamaikanischem Funk begleitet. Wow, was für ein Erlebnis.
Im Abgang sehr lang und "feurig".
Ein wirklich gut gemachter Navy Rum so richtig rustikal und heavy. Bringt Fans von Overproof Rums zum strahlen und Einsteiger zum staunen.

Bright amber in the glass.
In the nose a wide range of fragrances, fruity light and tart heavy at the same time.
On the palate there it goes off, the 65% full hit, the massive body of a Demerara rum reinforced with the depth of Trinidad. The lightness and fruitiness of Barbados are accompanied by Jamaican funk. Wow, what an experience.
On the finish very long and "fiery".
A really well made Navy Rum really rustic and heavy. Make fans of Overproof Rums smile and newcomers amazed.

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 12 days ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 151 ratings

Velice pitelny jemný rum, který jsme měli v průběhu degustace.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 330 ratings

This one should be a mix ofJamaica and Barbados.

The nose is spicy and is dominated by Worthy Park. I get all kinds of bananas (dry banana chips), honey, grasy notes, young oak. It reminds me of the 4y WP from The Rum Cask.
It's not a complex nose, but very fruity and fresh. I like it.

The taste starts with all kind of bananas. It's a young rum and it turns immediately spicy. Alcohol is tingeling on my thongue. Then I get some honey and grasy notes. There are also some bitter notes.
In the middle is more honey and bananas, some tannins and the taste is still spicy.
The finish starts also spicy with the same aromas we had before.
I don't get any Barbados flavors. This rum is dominated bei WP. It's fresh and spicy, I think it's not more than 5y old.

I would rate it with 76 points.

Initial taste: bananas, spice, honey, grasy notes, some bitter notes
Middle: honey, bananas, grasy notes, spice, some tannins
Finish: spice, banana, honey
Aftertaste: bananas, umami note or a malty note, young wood

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 3.5/5
Spice: 4/5
Mildness: 2/5
Complexity: 2.5/5
Value (30€): 3.5/5

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 5 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

taste - 7.5/10
smell - 8/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 6.5/10

Small img 20150125 wa0004

Posted 1 year ago by django from Germany with 12 ratings

....was man doch manchmal so ganz nebenbei beim einkaufen findet.

Der Rum selber hat eine Nase wie man ihn von Früher kennt, wenn es in der kalten Jahreszeit einen steifen Grog gab, ganz nach den Voraussetzungen --> Rum muß, Zucker darf und Wasser kann (alles verderben) Rum mut, Zucker kann, Water bruuk nich Rum must, sugar may and water can (spoil everything) Rum mut, sugar may, Water bruuk not

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Raue Seele und absolut vielfältig im Geschmack. (Von rauchig über fruchtig bis süss)
So stellt man sich einen Navy Rum vor.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 439 ratings

Aroma - banana, caramel iodine
Taste is strong and powerfull, but not too much burning (smooth for 65%)
Aftertaste is long with bitter end.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

Time for Birka’s rumcruise 2019 at the Baltic Sea were I tasted this. The person representing it told me it’s a blend of rum from Trinidad, Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados and that the make the blending in Sweden.
I can recognise fruit and chocolate, but what makes it so special is the strength.
I didn’t buy it but my son did.