Posting your rating...
Companero Panama rum

Companero Panama

Caribbean | Aged

7.7/10 (57 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
10
14
18
6
7

Rate Companero Panama

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


57 Companero Panama ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

This strong cocoa aroma comes from the toasted cask?
I could imagine that it is artificial. But I don't know.
It could be a much better rum, it needs more balance between the aromas.
Cocoa is a very strong flavour. Combined with sweetness it kills all other aromas and creates a disbalance. Additionaly the 54% alcohol intensivies this disbalance. Because of this disbalance I rate it a 6.

Smell: Cocoa, cocoa, cocoa, cinemon, some spices (like pepper, unfortunately overlaid by cocoa)
Taste: Chocolate/cocoa, liquorice, cinemon, sweetness with bitterness (dark chocolate), spices (cardamom)

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 1/5
Mildness: 3/5

Style: Column
Alcohol: 54%
AGE: 12 years
Produced by: 1423

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

Many thanks to Joola69 for sharing this with me as part of a rare rum exchange (you can't get this in the US).

This is very chocolatey, much like the Deadhead Chocolate, and the Selvarey Cacao. But I found those too weak, as I noted in both of my reviews of those. This is at a great abv of 54%, and I REALLY like it that way!

Smells and tastes of chocolate. Not too much else going on, but it's good!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2654 ratings

Amazing, simply amazing rum. Thank You so much the geniuses from Vinoble at Skanderborg for recommending such an amazing rum. Very nice and sturdy box surrounding a great looking bottle and nice label. Yellow golden color. Stunning chocolate flavors to both nose and palate. No burn at all. Jumps directly to my Top 5 rum list from well over 800 rums later.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 15
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 95

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

54%? To bude nejspíš něco suchého a ostrého, říkal jsem si. Nemohl jsem však být dál od pravdy! Už po otevření překvapí velmi intenzivní, spíše mléčná, čokoláda. A tím myslím, hodně čokolády - jako by jsem přičichl k právě natočené porci horké čokolády. Chuť to hned ze začátku potvrzuje, čokoládou je tento rum přímo prostoupen - ačkoli barva tomu rozhodně nenasvědčuje. Samozřejmě nezapře svou sílu, hned po začátku se rozleje příjemné teplo. Ašak není ostrý, neškrábe. Je relativně jemný, i když troše štípnutí se při takové síle asi vyhnout nelze. Avšak není není nepříjemné, spíše dotváří celkový dojem a brzy zmizí. Zůstává zahřáté nitro a výrazná čokoládová dochuť, která trvá poměrně dlouho. MŇAM! :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 1 year ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

I have just discovered my official new favourite rum, as soon as you break the seal the smell of dark chocolate radiates around your nose and the taste does not disappoint, sweet with a kick, lovely

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 189 ratings

Chokolade, og så behøver man faktisk ikke skrive mere. Der er knald på mørk chokolade i duft og smag. En anderledes rom, men den store fokus på chokolade gør den virkelig interessant. Det er helt klart den bedste rom fra Compañero, og hvis jeg kunne finde den i handel, skulle den have en plads i mit skab, fordi den ikke ligner de andre typer rom, jeg har. 23. December i romkalenderen 2017.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 362 ratings

Helles honiggelbes Bernstein mit Goldreflexen im Glas.
Im der Nase, tropische Früchte, Orangen, Bananen und Eichenholz die mit einer dicken Schicht Kakaopulver bestreut sind. Etwa so wie du an einer Dose Nesquik schnüffelst.
Im Gaumen werden deine Geschmacksknospen für einen ganz kurzen Augenblick mit den 54% Vol. geschockt, sind danach jedoch hellwach. Gebranntes Karamell, Zitrusfrüchte und Kakao, Kakao, Kakao...
Im Abgang ein wenig Zitrusfrüchte und noch mehr Kakao der lange anhält.
Ein Rum der seine Schokoladenseite zeigt, für Einsteiger und Geniesser.

Bright honey yellow amber with gold reflections in the glass.
In the nose, tropical fruits, oranges, bananas and oak wood sprinkled with a thick layer of cocoa powder. Just like you sniffing a box of Milo.
On the palate, your taste buds are shocked for a very short moment with the 54% Abv., but they are wide awake afterwards. Burnt caramel, citrus and cocoa, cocoa, cocoa ...
In the finish a little citrus and more cocoa, long-lasting.
A rum that shows its chocolate side, for beginners and connoisseurs.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 20 ratings

This rum is quite an offering. The notes of cocoa are not missed in this lighter Spanish style rum. I will keep a bottle if this in my collection.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 322 ratings

Light color, heavy chocolate aroma.
Taste is also full of chocolate, cocoa and pralines. Higher level of alcohol is helping and adding nice warm touch and longer finish. Best from the Companero line and perfect value for the price (35Eur in Czech Republic) +1point if you are chocolate lovers

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Nečekal bych, že po 100+ recenzích najdu něco, co by vybočovalo z této dlouhé řady tak výrazně. Už otevření
láhve je zážitek. Kakaovo-čokoládová vůně. Stejně tak chuť. Vyšší alkohol 54% zde dělá přesně tu práci kterou má. Je znát, ale neštípe, neškrábe. Skutečně 10b.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Don from Canada with 142 ratings

Amber colour with a strong chocolate nose. Light sweetness, cocoa and a bit of orange zest on the palate. A bit spicey and surprisingly smooth for the higher abv. Long dark chocolate finish. $67 at LCBO