Posting your rating...
Companero Panama rum
Companero Panama rum

Companero Panama

Caribbean | Aged

7.6/10 (45 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
13
13
5
5

Rate Companero Panama

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 Companero Panama ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 417 ratings

Well-aged rum from Panama, independently bottled by Danish bottler 1423 for its Compañero range. Ought to be great for sipping as a postprandial tipple...Tobacco, milk chocolate, orange peel, a touch of earthy tomato stem.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2585 ratings

Amazing, simply amazing rum. Thank You so much the geniuses from Vinoble at Skanderborg for recommending such an amazing rum. Very nice and sturdy box surrounding a great looking bottle and nice label. Yellow golden color. Stunning chocolate flavors to both nose and palate. No burn at all. Jumps directly to my Top 5 rum list from well over 800 rums later.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 15
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 95

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 435 ratings

Many thanks to Joola69 for sharing this with me as part of a rare rum exchange (you can't get this in the US).

This is very chocolatey, much like the Deadhead Chocolate, and the Selvarey Cacao. But I found those too weak, as I noted in both of my reviews of those. This is at a great abv of 54%, and I REALLY like it that way!

Smells and tastes of chocolate. Not too much else going on, but it's good!

45761c5b3f7b1e2d55c69c63439fb7d8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

54%? To bude nejspíš něco suchého a ostrého, říkal jsem si. Nemohl jsem však být dál od pravdy! Už po otevření překvapí velmi intenzivní, spíše mléčná, čokoláda. A tím myslím, hodně čokolády - jako by jsem přičichl k právě natočené porci horké čokolády. Chuť to hned ze začátku potvrzuje, čokoládou je tento rum přímo prostoupen - ačkoli barva tomu rozhodně nenasvědčuje. Samozřejmě nezapře svou sílu, hned po začátku se rozleje příjemné teplo. Ašak není ostrý, neškrábe. Je relativně jemný, i když troše štípnutí se při takové síle asi vyhnout nelze. Avšak není není nepříjemné, spíše dotváří celkový dojem a brzy zmizí. Zůstává zahřáté nitro a výrazná čokoládová dochuť, která trvá poměrně dlouho. MŇAM! :)

5da13b5bf03e6413a14a00b1027be4d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

I have just discovered my official new favourite rum, as soon as you break the seal the smell of dark chocolate radiates around your nose and the taste does not disappoint, sweet with a kick, lovely

D7a8ec89f008b9baabeeef9a2ce85f34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Chokolade, og så behøver man faktisk ikke skrive mere. Der er knald på mørk chokolade i duft og smag. En anderledes rom, men den store fokus på chokolade gør den virkelig interessant. Det er helt klart den bedste rom fra Compañero, og hvis jeg kunne finde den i handel, skulle den have en plads i mit skab, fordi den ikke ligner de andre typer rom, jeg har. 23. December i romkalenderen 2017.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Helles honiggelbes Bernstein mit Goldreflexen im Glas.
Im der Nase, tropische Früchte, Orangen, Bananen und Eichenholz die mit einer dicken Schicht Kakaopulver bestreut sind. Etwa so wie du an einer Dose Nesquik schnüffelst.
Im Gaumen werden deine Geschmacksknospen für einen ganz kurzen Augenblick mit den 54% Vol. geschockt, sind danach jedoch hellwach. Gebranntes Karamell, Zitrusfrüchte und Kakao, Kakao, Kakao...
Im Abgang ein wenig Zitrusfrüchte und noch mehr Kakao der lange anhält.
Ein Rum der seine Schokoladenseite zeigt, für Einsteiger und Geniesser.

Bright honey yellow amber with gold reflections in the glass.
In the nose, tropical fruits, oranges, bananas and oak wood sprinkled with a thick layer of cocoa powder. Just like you sniffing a box of Milo.
On the palate, your taste buds are shocked for a very short moment with the 54% Abv., but they are wide awake afterwards. Burnt caramel, citrus and cocoa, cocoa, cocoa ...
In the finish a little citrus and more cocoa, long-lasting.
A rum that shows its chocolate side, for beginners and connoisseurs.

4697beef489e15a52d4dee48d857b753.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 59 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I have tried all(?) 3 of the rums from Companero and after the two prior to this failed in almost all categories, this one surprised me greatly. And in a good way.

Nose: Chocolate, orange peel and oak
Taste: Very heavy dose of chocolate with hints of orange, tobacco and raw cocoa
Overall: This is a chocolate-heavy rum, no doubt about it. It also has it limits in complexity, but with the 54 abv it delivers something, that the other two in the series doesn´t.

8e1fdbded584b3802f1bac8c41e48a97.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Reino Tilkki from Estonia with 10 ratings

Epic, tasty, spicy, amazing, juicy, flavorful and most importantly very well priced. Definitely a strong 10.

D86363f0b93d026c2488061b0d6747ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Casper Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

If you enjoy a sweet rum with a nice touch of alcohol burn, this is the right choice. A nice scent and taste of chocolate. Great rum!