Posting your rating...
Companero Panama rum

Rate Companero Panama

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 Companero Panama ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Amazing, simply amazing rum. Thank You so much the geniuses from Vinoble at Skanderborg for recommending such an amazing rum. Very nice and sturdy box surrounding a great looking bottle and nice label. Yellow golden color. Stunning chocolate flavors to both nose and palate. No burn at all. Jumps directly to my Top 5 rum list from well over 800 rums later.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 15
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 95

Posted about 1 month ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Many thanks to Joola69 for sharing this with me as part of a rare rum exchange (you can't get this in the US).

This is very chocolatey, much like the Deadhead Chocolate, and the Selvarey Cacao. But I found those too weak, as I noted in both of my reviews of those. This is at a great abv of 54%, and I REALLY like it that way!

Smells and tastes of chocolate. Not too much else going on, but it's good!

Posted 7 months ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

I have just discovered my official new favourite rum, as soon as you break the seal the smell of dark chocolate radiates around your nose and the taste does not disappoint, sweet with a kick, lovely

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 183 ratings

Chokolade, og så behøver man faktisk ikke skrive mere. Der er knald på mørk chokolade i duft og smag. En anderledes rom, men den store fokus på chokolade gør den virkelig interessant. Det er helt klart den bedste rom fra Compañero, og hvis jeg kunne finde den i handel, skulle den have en plads i mit skab, fordi den ikke ligner de andre typer rom, jeg har. 23. December i romkalenderen 2017.

Posted over 2 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

54%? To bude nejspíš něco suchého a ostrého, říkal jsem si. Nemohl jsem však být dál od pravdy! Už po otevření překvapí velmi intenzivní, spíše mléčná, čokoláda. A tím myslím, hodně čokolády - jako by jsem přičichl k právě natočené porci horké čokolády. Chuť to hned ze začátku potvrzuje, čokoládou je tento rum přímo prostoupen - ačkoli barva tomu rozhodně nenasvědčuje. Samozřejmě nezapře svou sílu, hned po začátku se rozleje příjemné teplo. Ašak není ostrý, neškrábe. Je relativně jemný, i když troše štípnutí se při takové síle asi vyhnout nelze. Avšak není není nepříjemné, spíše dotváří celkový dojem a brzy zmizí. Zůstává zahřáté nitro a výrazná čokoládová dochuť, která trvá poměrně dlouho. MŇAM! :)

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Helles honiggelbes Bernstein mit Goldreflexen im Glas.
Im der Nase, tropische Früchte, Orangen, Bananen und Eichenholz die mit einer dicken Schicht Kakaopulver bestreut sind. Etwa so wie du an einer Dose Nesquik schnüffelst.
Im Gaumen werden deine Geschmacksknospen für einen ganz kurzen Augenblick mit den 54% Vol. geschockt, sind danach jedoch hellwach. Gebranntes Karamell, Zitrusfrüchte und Kakao, Kakao, Kakao...
Im Abgang ein wenig Zitrusfrüchte und noch mehr Kakao der lange anhält.
Ein Rum der seine Schokoladenseite zeigt, für Einsteiger und Geniesser.

Bright honey yellow amber with gold reflections in the glass.
In the nose, tropical fruits, oranges, bananas and oak wood sprinkled with a thick layer of cocoa powder. Just like you sniffing a box of Milo.
On the palate, your taste buds are shocked for a very short moment with the 54% Abv., but they are wide awake afterwards. Burnt caramel, citrus and cocoa, cocoa, cocoa ...
In the finish a little citrus and more cocoa, long-lasting.
A rum that shows its chocolate side, for beginners and connoisseurs.

Posted 5 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 52 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Posted 7 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

I have tried all(?) 3 of the rums from Companero and after the two prior to this failed in almost all categories, this one surprised me greatly. And in a good way.

Nose: Chocolate, orange peel and oak
Taste: Very heavy dose of chocolate with hints of orange, tobacco and raw cocoa
Overall: This is a chocolate-heavy rum, no doubt about it. It also has it limits in complexity, but with the 54 abv it delivers something, that the other two in the series doesn´t.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reino Tilkki from Estonia with 10 ratings

Epic, tasty, spicy, amazing, juicy, flavorful and most importantly very well priced. Definitely a strong 10.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Casper Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

If you enjoy a sweet rum with a nice touch of alcohol burn, this is the right choice. A nice scent and taste of chocolate. Great rum!

Posted 11 days ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 43 ratings

Good desert rhum, taste of chocolate but not too sweet

Posted 21 days ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Couldn't believe the light amber colour considering it comes in a black bottle, at 54% alcohol and smells of dark chocolate. Amazing stuff but so very unusual. I'm completely confused how to mark it. Swaying to a 9 but it's so un-rum I can't! Anyway, whatever the hell this is it's strong and very tasty.

Posted 22 days ago by GML from Switzerland with 2 ratings

In the nose you get a very dark, very nutty flavour, scents of Hazelnuts for example.
This also continues in the mouth, paired one or two other tastes that disappear quickly.

To me the whole rum is like a dark premium Nutella. And not really more. It is not bad, but i think you really must love this taste to love this one. Plus side is, that the 54% are barely noticable. But in the end it misses a broader taste profile, a broader character. 1423 has far better Panama Rums in their S.B.S collection.

Used it in Chili con Carne once, came pretty good.

Posted 29 days ago by nicolaigrubbe@gmail.com from Denmark with 15 ratings

Strong almost overpowering taste of dark chocolate, great for mixing with coke.

Posted 30 days ago by Rare Animal from Germany with 10 ratings

Wow, this rum kills it when it comes to chocolatey taste. Surprisingly bright color for that amount of dark chocolate flavor that pours out of the glas. Amazing nose and palate and the creamy aftertaste lasts for minutes. The alcohol is perceptible but one wouldn't expect that the Companero Panama Extra Añejo comes with 54 % vol. - it's still sweet and smooth and just well-balanced. Absolute recommendable if you are into sweet rum and looking for something special.

Posted about 1 month ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Amber colour with a strong chocolate nose. Light sweetness, cocoa and a bit of orange zest on the palate. A bit spicey and surprisingly smooth for the higher abv. Long dark chocolate finish. $67 at LCBO

Posted about 1 month ago by maxi_vor95 from Germany with 5 ratings

Aroma: Chocolate, cacao, hints of citrus

Body: Chocolate, cacao, hints of orange

Finish: Chocolate, cacao

Conclusion: You won't notice its high alcohol strength at all. Chocolate and cacao dominate everything else. It isn't a complex, but a very tasty rum. You should try it.

Posted about 1 month ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Très bon rhum de dégustation, attention on ne goûte pas son 54% alc. À découvrir!

Posted about 2 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 35 ratings

Smells and taste like chocolate in liquid form !
A bit to sweet, but a real candy rum !

Posted about 2 months ago by Jaydee01 from Germany with 25 ratings

Schokoexplosion im Mund gefällig. Hier ist sie, viel Spaß.

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

This strong cocoa aroma should came from the toasted casks. It's so intensive.
I could imagine that it is artificial. But I don't know.
It could be a much better rum, it needs more balance between the aromas.

Smell: Cocoa, cocoa, cocoa, cinemon, some spices (like pepper, unfortunately overlaid by cocoa)
Taste: Chocolate/cocoa, liquorice, cinemon, sweetness with bitterness (dark chocolate), spices (cardamom)

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 1/5
Mildness: 3/5

Style: Column
Alcohol: 54%
AGE: 12 years
Produced by: 1423

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 220 ratings

54% v čokoládě, jemné, sladké a silné. Dost mi připomíná Autentico Nativo Overproof, paráda 👍

Posted 6 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Ganz klar vom Schokolade Geschmack dominiert, leichte Süsse und etwas Frucht am Gaumen.
Ganz klar ein Spezieller Fall, aber sehr stimmig fein.

Posted 8 months ago by Lucy224 from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Harsh but this little bottle has a party trick; if you inhale after a shot it’s as thought you’ve just eaten dark chocolate!