Posting your rating...
Companero Panama rum

Companero Panama

Caribbean | Aged

7.5/10
86 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
15
19
30
9
7

Rate Companero Panama

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

86 Companero Panama ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

I have just discovered my official new favourite rum, as soon as you break the seal the smell of dark chocolate radiates around your nose and the taste does not disappoint, sweet with a kick, lovely

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 460 ratings

Light color, heavy chocolate aroma.
Taste is also full of chocolate, cocoa and pralines. Higher level of alcohol is helping and adding nice warm touch and longer finish. Best from the Companero line and perfect value for the price (35Eur in Czech Republic) +1point if you are chocolate lovers

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

Nečekal bych, že po 100+ recenzích najdu něco, co by vybočovalo z této dlouhé řady tak výrazně. Už otevření
láhve je zážitek. Kakaovo-čokoládová vůně. Stejně tak chuť. Vyšší alkohol 54% zde dělá přesně tu práci kterou má. Je znát, ale neštípe, neškrábe. Skutečně 10b.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Don from Canada with 156 ratings

Amber colour with a strong chocolate nose. Light sweetness, cocoa and a bit of orange zest on the palate. A bit spicey and surprisingly smooth for the higher abv. Long dark chocolate finish. $67 at LCBO

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted over 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 119 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Edit 1y later: 7

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 149 ratings

I have tried all(?) 3 of the rums from Companero and after the two prior to this failed in almost all categories, this one surprised me greatly. And in a good way.

Nose: Chocolate, orange peel and oak
Taste: Very heavy dose of chocolate with hints of orange, tobacco and raw cocoa
Overall: This is a chocolate-heavy rum, no doubt about it. It also has it limits in complexity, but with the 54 abv it delivers something, that the other two in the series doesn´t.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted almost 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 34 GPL. At 54% and a high sugar content this is more in line with a Liqueur than a rum. The high alcohol content hits you right in the nose followed by some wood and then brace yourself because all you can smell past that is chocolate. It's quite smooth at 54% but if you let it breathe a bit it mellows out and then the room fills with the smell of chocolate. At first I didn't really care for it but I kept coming back for more, mainly because I like sweet rums and chocolate. It will grow on you and my guests thought it would be great in hot chocolate or on ice. Overall I liked it but I think the one bottle will do me for quite some time. I think it's worth having in the collection for those that like rum drinks with chocolate. It's not a sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Reino Tilkki from Estonia with 10 ratings

Epic, tasty, spicy, amazing, juicy, flavorful and most importantly very well priced. Definitely a strong 10.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Casper Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

If you enjoy a sweet rum with a nice touch of alcohol burn, this is the right choice. A nice scent and taste of chocolate. Great rum!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by dwight.schrute from Bulgaria with 4 ratings

Absolutely thin, no complexity, yet heavily dominated by cocoa flavor and alcohol punch. Very, disappointing for the price. Goes straight to the bottom shelf for mixing.

EDIT: the only potable form of this rum seems to be: equal parts rum, Kahlua, cream, and coconut milk on the rocks. Not the worst, actually.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jojorhum from Canada with 18 ratings

Le genre de rhum qui ne peut laisser indifférent!
Son goût est unique. Mariage absolu entre Cacao et chocolat. C’est net !
En bouche, ça chauffe !! Ça réveille ! Et la finale est d’une rare persistance.
Je donne la note 7 pour l’originalité du produit.