Posting your rating...
Negrita Dark rum

Rate Negrita Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


73 Negrita Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Attention ! This is absolutely NOT a rum to drink, it's for pastries, desserts and cooking !!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Negrita Dark is not a true Rhum Agricole although it comes from the island of Martinique. Cheap as chips price leads to very immature flavor profile. It is super sweet, like a syrup and has a harsh burn, so not a neat sipper at all.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nabil from Belgium with 25 ratings

This is by far the worst rum I have ever tasted!!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Very familiar rum since I was a kid. Used for baking and some other French and West Indies' dessert recipes

Posted about 5 years ago by Stephane from France with 53 ratings

Depuis l'enfance on a toujours connu sa place dans la cuisine.
Les années passent, et on se hasarde à le gouter "pur"... Et très vite on regrette l'initiative !!

Posted about 1 month ago by Ravedave69 from Belgium with 2 ratings

I suppose one could make sauce with this rhum, however the drinking quality is absolutely next to nothing.

It has no place in a bar, the only rightful place is next to the kitchen cooking plates and even there it has more than likely better competition.

Posted 2 months ago by Metalli from Finland with 12 ratings

Overall mild and tasteless. only notes i could find drinking this were ethanol and broken dreams. It's cheap and it shows. wouldn't drink this in any form ever again. Works best in cooking though there are better rums for that too.

Posted 2 months ago by Sergii from France with 6 ratings

Le principal avantage est qu'il n'est pas cher. Dans sa forme pure, il n'est pas agréable à boire, avec du Coca c'est pas mal du tout.

Posted 8 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

This rum might work as fuel for some motors, but for drinking NO!

Posted 8 months ago by Anthossandro from France with 14 ratings

Rhum à utiliser exclusivement pour faire de la cuisine et encore...

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Burned molasses, bitter. Pretty harsh stuff really.

Posted 12 months ago by gkyler from Finland with 23 ratings

There will always be something better to drink. I didn't mix it with anything, but I doubt that it would hardly change the case.

Posted about 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 47 ratings

Very cheap dark mixer rum from Martinique.
Harsh, and very sweet, taste is something like a very young agricole with
lots of molassess added for sweetness. Has a weird vinegary cannabis like side note (and no, i dont smoke :D)
Not a lot to say about this one.
Drinkable, but not recommended for anyone who cares about quality

Posted about 1 year ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 382 ratings

Sugar , sweet and horrible rum .. this is not a rum to drink at all that's so sweet it should be renamed zacapa .

Posted about 1 year ago by darkmanso from France with 27 ratings

Ce Rhum est utile seulement pour faire des crêpes mais c'est tout.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 63 ratings

This definitely is not a true agricole. Just for cooking or cleaning purposes

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

This is another rum that I used as a youngster to mix my rum and coke. I remember that I liked this better than the white ones.

Posted over 1 year ago by Root-theory from Poland with 45 ratings

Rum który w naszym kraju jest dostać trudno, ale ogólnie jest marką globalną i rozpoznawalną w sporej części świata. Ten właśnie fakt skłonił mnie do kupna małej, 200ml buteleczki na spróbowanie. Oceny nie są zbyt przychylne a już samo przeznaczenie opakowania gdzie poprzez umieszczenie przepisu na naleśniki z rumem producent sugeruje nam użycie trunku do gotowania :) Rum nabyty został we Francji gdzie jest dość powszechny oraz bezproblemowo dostępny.

ZAPACH: Spalone kable, palony karmel. Od kilkukrotnego wąchania zaczyna już bolec głowa...

SMAK: Początkowo słodycz, potem spalenizna, rodzynki, zmęczone beczki, gorycz, zioła i lekki aromat wanilii w tle.

To już trzeci rum opisywany na blogu, który mając związki z Francja posiada wyraźne aromaty gdzie na pierwszym planie znajdują się ciężkie nuty, kable, bandaże, zmęczone beczki. Lecz trzeba przyznać jedno - były to rumy z niższej półki cenowej. Myślę ze na tych trzech koniec - czas brać się za lepsze. Chyba że znowu ciekawość nas gdzieś zaprowadzi :)

OCENA: 34/100

Posted about 2 years ago by Sebastian Laudon from Sweden with 6 ratings

Minns att jag brukade köpa den här för att blanda med cola när man först fick handla på systemet just för att den var billig och i det avseendet gjorde den ju sitt. Men särskilt god är den ju inte.

Posted about 2 years ago by Gideon from South Africa with 10 ratings

Did not like this rum at all. Not Neat, not with coke, not with Ginger.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 299 ratings

I have since deleted my original lengthy and disgusting review on this one from drinking it in Key West in 1995. Basically, it tasted good and it was too cheap to pass up. Looking back on it, it was unaged rhum agricole with molasses added to it after the fact. The next day, a half bottle did quite a number on my system.

Then I recently watched a very informative rum seminar with rum experts talking at length about rums from the 2014 Tales Of The Cocktail in New Orleans. Most of those that are pictured on the bottle of the Plantation OFTD were the guest speakers. I highly advise all rum drinkers to look this one up on You Tube and watch the entire hour of it. For the next 2015 TOTC, the OFTD was born from this panel and a few more..

At any rate, during the later part of the seminar, the subject came up on how Don The Beachcomber and Trader Vic could no longer get their hands on dark Caribbean rum for their signature tiki drinks. Coruba has been exporting theirs to New Zealand of all places. In those tiki crazy days, LOTS of dark rums were exported from Martinique as substitutes to an unsuspecting drinking public. Now what is wrong with this picture? The audience was stunned, but I knew the answer. Martinique only keeps their good rhum agricoles for themselves! A list of these dark Martiniquan export rums was quickly shown and I had to do some speed reading. All of those companies have gone out of business except for Negrita!!!! That's right! This unwanted export crap from Martinique is still available to buy outside of the French West Indies! Don't do it!

Posted over 2 years ago by Alejandro from Spain with 22 ratings

I drank a lot of Negrita when I was younger, because its disponibility and because it was very cheap. But, really, it has an awful flavour. Good for cooking and for get drunk.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

I remember tasting this rum with colleagues on a party a few years ago, and it was certainly the worst bottle we managed to procure. The color was very dark, but both the scent and the taste was dominated by a strange, turpentine-like note that made the rum hard to swallow neat, and did not entirely disappear even after mixing it.

I don't doubt that although the rum was probably colored, it was unadulterated otherwise, because even the basic sugar treatment could make it much more palatable. So it was both honest, but very hard to swallow. I would not recommend it to anybody, even as a mixer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

At first I was like ok, its to be expected it wont be any good, but the burn that stayed in my mouth was really awful.