Posting your rating...
Negrita Dark rum

Negrita Dark

Martinique | Dark

3.0/10 (75 ratings)
Barely drinkable, gasoline-like

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
24
14
11
5
2
1
2
1

Rate Negrita Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


75 Negrita Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erik from Norway with 17 ratings

This is without a doubt the worst rum ive ever tasted.
Do not buy this rum!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Sebastian Laudon from Sweden with 8 ratings

Minns att jag brukade köpa den här för att blanda med cola när man först fick handla på systemet just för att den var billig och i det avseendet gjorde den ju sitt. Men särskilt god är den ju inte.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Gideon from South Africa with 10 ratings

Did not like this rum at all. Not Neat, not with coke, not with Ginger.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

I have since deleted my original lengthy and disgusting review on this one from drinking it in Key West in 1995. Basically, it tasted good and it was too cheap to pass up. Looking back on it, it was unaged rhum agricole with molasses added to it after the fact. The next day, a half bottle did quite a number on my system.

Then I recently watched a very informative rum seminar with rum experts talking at length about rums from the 2014 Tales Of The Cocktail in New Orleans. Most of those that are pictured on the bottle of the Plantation OFTD were the guest speakers. I highly advise all rum drinkers to look this one up on You Tube and watch the entire hour of it. For the next 2015 TOTC, the OFTD was born from this panel and a few more..

At any rate, during the later part of the seminar, the subject came up on how Don The Beachcomber and Trader Vic could no longer get their hands on dark Caribbean rum for their signature tiki drinks. Coruba has been exporting theirs to New Zealand of all places. In those tiki crazy days, LOTS of dark rums were exported from Martinique as substitutes to an unsuspecting drinking public. Now what is wrong with this picture? The audience was stunned, but I knew the answer. Martinique only keeps their good rhum agricoles for themselves! A list of these dark Martiniquan export rums was quickly shown and I had to do some speed reading. All of those companies have gone out of business except for Negrita!!!! That's right! This unwanted export crap from Martinique is still available to buy outside of the French West Indies! Don't do it!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alejandro from Spain with 22 ratings

I drank a lot of Negrita when I was younger, because its disponibility and because it was very cheap. But, really, it has an awful flavour. Good for cooking and for get drunk.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

I remember tasting this rum with colleagues on a party a few years ago, and it was certainly the worst bottle we managed to procure. The color was very dark, but both the scent and the taste was dominated by a strange, turpentine-like note that made the rum hard to swallow neat, and did not entirely disappear even after mixing it.

I don't doubt that although the rum was probably colored, it was unadulterated otherwise, because even the basic sugar treatment could make it much more palatable. So it was both honest, but very hard to swallow. I would not recommend it to anybody, even as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 137 ratings

At first I was like ok, its to be expected it wont be any good, but the burn that stayed in my mouth was really awful.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Thierry from France with 63 ratings

Au mieux pour les desserts mais à ne jamais boire directement même en cocktail

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

Another typical Cuba Libre rum. Excellent for that but not suited for sipping

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Plop from Belgium with 16 ratings

Peut se boire sans trop de souci avec de coca mais a éviter seul.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

It smells acidic. It is so bad, my dog barked at the smell! I wasn't eager to taste it but for the sake of rating it i did. The taste was better and it might even be drinkable if not for the smell. I guess I'm going to try it for cooking or mixing.